We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of South Wind Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kure Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
South Wind Motel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Kure Beach
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed May 18, 2012 via mobile

Stayed from 16th to 18th of may. Staff was awesome they have beach towels you can use if you forget your own lol. Everything is in walking distance except the aquarium but it's only two miles away. It was 55 a night for the ground floor efficiency room nice and clean, the shower/faucet knob was loose but a quick call to the office and it was fixed in minutes will definitely be staying again and longer as soon as we save the money! !!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rage3car
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    39
    15
    7
    12
See reviews for
55
32
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

we just got back from staying at south wind motel a couple of weeks ago, enjoyed our stay tremendously, the staff was very friendly ,leah was very nice and quick to make sure we had what we needed. trent at the front desk made it possible for us to stay an extra night even though we didn't plan to. we will absolutely be staying there again.we didn't really care about the " old 19 inch t.v" why do you need a t.v. at all when you have that BIG WONDERFUL VIEW of the ocean right outside your sliding glass doors? love this place,reminds me of old times . can't wait to go back! see you next time

Room Tip: 2nd floor,oceanfront is wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dylansmemory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

I Stayed 4/30 and 5/1. This motel is located right next to the fishing pier and several shops and restaurants. I booked a standard ocean front room with 2 dbl. beds. The room was on the 2nd floor and indeed had a direct view of the pool area and beyond that the ocean. The room had a balcony with 2 rocking chairs on it which was nice. The room itself was clean and basic (as expected for a value property) and a bit dated. The hotel front desk was very helpful and nice - this is not always the case these days - so the service was a welcome surprise! The only hitch was a slight issue with housekeeping that was remedied right away.

All in all this was a good value and great location, as I value location the most. Ocean front rooms are generally expensive and this presents a nice budget option, our room was $65 per night.

Michael

Room Tip: The Pier Diner Restaurant has good food and is reasonably priced. You can walk there in 1 minute fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec, Quebec, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

The service is awesome, the people working there are the best. They helped us so much with where to go and what to do on the island. We had BBQ with every one there, we had a blast!

On vacation with friends, it's the best!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dominique R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory, North Carolina
Level Contributor
129 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We spent 3 nights here Thanksgiving weekend at the end of the season. The room was clean and the bathtub spotless. We were given clean towels every day. If you need a large flatscreen tv and WiFi, this is not the place for you. If you enjoy sitting in a rocking chair on a balcony and watching the sun break the surface of the ocean, dolphins swimming by and fishing on the pier, you have come to the right place. We were on the second floor oceanview. Room had a small refrigerator (also spotless) and microwave. We could walk to restaurants and the pier. We brought our kayaks with us and were less than 2 miles from Ft. Fisher Recreation area. This was a perfect place for nature lovers. We didn't need air conditioning and left the door to the balcony open each evening so as to fall asleep to the sound of the breaking surf.

Room Tip: The oceanview rooms on 2nd and 3rd floors look out over the pool and to the dunes. The side view roo...
See more room tips
Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Thea2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2011

Oh my God, this was the WORST experience that I will never, ever forget. I trusted my friend to select the room because I have never visited Kure Beach. The rooms were nasty, moldy, stinky, stink, stinky and very old. The window air conditioner blew my mind, not to mention the little 19" 1995 color television. Unfortunately, we were there for 2 nights - I could not WAIT to get out of there and would not even recommend to my worse enemy. If you don't mind a DUMP for $130 night, this is the place for you. But if you are willing to simply settle for decent, bump it up a few dollars or just simply take the time to research; you'll be glad you did.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula G, Manager at South Wind Motel, responded to this review, October 11, 2011
Every room at the South Wind is different and some are more updated than others at this point. Our rooms are continually occupied until the winter, making that the only time of the year we are able to renovate. We cannot fix "old" but we are doing our best to make things feel more modern and fresh as we update furnishings, decor, televisions, floors, etc. We are proud of our business and our friendly staff and we are fortunate to have the most convenient location in Kure Beach. Our updates are not finished yet, but we will start again in November and continue through March to do as much as we can to make our little property the best it can be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2011

Me, wife, daughter stayed here for 3 nights. Had the effeciency room first floor. Room was pretty clean. Read where the person had black feet. I think this is why. Place is all pavement with cement sidewalks. Right on the beach. Parking lot is between building and beach and the dirt from cars and the sand from the ocean blows right onto the place. No matter how careful you are you cant help but drag sand into the lower rooms. Floor covering and carpet were clean as could be in that situation. Beds were pretty good too. Just out the door and across the parking lot you were at the Kure Beach Pier. They do NOT charge to go onto the pier to look. Just $5 dollars a rod (1 rod per person limit) to fish from midnight to midnight. Great pier with great friendly people running it. Shops all around too and some good resterants. Big Daddys's across the street with good food and not too overly priced. I didnt get the motel owers name but he was very friendly and made sure that we were ok. No it is not the Ritz or Hampton Inn. It is an old place but still taken care of the best you can for an ocean front building. I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Call ahead because this place stays busy. Specially near fall fishing season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bivens40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kure Beach
1.7 mi away
Golden Sands
Golden Sands
#2 of 19 in Carolina Beach
419 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
2.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Carolina Beach
2.9 mi away
The Savannah Inn
The Savannah Inn
#4 of 19 in Carolina Beach
133 reviews
0.0 mi away
Moran Motel
Moran Motel
#4 of 6 in Kure Beach
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Wind Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Wind Motel

Property: South Wind Motel
Address: 109 S. Ft. Fisher Blvd., Kure Beach, NC 28449
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Kure Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Kure Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a clean, oceanfront, and family-friendly motel right next door to the Kure Beach Pier. Restaurants and attractions are within walking distance, private oceanfront balconies are available, and state aquarium and ferry are right down the street. New for 2011, our family suite!! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
South Wind Hotel Kure Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing