We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place Good Food”

Barefoot Bernie's Bar & Grill
Ranked #8 of 67 Restaurants in Kitty Hawk
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Specializing in exquisite and refreshing island cuisine in a classy yet casual tropical ambience, Barefoot Bernie's Tropical Grill & Bar has become a true destination on the Outer Banks restaurant circuit.
Durants Neck, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
523 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“Good Place Good Food”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Stopped by Barefoot Bernie's after going to the theater and had a good meal. We have been here many times for lunch but this is a first for diner. The place was crowded for a Wednesday evening at 6-7pm, and the noise was fairly high, but the food compensated. I had coconut shrimp with fries and coleslaw, my partner had oysters on the half shell. My shrimp were perfect and reminiscent of when I first had them in St Lucia years ago. My partner also said that his oysters were equally as good. Bernie's is always a good place to eat and can't go wrong. Our waiter was Derek and was attentive, friendly and cute. Bill was $45 for 2 with no alcohol.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

920 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    461
    312
    103
    27
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Elizabeth City, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great food, great atmosphere!!”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

This is a great resturant on OBX. Been here twice and plan on going back!! Both times I had the chicken ceasar salad. You would think this would just be an easy standard thing at any resturant, but something about their salad's is just so good!! It's so fresh, large portion and great dressing selections. I have been with others who also had other menu items and loved them. Definitely plan on going back and trying more of their menu!!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ABKielar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, North Carolina, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“gyros sandwich is amazing”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Food is super fresh and super yummy! The menu has something for everyone! Also, delicious drinks and locally brewed ale.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Savannah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Always good”
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

As others have mentioned, there is plenty of parking and seating. There's a large bar area that is clean and not rowdy with several large tvs, good for watching games. There is another separate seating area too.
Large menu with salads, seafood (mostly fish and shrimp, crab cakes too), pizzas, sandwiches etc. large variety of appetizers including homemade chips, crab dip, etc.
Good value, my tuna tacos were delicious and priced at $8.99 at dinner. Large drink menu and specials too.
We probably dine here every time we are in down and aren't dissappointed. Quick, friendly service always.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HollidayE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kill devil hills, nc
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“GOOD FOOD at a very reasonable price”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

The restaurant is conveniently located at MP 5 ( mid-way on the Island) and has lots of parking.
The menu is varied ( sandwiches, extensive salads choices, pizza, other italian, seafood, soups and appetizers).
Prices vary but you can easily find numerous selections for under $10.
There is a large tavern area with perhaps a dozen round tables with raised stools in addition to seating at the bar for about 15 people.
For family style dining the separate dining area offers both tables and upholstered booths.
The meals are served swiftly with lots of server attendance.
For frequent diners a punch card is offered in which you get a free meal after receiving 9 punches ( visits). Average lunch prices about $9.
I like their chef salad served on a large plate with three different lunch meats, cheese and lots of greens beautifully presented...

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sam4411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barefoot Bernie's Bar & Grill also viewed

 
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 

Been to Barefoot Bernie's Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing