We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My favorite BBQ restaurant”
Review of High Cotton NC BBQ

High Cotton NC BBQ
Ranked #3 of 68 Restaurants in Kitty Hawk
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $18
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Authentic. Simple. Delicious. High Cotton Barbeque has been well-known on the Outer Banks for over 10 years for their Eastern North Carolina Style Barbeque, Famous Fried or Slow Smoked Juicy Chicken, Melt in Your Mouth Ribs and Texas-style Beef Brisket. As Tarheel natives we want to share the flavors and aromas unique to Eastern North Carolina Barbeque. Consistent temperatures and long hours of smoking with hickory coals produce the characteristic pink coloring and sweet outside brown meat of our famous pork barbeque. Combined with our traditional side dishes and a glass of sweet tea and you're in High Cotton, Outer Banks Barbeque at its very best.
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“My favorite BBQ restaurant”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

I've been eating at High Cotton whenever I'm on the Outer Banks pretty much since they've opened. The food is consistently very good, service is always attentive and I can count on walking away full and happy. I live in Richmond, VA where we have plenty of very good BBQ restaurants, but High Cotton is still my favorite. The meats have a good smokiness and the sauces are a good compliment. Real good sides, especially the smoked cabbage when available. I'll be heading back again and again once I get back down there this fall.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vasaintsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    850
    234
    84
    21
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Indiana
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best value in the area!”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We went there for lunch to get a break from the seafood and wish we had went there more over the course of the week! They have the best value for the money around. For 8 bucks, I was stuffed with some of the best barbeque and fried chicken I have ever had. I really liked the sauce, but wish they had a thick and sweet sauce for the kids. I know that isn't the southern bbq style and not mine either, but that would make everyone happy, because what they have is excellent. Atmosphere is great also. Don't miss these cheap eats!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“True NC barbeque”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Locally owned by a native North Carolinian, the food is authentic, fresh, and well made. Service is amazingly fast. This is a great place for a fast meal with real food and down home surroundings.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank opinionated29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent BBQ”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Went on a reccomendation of a local. They accomodated our group of 20 with no problem. Had a lot of neat souveniers too!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank younger855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just like we remember it!!!”
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I are Canadian tourist. We use to live in the Raleigh area for work many years ago. While there we were introduced to pig pickings. Great memories but difficult to find in Quebec. As soon as i walked into High Cotton the smell brought me back to NC. The pit master knows his trade. Matts sauces are all delicious. He smokes the meats perfectly and the sides are just what we remember of our bbq experiences while living in NC. They are very busy but just like Parkers, Bills or Que shack it moves very quickly. We cannot wait to return!!! Keep up the great work Matt.!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gilliaume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed High Cotton NC BBQ also viewed

 

Been to High Cotton NC BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing