We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Review Highlights
Family Fun

Interesting and fun stop. No charge for admission. Nice walk around the fort and interesting... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
458gretchenl
,
Saugatuck, Michigan
via mobile
FREE!!!

This was a quick stop for us to see. Kids were tired! We love history so this place is a must... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
vickity907
,
Wasilla, Alaska
Read all 468 reviews
  
Reviews (468)
Filter reviews
468 results
Traveler rating
251
181
27
6
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
251
181
27
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews civil war nice museum carolina beach history buff walking tour the cape fear river state historic site visitor center love history short film nice walk gift shop walk around on display wilmington area rainy day blockade
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 468 reviews
Reviewed March 29, 2019 via mobile

Love coming knowing the history of the site. Staff always friendly and grounds immaculate. Take a tour for best trip and take time to read area of interest.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank gwkelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2019

When finally entering the historic site after driving past endless not very pretty beach houses that kill the view of the ocean, destroy the dunes and you enter the site and get to the visitors center that is a little out dated in design and historical approach, and if you come within opening hours you can walk along the cone shaped defense

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Christina O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2019

Every trip we try and fit in some historical visit, this one is a short ferry ride from Southport. Not much of the actual fort left, but great views and a very informative video. The staff was very knowledgeable and helpful. Worth a couple of hours of your time .

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank MEtoFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2019 via mobile

We stayed in Carolina Beach and were looking for something to do. Since we enjoy history, we chose Fort Fisher State Historic Site. We had no idea of the Civil War importance of the site or the unique battlements created there. The site is free and has an excellent museum and film. Be sure to see the film. It explains a lot. We also took the paid ($10) walking tour and it was worth every penny. Our guide was Ray who had invaluable additional information about the site and the civil war in general. Visiting the site takes an hour to an hour and a half. The walking tour adds another hour minimum. The walking tour only occurs at certain times of day so, if you’re interested, you may want to check and plan you trip accordingly.

Date of experience: January 2019
1  Thank P7455EPthomasw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2018

This place is nearly at the end of the road. If you make it here, continue on to the Aquarium (which is great). Museum is pretty small but has great information/history, spent well over one hour looking around/reading. Fighting dates way back in history. Small gift shop with a few worthwhile items. Worth the trip if you have a little extra time. Also right on the beach, so you can take in some of those sights.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank dewmaniii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews