We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice front desk staff made the average a bit better then”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kitty Hawk
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 4, 2014

I will admit that I was a big grumpy to find out that "in room dining" that ended at 10pm was over at 9:30. Came down to the lobby myself to be told that the kitchen was "locked up" - not sure why if they say 10 it is 9… but it is what it is. On the plus side the front desk staff were very helpful with other things, good laundry room and good proximity to many different restaurants in the area. The rooms are basic Hilton - not fancy but ok. Overall pretty average.

Room Tip: I am certain that they are all pretty much the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T00ManyAirMiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGardenInnOBX, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

While we thank you for your compliments about our front desk staff, we certainly apologize for the inconsistent dining timeframe. We’ll be sure to rectify that going forward so that it doesn’t happen again. We hope your time spent here in the Outer Banks area was enjoyable and you had a wonderful time. Please visit us again and follow us at: Facebook.com/ OBXHiltonGardenInn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,649)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,065 - 1,071 of 1,649 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2014

This is easily one of the nicest Hilton Garden Inns I've ever stayed at. The lobby area is large and beautifully decorated. The restaurant serves excellent food most of the day (although I could have used some late night nourishment and the Outer Banks doesn't even offer pizza delivery!) And even though it's located right on the beach there is no musty smell like I've encountered at other beach hotels. Would love to go back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Cynthia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGardenInnOBX, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

We loved having you stay with us and are so glad that we were able to exceed your expectations! Our staff takes pride in delivering a quality experience for our guests and we are happy you enjoyed your time while in the Outer Banks. We look forward to seeing you again next time. Facebook.com/ OBXHiltonGardenInn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Veri nice. Right on the Atlantic Ocean coast. Good atmoshpere. The price is high, but that's reasonable for nearly a single hotel in town situated on a coast. The breakfast is good and is about $11. The staff is nice. There is a fridge in a room with a microwave, that's handy. The hotel is near a 24 hr food supermarket.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGardenInnOBX, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Thank you for staying with us at the Hilton Garden Inn in the Outer Banks. Our goal is to provide our guests with large spacious rooms and amenities that make you feel at home. Our location is convenient to many local businesses and area attractions and we are glad that you found the nearby supermarket well-situated. Our staff will be delighted to hear your nice comments and we appreciate you taking the time to post them. Please visit us at: Facebook.com/ OBXHiltonGardenInn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

This was a spur of the moment weekend getaway after Christmas but before New Years. The hotel was easy to find, clean and the staff were very friendly and knowledgeable. The lobby is nice and both nights that we were there we ate downstairs at the bar/grill. The hot tub was a nice perk and the hotel was in a great location and close to the movies and many places to eat. I would go back without a doubt. Also they let us use out state employment i.d and we got a great rate.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PWKwasikpui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGardenInnOBX, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Whether your travel is planned in advance or a last minute get-away, we are glad to be your vacation destination here in the Outer Banks. Thanks for your kind compliments about our hotel lobby, restaurant and pool areas. With the warmer weather coming soon, we hope you will return again to enjoy our beachfront location, great ocean views and relaxing atmosphere. Please keep in touch at: Facebook.com/OBXHiltonGardenInn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

The Hilton Garden Inn in Kitty Hawk is fabulous for a weekend get away in the Outer Banks. Whenever I go I stay there because it is convenient to anything from Nags Head to Corolla. Clean rooms, warm breakfast and friendly staff make it a pleasure to return each time.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Dianne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGardenInnOBX, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Thank you so much for staying with us back in March. We appreciate your loyalty to us and await your next return. The weather is getting better, so visit soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

There's not a whole lot to rave about but it's probably one of the best choices in the area. It could definitely use a make over. I would probably rent a home if I return. The hotel was not built with top grade materials and is not the best maintained. The area needs a top notch hotel - someone would make a lot of money if they just invested in a clean well built facility for those of us who like a little quality when traveling.

Room Tip: Ocean view of course is best but partial is not bad as you can see the ocean from your balcony which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamiruru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGardenInnOBX, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Thank you for staying with us recently and we do hope that the weather was nice and you were able to enjoy the pretty view from your private balcony. We appreciate your feedback as customer comments are always a concern of ours. We also hope you enjoyed your time spent in the Outer Banks area and had fun at many of the area attractions. Thanks again for choosing the Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks-Kitty Hawk in your travel plans.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

This was a very nice hotel, clean and friendly staff. It was cold and so we didn't get to take advantage of their beach and the pier. Just 3 things though. If you need a constant noise for sleeping, you might need to bring a noise machine. You set the temperature of the room on the wall thermostat, but the one in our room kept cycling on and off all night. I found later that there are apps for the iPhone which can create an ambient noise. The room was very clean, including the tub which was so clean it was almost slippery. I wonder if the housekeeping staff forgot to leave a non-slip mat. I am older and I was worried about slipping and falling. There is a lovely pool and spa, wonderful temperatures and clean. I had a bit of difficulty getting to the pool, because you have to walk through the restaurant, but then I found some back stairs. That was just kind of awkward.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ce I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGardenInnOBX, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2014

Thank you for staying with us and we are so are pleased to see that you enjoyed our pool and spa. We imagine you also appreciated the beautiful views of the ocean from your room and hope you were able to catch the sunrise. Your feedback is important to us and we are grateful that you found your room clean and comfortable. We’ll be sure to share your comments with our staff. If plans bring you back to the area we would love to have you stay with us again. Follow us at: Facebook.com/ OBXHiltonGardenInn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kitty Hawk
11.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla
12.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
5.2 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,192 reviews
7.9 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
2,614 reviews
7.8 mi away
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
#12 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk

Address: 5353 North Virginia Dare Trail, Kitty Hawk, NC 27949-5918
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kitty Hawk
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kitty Hawk
Price Range: $100 - $360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Otel, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk Hotel Kitty Hawk
Hilton Garden Inn Kitty Hawk
Hilton Kitty Hawk
Kitty Hawk Hilton
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk NC

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing