We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always welcoming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kitty Hawk
Certificate of Excellence
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
84 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Always welcoming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Visited my family during the Christmas holiday and have stayed here many times in previous years. Can't say much about the experience during the hectic summer tourist time but they've always been welcoming and a good value during the holiday season.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AllenMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    674
    349
    164
    41
    24
See reviews for
410
533
38
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
huntersville
Level Contributor
86 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

While visiting the Outer Banks, we decided to stay here. My Dad stayed here before and he recommended we stay here. I'm glad he recommended it. The staff was extremely friendly upon arrival and throughout our two night stay. The rooms were very clean and the bathrooms were really nice and kept up too. Usually when staying in a hotel located on the beach, its run down or it’s not clean...no problems here! This place was spotless and it offered a balcony with an ocean view.

The lobby was really big with an eating area, bar (drinks) and two casual sitting areas. Since we were there in December, the fireplaces were on, so we sat and watched tv as if we were at our own home with a fireplace. We enjoyed the free coffee, hot tea and hot chocolate at night while watching tv too.

We didn't eat breakfast in the morning, but it sure did smell good. Before we left each morning, we walked on the pier and sat on the benches looking out to the ocean – beautiful views. It's a small pier but very nice. It's actually the hotels pier.

This hotel is located in a great spot as we were able to drive north to Corolla and as far south just past Oregon Inlet (couldn't go further south because of Hwy 12 was still damaged by Superstorm Sandy). The location was close to all the sites we wanted to see – lighthouses, sand dunes, and Wright Brother National Memorial.

Nice, clean rooms and a friendly staff. We will be staying here again next year in the warmer months!

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kevkid33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
downnham market,uk
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Very friendly reception staff, did a good job in up selling a premiere room with ocean view. Lovely room, well appointed.Coffee machine not brilliant, would have like something other than just coffee. Tea would have been nice! View in the morning spectacular with the sun rise,Dolphins swimming off the pier. Idillic. Buffet restaurant menu a bit basic, and a bit pricey. Maybe I'm not used to staying in a 'Hilton Hotel' Would like to return in 2013; just found out AA flights from UK gone up to £990 each, so maybe 2014.

Room Tip: We had a 4th floor ocean view;if you can get used to the steady noise of the ocean, go for it. Other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stephen_manney56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We were in town for the Outer Banks Marathon and chose the Hilton Garden Inn because we liked the idea of being right on the beach. Our room had a beautiful view of the water and we loved seeing the sunrise over the ocean in the morning - it was spectacular! The hotel's location is ideal - near to several good places to eat and convenient to sites such as the Wright Brothers memorial. The hotel was clean and well maintained. Although the hotel was pretty full while we were there, the staff did an excellent job keeping everything clean and the overall atmosphere was very nice. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C3Baker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We had my son's wedding at the Outer Banks, and the wedding party and guests stayed at this hotel. We also had the rehearsal dinner at this hotel. The staff were beyond helpful every step of the way. The hotel was clean and well-maintained, and the views from the 4th floor were excellent. The former fishing pier has been converted into an event venue, but you can walk out on the shortened pier to watch the sunset if there's not an event in progress. There were several events the weekend we were there, but not a sense of crowding at all. After many many years of gritty and slightly-damp places to stay, this one was a welcome surprise. Several restaurants close by, including a bakery that makes doughnuts continuously in the mornings. Other necessities close by as well.

Room Tip: If on an upper floor, the views are all good. Noise from courtyard may be present on weekend evening...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChooseToThrive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Was in town to run the Outerbanks 1/2 Marathon and decided to stay at the Hilton Garden Inn. The hotel was clean and the staff was attentive and friendly. I like the fact that I did not have to request extra bath towels the next day! There is a restaurant onsite but we did not dine there. Very convenient to a couple big box stores as well as small eateries and convenient stores. Our room was located on the the 5th floor. We had a wonderful side view of the ocean. The hotel is within walking distance to the beach.

Room Tip: Our room was located on the 5th floor. Although our room was located on the side of the building we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luv2trvl94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We spent a couple of nights at this hotel on the beach. We had a room with a “side sea view” balcony. Actually this meant we looked over the car park but could just see the sea. This sounds worse than it was – we were on the 4th floor and were not bothered by the cars. In fact, sitting on the balcony with a glass of wine in the evening it was quite interesting watching what was going on – if we had been able to get the sea view room as we originally planned (they were fully booked) there would not have been anything to watch in the dark. The room itself was reasonably large, clean and with a comfortable bed and free wifi.

We ate in the hotel dining room the first evening - friendly staff and good steak. Breakfast included omelettes and waffles. The second night we ate in a Thai restaurant just across the road and this was excellent.

Both the outdoor and indoor pools were rather too cool for us in September but the spa pool was lovely. Overall a good stay and we would return although it seemed a bit expensive.

Room Tip: Side view rooms are fine if you are on top floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chriscris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kitty Hawk
11.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks/ Corolla
5.2 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 stars 683 reviews
12.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#4 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 stars 946 reviews
7.9 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
3.5 of 5 stars 2,092 reviews
6.6 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#5 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 stars 996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
Address: 5353 North Virginia Dare Trail, Kitty Hawk, NC 27949-5918
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kitty Hawk
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kitty Hawk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk Hotel Kitty Hawk
Hilton Garden Inn Kitty Hawk
Hilton Kitty Hawk
Kitty Hawk Hilton
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk NC

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing