We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, comfortable, it works!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Baymont Inn & Suites Kitty Hawk Outer Banks
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Kitty Hawk
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Quiet, comfortable, it works!”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Used as a mid-week stay during a Labor Day extension. Value was great, breakfast was a great way to start the day with a large variety of hot/cold breakfast foods.

Easy walk to the beach, rooms were comfortable but dated. Property was clean.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BenLanaCollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lani6120, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Kitty Hawk Outer Banks, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear BennyKandTheJets,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about the Holiday Inn Express Kitty Hawk. We value your comments and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and our famous Hot/Cold Breakfast Bar. Thank you again, and we look forward to your next visit with us.
LGoodwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    179
    109
    42
    23
See reviews for
164
172
24
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We made a quick weekend getaway in late October - my wife always wanted to see Kitty Hawk and pay homage to the Wright Brothers, so we ended up here. Truly a mix of good and bad.

The good: The location. It's right on the main drag, but only a few hundred feet to the beach, which you can easily walk to. Close to some great restaurants, too. The staff was super friendly and the building was pretty clean. Bed was very comfortable, as was the couch in the room, which also included a mini-fridge and microwave at no extra cost. Nice!

The downside: The room was a bit - not a lot, mind you - a bit worn. The toilet was installed a bit too far from the wall, so they literally carved about a 1/2 inch off the door so it would close. Not a big deal, but did make me smile. The biggest issue for us was the noise. We could hear, clearly, the rooms next door ("I was up at 4:30 and couldn't back to sleep, didn't you hear me?" and a protracted discussion about breakfast) as well as the clamor out in the hallway ("Mommy, I'm a gonna get a whole stack a pancakes."). Plenty of footsteps above us, too.

All in all, a great value and we would return again.

Room Tip: Get a room on the top floor to avoid the sound of footsteps overhead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CoachKarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lani6120, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Kitty Hawk Outer Banks, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about the Holiday Inn Express Kitty Hawk. We value your comments and our team members love reading our reviews. It's a great training tool. Again, thank you and we look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised at how nice the hotel was. The room was very clean, the hotel was quiet, and the staff was friendly. Breakfast was also a nice surprise with plenty of selections and the food was all fresh. I plan on staying here again the next time I'm in OBX.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amusaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lani6120, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Kitty Hawk Outer Banks, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about the Holiday Inn Express Kitty Hawk. We value your comments and are delighted you enjoyed your stay with. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We came to OBX a few days after Labor day, and were looking for a B&B for one night. It turned out that some places already closed down for the season, while others insisted on a two-night booking, even though it was out an of season midweek night. The Hilton was rather expensive, for a non-ocean view room, so we ended up with the Holiday Inn Express. The advantage (and disadvantage) of the hotel is that you know exactly what you are getting, it looks and is very similar to other hotels in the same chain, so no surprises here. Check in was swift and I even received a welcome gift (an apple and a bottle of water) as a Holiday Inn rewards club member. The room was comfortable, though the AC was a bit loud. Breakfast was as expected, a few pastries, some scrambled eggs and sausages, and you can make your own pancakes using a dedicated machine, though they did not taste like the real thing. The hotel is about 200 yards from the beach, so we walked to the beach in the evening, and again the next morning, when I actually dipped in the water. The beach was surprising empty. Following the front desk's recommendation, we went to dinner at the Black Pelican, just a block away, and enjoyed in very much.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YigalM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lani6120, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Kitty Hawk Outer Banks, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about the Holiday Inn Express Kitty Hawk. We value your comments and are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to you next visit. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Check in was a breeze. The front desk clerk was very congenial. We arrived late afternoon and were quite hungry and the clerk directed us to a very good restaurant that serves early dinner. Rooms are just regular but clean. Breakfast selections are impressive.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnsdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lani6120, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Kitty Hawk Outer Banks, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about the Holiday Inn Express Kitty Hawk. We value your comments and are so delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to you next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenoir, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We found a great deal for this HIE for a last minute July 4 week getaway. Staff was very friendly and welcoming and worked with us on every need (extra towel, linens, etc). Rooms were just fine. Nothing fancy -a little dated - but had everything we needed to have an enjoyable stay - clean and comfy. The breakfast spread was a bigger than similar hotels I have stayed at with free breakfast bars. This was a definite plus.

Hotel is a block away from the beach and you do have to cross a two lane road. We kept saying that they should have an outdoor shower installed near the entrance to the beach trail on the HIE property for people to wash the sand off their feet. We brought a ton of sand into the room. I bet they go through vacuum cleaners bags like crazy.

Tips and Suggestions:
1. There are a couple of good restaurants within walking distance. Ask the front desk where the hot spots are. We liked the Black Pelican and Hurricane Mo's were both good local seafood spots.

2. Be ready to carry your stuff to the beach. Not too far but still a haul if you have kids and a cooler and not that many arms.

3. Visit the Cape Hatteras Visitors Center. This is the go to stop to find out where you need to go, what you need to see, and how long it takes to get there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BenWNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lani6120, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Kitty Hawk Outer Banks, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about the Holiday Inn Express Kitty Hawk. We value your comments and are so delighted that you and your family had a wonderful experience while visiting the Holiday Inn Express. We appreciate your tips. Again, thank you and we look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

The HIE is an older property, but it is one block from the beach and a parking area with restrooms and shower. The people at the desk--shirlene in the evening and Sarah the next morning were delightful in helping us find the best places to see and to eat. The lady in the food area, Laura was the best at helping us to know what to see and what was not worth the time. We loved the stay so much that as soon as we got home, we made reservations for our next stay there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tex47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lani6120, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Kitty Hawk Outer Banks, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the Holiday Inn Express Kitty Hawk. We value your comments and are so pleased that you and your family had an awesome stay with us. I will pass your great comments on to my staff, as they love to read our reviews. Again, thank you and we look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kitty Hawk
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
3.8 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,144 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
2,482 reviews
4.1 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,214 reviews
9.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites Kitty Hawk Outer Banks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites Kitty Hawk Outer Banks

Property: Baymont Inn & Suites Kitty Hawk Outer Banks
Address: 3919 N Croatan Hwy, Kitty Hawk, NC 27949-4199 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Kitty Hawk Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kitty Hawk
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Kitty Hawk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Baymont Inn & Suites Kitty Hawk Outer Banks 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites Kitty Hawk Outer Banks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Kitty Hawk Beach Hotel Kitty Hawk
Holiday Inn Kitty Hawk
Kitty Hawk Holiday Inn
Baymont Inn & Suites Kitty Hawk Outer Banks NC

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing