We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Barefoot Bernies”

Barefoot Bernie's Bar & Grill
Ranked #7 of 67 Restaurants in Kitty Hawk
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Specializing in exquisite and refreshing island cuisine in a classy yet casual tropical ambience, Barefoot Bernie's Tropical Grill & Bar has become a true destination on the Outer Banks restaurant circuit.
Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Barefoot Bernies”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Had a good meal here while in the outer banks. My husband especially enjoyed the fish tacos. Our waitress was attentive, bringing us extras when we asked.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank JN1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

901 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    450
    305
    102
    27
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Definitely not worth the wait”
Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

I was not at all impressed with this restaurant. The parking lot is tiny and difficult to get a spot in. The wait for a table was quoted at 30 minutes and we ended up waiting 45. The service was terrible. There was a very long wait for food and the waiter brought out the wrong entree for one of our guests TWICE. The food was not very good at all. I definitely do not recommend!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stefanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Airy NC
Level 6 Contributor
481 reviews
257 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Best Shrimp & Grits”
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Struck out on local crabs but the place looked nice so we ventured in. My husband had steamed shrimp. They were fresh and tasty without being deluged in Old Bay. I got the Shrimp and Grits. While the shrimp was succulent, the sauce tasted burnt. The waitress checked with the kitchen to see if it could be re-fired. Red eye gravy is hard to find and waiting was worth it. This time the whole dish was perfect. The grits were in the bottom of the bowl and redolent with creamy cheese. Never have I had better and I'm from Mississippi. I'd love to eat here again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmyra, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“Mediocre food and service”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Ate here for our family dinner while down here. Service and food were mediocre defiantly not a place we would eat at again. We are a large group, 8 people and acted like it was a hassle to have us.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Finchiebirdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great time”
Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

The food is excellent and the service awesome. We sat at the bar as a family and the bartenders really took great care of us. Try the cheese chicken nachos! Not what you think! We will be back!

Helpful?
Thank Patrick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barefoot Bernie's Bar & Grill also viewed

 
Kitty Hawk, Outer Banks
Kitty Hawk, Outer Banks
 

Been to Barefoot Bernie's Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing