We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An attractive hotel on the Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kitty Hawk
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Stayed for two nights in June for a wedding in town. Overall, we found the hotel to be satisfactory. Fourth floor room ocean facing the ocean was clean and attractive though the bathroom was definetly on the small size. Had some confusion trying to get our devices hooked to the hotel's wi-fi. Beds are very comfortable and found the noise level very low.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank greybees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGardenInnOBX, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

We thank you for staying with us recently and for taking time to post a review about your experience at our hotel in Kitty Hawk. Our oceanfront location surely helps to provide a beautiful setting and encourage relaxation. We hope you enjoyed both our easy access to the beach and (2) pools and that you will come back and stay with us again soon. In the meantime, feel free to stay in touch at: Facebook.com/ OBXHiltonGardenInn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,626)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

983 - 989 of 1,627 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2014

Nice hotel, very nice amenities, beautiful location. But be sure to ask questions to get information that should be provided without having to dig. Like, I don't know, they are hosting a prom during your stay. Avoid the second floor rooms above the main conference room. Read on to find out why. Our room was directly above the courtyard side entrance door. The door did not have a functioning closing mechanism and slammed shut everytime it was opened. It was opened and closed every minute or so all night, Saturday in particular, and sounded like a shotgun every time it was slammed shut. In addition to this issue, there were guests playing the cornhole beanbag toss game directly outside our window all night. So, every 30 seconds or so, either the door slammed or we got to enjoy the sound of a bean bag slapping wood. We eventually gave up on trying to sleep and went to the courtyard to enjoy the firepit. Once we sat down we were told by one of the hotel staff that he was going to shut down the firepit in ten minutes. Awesome. So, back to our room where we got to enjoy door slams and bean bag shots for another few hours. Our room was directly over the main event room, which on Saturday was hosting a prom. I have nothing against proms...but there are a few issues with us having to enjoy the prom on our weekend vacation. First of all, the fact the hotel will be hosting a prom during our stay should have been mentioned during our reservation process or at check in. Imagine our surprise and disappointment to see the hotel overrun by teenagers as we were enjoying the lobby. Imagine also our horror to realize we were on the second floor DIRECTLY ABOVE the prom room, where we got to enjoy the music as if we were part of the party. Why in the world would we be assigned a room above a prom? There were plenty of rooms on the other side of the hotel that were vacant. Why not assign us a room away from an event that is designed to be loud instead of right on top of it? So, we payed a pretty good chunk of change for a train wreck of a weekend stay. Its not a bad property, just be aware of the pitfalls, ask the questions that shouldn't have to be asked (like, "hey, will there be a prom going on under my room?"), and be careful which room you get. Avoid the south tower near the conference room if you can.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank anaclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGardenInnOBX, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

We are sincerely sorry to see that your stay was disrupted while with us here at the oceanfront during the prom event held that same evening. Our staff makes every attempt to arrange room assignments around such events but it appears we were unsuccessful with your reservation. If we had known while you were here on property we would have made every effort to move you to an alternate location in the hotel. We will be sure to make it up to you upon your return back to the hotel for another weekend away.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

I spent my birthday in outer banks this past weekend. The hotel is a bit dated, and the rooms were a little small. I liked the fact that there was an outdoor pool as well as an indoor one. However, I couldn't tell if the jacuzzi was operational because the water was extremely uninviting. Everyone (staff and guests) was friendly and the location was nice.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
Thank LovetheBeach93141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGardenInnOBX, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

We are happy to see that our staff made your visit here in the Outer Banks enjoyable and you chose our hotel in your travel plans. Having (2) pools seems to be a big plus for many guests and we are glad that you enjoyed them. Thank you for staying with us and we do hope you had a wonderful time while in the area. Stay in touch at: Facebook.com/ OBXHiltonGardenInn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

The Hilton Garden Inn is located on the oceanfront in Kitty Hawk. The outdoor swimming pool is behind the hotel overlooking the beach and the pier that belongs to the hotel. Our room was a large corner room with a balcony overlooking the ocean. The hotel staff was friendly and very helpful. The breakfast buffet was ample and offered many choices. The hotel is close to several good restaurants including a Thai restaurant and a BBQ restaurant.

Room Tip: The corner rooms are large and quiet. Ask for an oceanfront room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGardenInnOBX, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Thank you for your kind words about our wonderful staff and the corner room accommodations that you had during your recent stay. We are confident that you enjoyed the beautiful view of the ocean from your balcony and you were able to spot a dolphin or two as well. The Outer Banks has so much to do and see that you will have to come back to stay with us again soon! In the meantime, feel free to stay in touch at: Facebook.com/ OBXHiltonGardenInn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights while attending a wedding in Corolla. The location was central to the wedding and things to do here. We were upgraded to a suite and had a gorgeous view of the ocean from our balcony. (Small complaint is that the balcony furniture was cheap and not super comfy.) breakfast was delicious and there are places to eat across the street. The beach is a few steps away and very nice. Would stay here again!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGardenInnOBX, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Thank you for staying with us recently and we do hope you had a wonderful time at the wedding reception in Corolla. It was our pleasure having you stay at our beach front hotel and do hope you enjoyed some time on the beach or in one of our pools as well. We hope to see you back again soon and please share some pictures from your recent stay with us at: Facebook.com/ OBXHiltonGardenInn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

We made the reservation before we got to the OBX. After driving around I'm glad we made reservations here, many of the other hotels/motels we drove past did not look like they were well maintained.
Most rooms had an ocean view if you looked out from the balcony, we tried to get a direct ocean view but none were available.(we booked the same day we arrived)
The staff was pleasant and helpful and they always greeted you as you walked by.
They also keep the coffee pots in the lobby filled at all times.
The breakfast was good and reasonably priced.
There is a large pier behind the hotel, and it looked like a great spot for fishing. There was also a large reception hall on the pier that was set up for a wedding when we were there.
Some restaurants were within walking distance, but there were many within a short drive.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Mwalchak2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGardenInnOBX, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Thank you for your flattering review from your recent stay with us here in Kitty Hawk. We agree that our location with the Kitty Hawk Pier and proximity to various attractions and restaurants is superb and are glad you chose our hotel while in the area. It is nice to know you relaxed and enjoyed our hotel and we do hope you’ll return back again soon. Feel free to follow us at:
Facebook.com/ OBXHiltonGardenInn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

My wife and I stayed here the last weekend of May, 2014. the room was fantastic. Very comfortable king-sized bed. Room service was excellent. Breakfast buffet was very good and wonderfully convenient. The outdoor furniture in the courtyard, along with the fire pit and tiki bar made the evenings very relaxing. An overall excellent hotel and competitively priced.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoeNC_LRC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGardenInnOBX, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Thanks for your “best of the beach” recommendation and for recently staying with us here while you were in the Outer Banks. We value your comments and are happy to see that you found our pillow top beds and various hotel amenities comfortable. Stay in touch and please come back to see us again! Facebook.com/ OBXHiltonGardenInn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kitty Hawk
11.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla
12.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
5.2 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,185 reviews
7.9 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
2,594 reviews
2.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Kitty Hawk Outer Banks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk

Address: 5353 North Virginia Dare Trail, Kitty Hawk, NC 27949-5918
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kitty Hawk
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kitty Hawk
Price Range: $104 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Otel, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk Hotel Kitty Hawk
Hilton Garden Inn Kitty Hawk
Hilton Kitty Hawk
Kitty Hawk Hilton
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk NC

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing