We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST sandwich on the beach!!!!!!!”
Review of John's Drive In

John's Drive In
Ranked #14 of 68 Restaurants in Kitty Hawk
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Description: Family Owned and Operated since 1977 serving locals and vacationers the best Milkshakes and Mahi Mahi Sandwiches you have ever had! Join us in celebrating our 40th season!
Welcome, Maryland
Level Contributor
160 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“BEST sandwich on the beach!!!!!!!”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

The dolphin sandwiches are the BEST ever. We never miss going here every year. Also, the tuna subs and milkshakes are DELICIOUS. Don't miss going to John's, it is so worth it!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank LorrifromWelcome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    60
    10
    3
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great for a beachside shack”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Best milkshakes around. Mahi Mahi (dolphin) platter is the only way to go...skip everything else. Burgers not good, but the fried fish is as good as it gets and it's a great value.

Be prepared that it can take longer than you'd expect, parking is often tough, and there is no ambience. But the fish and shake make me overlook the other faults.

Been here over 50 times and keep coming back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beach G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Shores, North Carolina
2 reviews
“Great Milkshakes”
Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

Just stopped by at opening time this morning for our second round of shakes in 4 days. Always the best

Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coinjock,nc
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Old standard and has the looks but.....”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The burgers etc are not very good. Also the dead flies in the side window did not make my wife happy.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank was49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
154 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Always the best!”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

You want a great "to go" meal at a good price...go to Johns. I've been going there for 20 yrs and they've never let me down.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank chisel007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John's Drive In also viewed

 

Been to John's Drive In? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing