We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expect big things from small places”

Freddie's Restaurante
Ranked #1 of 7 Restaurants in Kure Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $24
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
98 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
“Expect big things from small places”
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Riding by Freddies, one might miss the place, except most people who go there have been told that the food was worth the journey. Located amid a clutter of shops in Kure Beach, the people sitting on the benches outside in the early evening indicate where the restaurant is. Once inside if you are greeted by the aroma of everything Italian. The wait staff are quick to have something in front of you to eat, drink or share. For me, the salad is worth the visit. The salad dressing is unique to Freddies. Portions are huge, and while there is a small charge to share, leftovers were just as tasty afterwards. This restaurant relies heavily on word of mouth and seems to have worked for them for such a long time. This will surely be a fond memory of any trip to the best little secret in the south.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank Harry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    66
    19
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
centerburg, ohio
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“great Italian restaurant hideaway”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

A local recommended Freddie's to us. We did not know it was an Italian restaurant until we looked at the menu. We decided to try it anyway. What a treat. Authentic Italian food in a cozy, charming, intimate setting. The house dressing was a creamy Italian with parmesean cheese in it that was very good. Sourdough bread with olive oil dip for appetizer. Largest meatball I have ever seen, along with Italian sausage, was served with marinara on spaghetti noodles. Ravioli with white sauce wtih ripe olives and dried peppers was to die for. Highly recommend. Waiter was friendly and the entire staff was friendly and talkative. Out of the way and worth the drive.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chippsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
“Over-rated”
Reviewed October 18, 2011

Signature Porkchops were over-done and tasteless. Dinner for three with wine (1 bottle) was 90.00. Expect more at this price level. I guess the atmosphere was upscale for the fishing pier crowd. The salad was good.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fritz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tobaccoville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful surprise in an unexpected location”
Reviewed October 12, 2011

We were at Kure Beach doing some fall fishing. We had just left the pier and were headed back to our motel to clean up. Our son was with us, and told us that he had heard really good things about "Freddie's", so we decided to try it. I thought it was a little pizza place, and, since it was so close to the pier, I really wasn't expecting much. When the hostess met us at the door and asked if we had a reservation, I was really surprised. She seated us immediately, and our server came to take our order. The food was really good, and the service was excellent. It is a quaint little place in an unexpected location. We will definitely be returning.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sueby53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, NC
Level Contributor
75 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good food, MSG in the Barb's dressing, and they need more air conditioning”
Reviewed August 20, 2011

They do need to improve their cooling system, but maybe the building is too old for that; they do have some fans around.
We enjoyed our food and all loved Barb's salad dressing but it does have MSG in it. Two of my friends had the fruity pork chops, the Apple-Walnut with Ameretto and the Rum Runner with molasses and peaches and they said they were wonderful. Another had the Seafood Ravioli and loved it, but the seafood was not in the ravioli as it was in the dish around cheese ravioli. I had a new dish to the menu, Simply Crab, lump crab over pasta; it was ok, but nothing special. They do have fairly priced wines by the glass with a good pour. Our server was good and the water boy kept our glasses at full.
There is alway a wait for a table at Freddies as it very popular and very small.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mlee46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Freddie's Restaurante also viewed

Kure Beach, North Carolina Coast
Kure Beach, North Carolina Coast
 
Kure Beach, North Carolina Coast
Kure Beach, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Freddie's Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing