We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Baymont Inn & Suites Kitty Hawk Outer Banks
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Kitty Hawk
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

A great location - right off the highway and short trail to the beach, walk to restaurants, nice staff, great price but.... needs renovation. It reminds me of a ski hotel - it gets a lot of heavy use and it shows.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mrssparky69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lani6120, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Kitty Hawk Outer Banks, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the Holiday Inn Express Kitty Hawk. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to you next stay while visiting the Kitty Hawk area.
Lani Goodwin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    170
    104
    42
    23
See reviews for
151
166
22
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Willow Spring, North Carolina
Level Contributor
86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We were on a VA and Outer Banks road trip and stayed here one night. We were hoping to stay in Corrolla but, the prices for places to stay were outrageous! There was no way I would pay over $200 a night (in mid Sept, I can't imagine the price in the summer) just to sleep in a bed, because honestly that is all we did! I found it to be a quiet hotel and the beds we had were comfy.

The girls at the desk were very nice. I was really impressed with how friendly they were.

I have to agree with the others about the smoking and non-smoking rooms. I almost wonder if they shouldn't have them on separate floors? The thing that sucked is that the smoking rooms were by the elevators so, you had to walk through it to get to a non-smoking room. Yes, you could smell it in the hallway.

As for the complimentary breakfast, it was ok. Nothing exceptional. However, there was one woman working there that had an attitude. It was very obvious. She never smiled and moped around like she would rather be anywhere else. We normally carry our own coffee cups when we travel. So, I went down to fill them up in the morning and she was obviously pissed that I was doing this. What is the difference in my filling my own coffee cup or getting 2 cups of coffee? Who knows but, she didn't seem to like it. We stayed at numerous hotels while on our road trip and no other place minded that we had our own cups.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beachn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lani6120, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Kitty Hawk Outer Banks, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about the Holiday Inn Express Kitty Hawk. I appreicate the comments about the Breakfast Bar Host and will address this will all Host. Also, as of December 2012, we will be a Smoke Free hotel. We hope you will stay with us on your next visit to the Kitty Hawk area.
Lani Goodwin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia beach, virginia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

This was a nice friendly hotel. It is located on the left on the main road.
It only has and outdoor pool. I like indoor pools only. The don't offer breakfast.
If you are looking for a hotel to sleep at with know extras this is the place.
The room is nice. The employees are real friendly too.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manning42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lani6120, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Kitty Hawk Outer Banks, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the Holiday Inn Express Kitty Hawk. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I'm sorry you were not informed about our Deluxe Complimentary Breakfast Bar. We serve each moringing in our lobby from 6:30am until 9:30am. We look forward to you next visit in the Kitty Hawk area.
Thank you!
Lani Goodwin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We booked in after a week in a beach house and wanted just one more night in the area. This was one of the few places where we could actually get a booking. The hotel is in a good location but is rather run down and kinda grubby. Our room was rather large but the bathroom was dingy and bit damp smelling. The breakfast is not bad, but is in a rather ugly open area in the reception. All of the staff were friendly and helpful although the check in time is quite late - 4pm. Oh and there is an outdoor pool, with a view of the Highway.... It is a short walk from the hotel to the beautiful beach though.

Room Tip: Eh.....some probably are ocean facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lam73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lani6120, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Kitty Hawk Outer Banks, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the Holiday Inn Express Kitty Hawk. We value your input and we are doing some minor renovations to our hotel. We will no longer offer somking rooms in the coming year. I hope you will stay with us on your next visit to the Kitty Hawk area. Thank you again!
Lani Goodwin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
1,452 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,142 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

I can't say enough about the free breakfast (don't miss the cinnamon buns). The room was small but that didn't bother us because we were only in the room to sleep. The staff never missed a chance to smile and say hello. My only complaint (as a non smoker) would be having smoking and non-smoking rooms so close together. You could smell the smoke getting off the elevator and walking in the hall.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheryl h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lani6120, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Kitty Hawk Outer Banks, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about the Holiday Inn Express Kitty Hawk. We are delighted that you enjoyed our Breakfast Bar. We think its very special and pleasing. And as of December 2012, we will no longer offer smoking rooms at the hotel. So we hope you will visit us next year to see the improvement. Thank you again!
Lani Goodwin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in early september. The check in staff are friendly and welcoming. However nothing prepares you for the disappointment that is to follow. Parts of the hotel reek and stink of cigarette smoke. We were told that a lot of this hotel clientele are stressed out business/workmen who need to smoke to de-stress. However this hotel is in need of remodelling and remarketing .Its position so close to the beach in an asset that should be maximised. The sink area is so small that we had to use the ironing board as an extra storage space. The furniture needs replacing .We cannot understand why the cleaning staff do not open the windows to let fresh air in when servicing the rooms. Having sayed that ,opening the window proved to be a challenge .My partner badly cut his finger whilst trying to unlock the window.The pool looks odd virtually stuck in the parking lot and yes the path leading to the beach could do with a little sprucing up. We also felt that the breakfast offerings were quite poor in comparison with other hie . Most also offer a wide selection of herbal teas and drinking chocolate .This one does not.We will not use this property again in its present condition.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sparky963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lani6120, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Kitty Hawk Outer Banks, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about the Holiday Inn Express Kitty Hawk. We are sorry that your stay was not more enjoyable. Just to let you know, we will be going smoke free as of December 2012. And we have plans for upgrades to our rooms starting in October of 2012 and have this completed by April 2013. We hope you will stay with us on your next visit to the Kitty Hawk area.
Thank you.
Lani Goodwin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatboro, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Holiday Inn Express Kitty Hawk

My wife and I booked this as a last minute change in the weather sent us chasing the sun. The Holiday Inn express in Kitty Hawk, NC is, I think, a bit of an older property. I do not know if it was orignally a Holiday Inn - Express or not. It could use an update, but there is nothing really wrong with it.

The rooms were clean, the staff was pleasant. There is plenty of parking. There is a path that leads to the beach - it pretty much goes across a vacant lot. Holiday Inn might want to think abot donating some landscaping to this little path and lot.

The room was complete with a mini-fridge and microwave. The bathroom is a bit on the small side, and the sink does not leave a lot of room for a ladies "accessories". The TV had a full array of channels, I was amazed, it seemed to have a full cable selection, not the limited amount you often find in a hotel.

The beach itself is beautiful, we saw large groups of dolphins just offshore. There is a free breakfast each morning - I noted: fresh fruit, scrambled eggs, biscuits & gravy, assorted donuts/rolls/cereal, juice etc and there is a pancake making machine that people seemed to really enjoy.

The hotel has a small pool across the parking lot. It was nice, but I couldn't help but think it was in a weird location.

The staff was very friendly. I had no problems with the hotel at all.

However, given the location, I think Holiday Inn is really missing the boat. If this were redone, perhaps with a unit with balconies, more facilities etc - it could really be a destination. As it was, we enjoyed our time in Kitty Hawk and this Holiday Inn Express.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hatboro-Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lani6120, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Kitty Hawk Outer Banks, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about the Holiday Inn Express Kitty Hawk. We are so delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us!! We appreicate the positive comments and will pass along to our Management Group the great ideas you have shared with us. Thank you again, and we look forward to your next stay while visiting the Kitty Hawk area.
Lani Goodwin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kitty Hawk
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
2.7 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
836 reviews
3.8 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,186 reviews
5.4 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
2,433 reviews
9.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites Kitty Hawk Outer Banks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites Kitty Hawk Outer Banks

Property: Baymont Inn & Suites Kitty Hawk Outer Banks
Address: 3919 N Croatan Hwy, P.O.Box 1096, Kitty Hawk, NC 27949-4199 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Kitty Hawk Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kitty Hawk
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Kitty Hawk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Baymont Inn & Suites Kitty Hawk Outer Banks 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites Kitty Hawk Outer Banks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Kitty Hawk Beach Hotel Kitty Hawk
Holiday Inn Kitty Hawk
Kitty Hawk Holiday Inn
Baymont Inn & Suites Kitty Hawk Outer Banks NC

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing