We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food at a Great Price”
Review of Spanky's Grille

Spanky's Grille
Ranked #11 of 67 Restaurants in Kitty Hawk
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $12
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Spanky's offers good food at a great price!

It appears that Spanky's offers daily specials. We happened to stop-in on $2 cheeseburger day. The burgers were great. We also ordered a basket of fries and they were outstanding -- cooked to perfection.

In terms of ambiance, Spanky's is similar to a fast food restaurant. You place your order at a counter and when your meal is ready, it is delivered to your table. So, don't be surprised, when you walk in.

If you're looking for quick value this is a great stop!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpankysGrille, Owner at Spanky's Grille, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

The words, "Cooked to perfection," make us smile. Thank you for your kind review. -Mr. Spanky

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (315)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

186 - 190 of 315 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2013

heard about their famous hotdog so had to try it...only thing special about it was the price $.79...staff was friendly and fed 2 people for $5 so still a win in my book. I would prob. go back but I feel like there is a lot of hype for just an average burger joint

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KG4WFD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpankysGrille, Owner at Spanky's Grille, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

I use to get frustrated by reviews like this, but I now understand that it's the down side to all the great press we've received. All of a sudden people read that we're #1 in the state and/or in the top 40 in the country for hot dogs and they come in on that basis alone...and it's almost impossible to live up to the hype. What we are famous for is serving all beef hot dogs, we deep fry them to make them super hot and super juicy and then we serve them for seventy nine cents...trust me, we hardly make anything off the hot dogs. I’m not trying to be ‘too’ silly, but when you feed two people for $5 with a friendly staff...well that's where the hype is, but we completely understand that Spankys isn't for everybody. -Spanky

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Not so sure why this place is rated so high except that it may be a good value for those looking for okay food at cheap prices at Outer Banks. I prefer to pay a little more for good food. Burgers were overcooked (we prefer medium and they don't ask how you like your burgers), the fried pickles were a joke, and french fries were good. Very casual restaurant where you order your food at the register and they bring it out to you. People working there are very friendly, but not enough for me to come again. It may be an ideal place for families with young children since you won't be spending a bundle.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 4NY2VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpankysGrille, Owner at Spanky's Grille, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Great value is our number one goal. Most of the summer (as the regulars know) we have a line out the door so we can't really maintain our speed and prices and ask every customer how they want their burger cooked...something has to give. BUT (and this is important) the regulars know that if they want their burger cooked a special way, all they have to do is ask...AND if you aren't happy with how your meal is cooked we will recook it to your specifications. If we can't satisfy you can have a full refund...no questions asked.

I can't say this enough. Any customers that isn't happy with a meal at any restaurant should politely tell the server and give the restaurant a chance to cook it how they want it. If this is done properly, well great, and if it doesn't then the restaurant deserves what it gets.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The reviews suggested this was one of the best restaurants to eat at in the Outer Banks. However, we were not all that impressed. The french fries were undercooked, the burger was a little dry, the mashed potatoes were good, but the gravy was really, really salty, and the turkey tasted like heated turkey breast slices from the deli. The service was outstanding...too bad the food could not meet the service halfway on the day we visited.

Thank Iknowtravel2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Very good food. And the prices are great. Where else on the OBX can you eat a good meal for under$10?

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank OBXRMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spanky's Grille also viewed

 
Kitty Hawk, Outer Banks
 

Been to Spanky's Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing