We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little pricey, but decent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kitty Hawk
Certificate of Excellence
Broomfield, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A little pricey, but decent”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stopped here to begin a trip exploring the outer banks. It is a decent spot, beds are comfortable and rooms nice. Breakfast in the restaurant is cook to order, but at 10.95 a plate, a little pricey for breakfast. It was rainy when we were there, so we didn't get to explore the grounds or the pier, but it is on the ocean and all rooms seem to have at least a sliver of ocean view.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladytrooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    818
    434
    195
    61
    31
See reviews for
512
656
48
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We just spent a couple of nights at this beach front hotel on the NC Outer Banks. The first night was in a king-bed room over the parking lot and second night was ocean-front. Both rooms were great. Clean, comfortable, with ocean-view balconies. The ocean-front room was not as large, but being on the ocean made up for the smaller space. Delicious made-to-order breakfast (included free for Hilton Honors premium members). Friendly staff. Wi-FI and business space. Great beach.

Room Tip: All rooms have ocean view. But only a few are ocean-front. I would avoid 1st floor rooms and rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VaTraveler229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Room was clean and staff was very friendly. Breakfast was advertised at $10.99 per person which I felt was too high. Lady at desk gave us breakfast passes when we checked in an breakfast was very good but not worth menu cost. The room rates are too high based on the offered amenities. Great place for a mini-vac, but way cheaper to rent a house for an extended stay. Cost was my only issue with the place.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tHE_iROn_ranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Great Ocean View. A/C cycles on and off (constant on fan setting does not work). No screen on patio door, so you can not leave the door open for the breeze and ocean sounds. Breakfast was an extra $25 per couple charge (ouch!) Staff nice and helpful. Extra $20 per day (w/tip) for 2 beach chairs and umbrella at the Kitty Hawk Pier. Great location for the 3 area light house tours and the Wright Bros Memorial. Good food in the area, lots of activities.

Room Tip: Room 537 has a great ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KansasSwede53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belhaven, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 6, 2013

During a recent trip to the Outer Banks, we enjoyed our stay at the Hilton Garden Inn. Staff was very helpful and overall it was a very nice place. It was a very clean and excellent place. I would recommend it to anyone visiting the Outer Banks area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank Jimmy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Our room wasn't ready so, instead, Hilton gave us a room with an ocean view and a balcony. Score! The room was nice and I went out on the balcony. Didn't do that again ... flies and gnats followed me back into the room. Okay, it wasn't a lot ... maybe about five tiny flies and gnats but that's irritating. So as long as I didn't open the sliding glass door again, we were fine. We left the curtains open all the time ... it was great to see the early mornings, the fishermen, the beach walkers, especially the ocean, etc.

The personnel were wonderful. So friendly and helpful. We ate breakfast at the restaurant within the Hilton. Breakfast was $10.99 ... a chef cooked as you order it ... eggs, whichever way you want it. I loved the veggie omelet he made for me. One could have the buffet ... scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, biscuits and gravy. There were fruit, lots of carbs (donuts, muffins, breads, etc.), cereals hot and cold. The wait staff were on top of it ... so efficient, friendly. Lots of "Yes, Ma'am", "Thank You, Sir." Polite.

Kelly, the concierge, was so cordial. He gave us ideas of things we could do. We did a some(Wright Brothers Museum, Lighthouse and Aquarium) of them. Couldn't do the dolphin watch ... it was cancelled because of heavy rain. Shucks!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KalihiKid65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Allen, VA, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Not exactly a get away atmosphere. The Ocean Front rooms may be better. We had Ocean View, and was too loud from air conditioning unit. If you are looking for a romantic get away, maybe ocean front would work out better for you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Patrick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kitty Hawk
11.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla
5.2 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
857 reviews
12.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
2,479 reviews
13.9 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
1,517 reviews
6.7 mi away
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
#2 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
Address: 5353 North Virginia Dare Trail, Kitty Hawk, NC 27949-5918
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kitty Hawk
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kitty Hawk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, TravelUp, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk Hotel Kitty Hawk
Hilton Garden Inn Kitty Hawk
Hilton Kitty Hawk
Kitty Hawk Hilton
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk NC

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing