We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Hilton Garden in Kitty Hawk, NC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5353 North Virginia Dare Trail, Kitty Hawk, NC 27949-5918   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
STOP CLICKING AROUND
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kitty Hawk
Certificate of Excellence
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Hilton Garden in Kitty Hawk, NC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

My wife and I went to Kitty Hawk for the Flying Pirate half marathon weekend, which is in the very early part of their tourist season (April). Many of the shops and restaurants had not even opened for the season yet. The hotel is easy to find, in a good location, and is the newest hotel on the Outer Banks. Hilton competes with a few other chain hotels but also has to compete with a lot of small B&Bs and local hotels that offer personalized service. They do well in this competition by offering good service, a nice restaurant, clean rooms, and reasonable rates. The hotel also owns the pier right outside the hotel that extends a hundred yards into the ocean which is a very nice amenity for guests. Basically if you prefer chain hotels, this is the best of the Outer Banks, but if you prefer a more personal level of attention, I would seek out one of the many B&Bs.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    672
    346
    164
    41
    24
See reviews for
409
531
37
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

There was a bonfire on the terrace, ocean waves in the background and excellent food morning and night. The made to order omelets and the morning kitchen service was refreshing and very pleasant. Comfortable beds and rooms! We will return again!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Windishore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pace, Florida
Level Contributor
264 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel many times - off season - for the past several years. The ocean front setting is worth the extra cost. There is nothing quite like being soothed to sleep by the waves outside. This time we splurged on a corner, ocean front room with a large soaking tub. The room was clean, had extra towels, a microwave, coffee maker and small fridge. We spent our evenings on the balcony overlooking the beach. The only negative to sitting outside was being exposed to the cigarette smoke of other guests...We thought the hotel was a smoke-free environment. Hotel staff have consistently been friendly and attentive. The lobby has two large aquariums that create a relaxing atmosphere. Over the years, breakfast has ranged from average to good.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner oceanfront room. Very relaxing and romantic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, VA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Just a one night stay for a birthday. Lobby very nice, suite, which they gave us as an HH upgrade, very spacious, clean, great bed, wkith a view of the ocean and Kitty Hawk Pier.. The traffic experienced during the summer season has taken its toll though, and one of the chairs had a hole in the upholstery. Nothing is cheap in the OBX, even off-season, but all in all, a pleasant experience and would return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tripledipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new kent, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

the foyer was very big and bright. staff was more than accomadating, rooms were vey clean. the view was great. will stay again in the future. they have a pier and we were able to get some poles and bait to go fishing. the entrance have very beautiful salt water fish tanks

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Billy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

My husband and I had never stayed at a Hilton Garden Inn, so decided to give this one a try. We just stopped in hoping to get a room. They had a room for us but it was not ready yet and the desk clerk asked us to wait about 20 minutes. We did so, but after 20 minutes, the room stil was not ready so he comped us (no extra charge) with a beachfront room w/balcony (which rented for considerably more than the one we booked)! The room was beautifu and we enjoyed sitting on the balcony listening to and watching the surf!

This is a beautiful hotel and an all-around great place to relax! Staff was so accomodating. We inquired about a good seafood restaurant for dinner, and our desk clerk did not let us down. It was Hurricaine Moe's, and was it good! Fresh reasonable seafood right close to the beach!

Will definitely stay at this Hilton again and again!

Room Tip: We did not purchase breakfast as we were eager to get on the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockport, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I Stayed here in March for a few nights when I came down for 2 days of deep sea fishing! The staff is very nice and the hotel is quite pretty. The rooms are good sized and clean. The beds are very comfy and having the balcony with the view of the wonderful ocean was nice! Overall it was a great hotel and had a good experience.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bighoss96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kitty Hawk
11.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks/ Corolla
5.2 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 stars 677 reviews
12.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Travelodge Nags Head Beach Hotel / Outer Banks
Travelodge Nags Head Beach Hotel...
#4 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 stars 941 reviews
7.9 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
3.5 of 5 stars 2,084 reviews
6.6 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#5 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 stars 994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
Address: 5353 North Virginia Dare Trail, Kitty Hawk, NC 27949-5918
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kitty Hawk
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kitty Hawk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk Hotel Kitty Hawk
Hilton Garden Inn Kitty Hawk
Hilton Kitty Hawk
Kitty Hawk Hilton
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk NC

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing