We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service, great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of High Cotton NC BBQ

High Cotton NC BBQ
Ranked #3 of 68 Restaurants in Kitty Hawk
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $18
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Authentic. Simple. Delicious. High Cotton Barbeque has been well-known on the Outer Banks for over 10 years for their Eastern North Carolina Style Barbeque, Famous Fried or Slow Smoked Juicy Chicken, Melt in Your Mouth Ribs and Texas-style Beef Brisket. As Tarheel natives we want to share the flavors and aromas unique to Eastern North Carolina Barbeque. Consistent temperatures and long hours of smoking with hickory coals produce the characteristic pink coloring and sweet outside brown meat of our famous pork barbeque. Combined with our traditional side dishes and a glass of sweet tea and you're in High Cotton, Outer Banks Barbeque at its very best.
Sterling, Virginia
Level Contributor
167 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great service, great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

We visited here with a pretty large party (10) and they were able to get tables together pretty quickly. We liked the easy atmosphere, but still being able to sit inside in the air conditioning. The food was good - my pulled pork was so good that I didn't need to put barbeque sauce on, it just had enough flavor already. Our kids were a bit disappointed in the mac & cheese, though (which was I think a special that night?)... I think it had more pepper than they'd prefer, but it wasn't awful. The only bummer (to me) was that we got a "chocolate pecan pie" - we were thinking it would be pecan pie with chocolate, but it was a chocolate custardy pie with pecans - not bad, just not what we were expecting. But the other food made up for that, so we'd visit again. :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LoveTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    842
    232
    83
    21
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nags Head, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Top notch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Three hungry guys after a fishing trip stopped and were fully satisfied!!! BBQ was top notch! Sauce was delicious! Sides complimented the meal perfectly! Not overpriced, and the inside atmosphere was very rustic. Service was prompt. We got ours to go but next time we will certainly sit down and eat in!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GobblerAssassin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
76 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great barbecue in a casual and family-friendly setting.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Party of seven - ages 6-50. Great pulled pork, ribs, pulled barbecue chicken. Hush puppies and mac and cheese are ok. Fried okra, old fashioned green beans - yummy. The house made sauces are excellent and for sale in the store/carry-out. High Cotton does a great job with large "family" size carry out options as well. All food and drinks on disposable plates and cups - not very green but very fast, yummy and inexpensive!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Will exceed your expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

Fairly small restaurant in a convenient location. Food (from brisket to ribs to pulled pork) is very good and nicely priced. Kid-friendly, they offer smoked chicken without sauce for your picky ones. Also, a ton of sides to choose from. Salads were better than we were expecting, with healthy portion sizes and very fresh vegetables. Service is friendly and efficient but not rushed. I would suggest arriving before 5:30 on a weeknight and maybe by 5:00, if possible, on the weekends in summer if you don't want to wait.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank richmond787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not as expected, but good prices and fast service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

After spending most of our beach vacation going to seafood places we were looking for some quality NC BBQ. We didn't really find that here. The service was excellent and the food came out quick but the taste was very average. I ordered some ribs, mac and cheese, fries and hushpuppies. The puppies were not good at all, very dry. The sauce they had on the table was pretty good so I did smoother some on my ribs. The ribs were ok, not bad, not good. If you're looking for a pretty cheap and quick meal then go to High Cotton.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andrea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed High Cotton NC BBQ also viewed

 
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 

Been to High Cotton NC BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing