We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice affordable place!”
Review of Moran Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Moran Motel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Kure Beach
rocky mount
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice affordable place!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I have just returned from the Moran Motel! I loved this place. It was right across the street from the ocean and you could walk to pier and restaurants also right beside the gas station. This place is older and ran by a very nice man. He was very friendly and accommodating. The room we had is what is called the honeymoon room because it is so small. It was perfect for two people. a nice bed, a small kitchen area and a flat screen tv. The only complaint we had was the very small bathroom and shower, however we had hot water and was usable. The pool is on the back side of the motel and was nice and clean with a slide which I thought would be fun for the kids. I would for sure come back to this place and stay again. If you are looking a updated fancy place this is not for you. If you are however looking a nice clean and affordable place to stay please check them out!! Thanks for the great stay!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank abatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    11
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
27
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roan Mountain, Tennessee, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

The motel is old that's a given. However it is clean and most of all affordable for people on a budget. The managers are great and very friendly. The beach is right across the street. We are not in the room a lot during our vacation, usually there long enough to shower and sleep so this is perfect.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willow Spring, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

I have stayed at Moran several times over the last 40 years and it has never been nasty or smelly. It is by far one of the best "mom and pop" motels I have ever stayed in. I would recommend it to anyone. It is an older motel so, of course, there may not be any wifi or other really hi tech amenities. But, who goes to the beach for all that anyway? I can always do that at home. If you just wanna get away and relax, this is a perfect little spot!

Room Tip: Moran has a large garage apartment they rent also for folks wanting something for a large family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conover, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

The Moran is right across the street from a public beach access. Our room was clean as was the whole place in general. You can get an effeciency apt. there in season for almost half what you will pay for a room at The Sand Dunes or Admirals Quarters. A few minor negatives emphasis on minor. No beachfront rooms. we were on the second floor and it takes a good while for the water to get hot. The shower is microscopic. Other than that I have a hard time finding anything bad to say about the place.

Room Tip: Have only stayed there once so dont have any input on other rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Ron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

This was our 3rd vacation in Kure Beach. We always love the area but the hotel across the street are a huge let down..seems every year we had a problem with our reservations not being what was offered when reserved..last year we decided to extend our vacation and give the Moran a try based on the reviews..we were impressed ! The rooms were spotless..the owners are great...the beds were comfy..needless to say this place has our vote as the best in Kure ...we will make our reservations here every year.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Walters01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

All the reviews were top notch on the Moran Motel. When we stayed there was nothing we could disagree with. Motel is older but well maintained and very clean. We had a small effiency and it had everything we required in it. Prices are reasonable and the location is convenient. Beach entry right across the street, fishing pier right across the street, good resturant you guessed it, across the street. We ate several meals there, (The Old Pier House) not fancy but everything we had was good. The ferry is about a mile and a half up the road. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely go back. One tip the electrical outlet in the bathroom is in the base of the light fixture over the mirror.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank retiredatlastinnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2011

My husband and two boys ages 10 and 2 stayed over the memorial day weekend and love the area, the staff and the owners go out of their way to make your stay the best it can be. The room number 8 was great for a small family plenty of room to play the rooms were clean and the beds were great . Thanks again for a great vacation.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank millerfamily041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kure Beach
3.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Carolina Beach
2.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Southport
2.4 mi away
Drydock Motel
Drydock Motel
#12 of 19 in Carolina Beach
56 reviews
2.8 mi away
Surfside Lodge Oceanfront
Surfside Lodge Oceanfront
#14 of 19 in Carolina Beach
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moran Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moran Motel

Property: Moran Motel
Address: PO Box 76, Kure Beach, NC 28449-0076
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Kure Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Kure Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Moran Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Moran Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moran Hotel Kure Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing