We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Barbecue at the beach”
Review of High Cotton NC BBQ

High Cotton NC BBQ
Ranked #3 of 67 Restaurants in Kitty Hawk
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $18
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Takeout
Description: Authentic. Simple. Delicious. High Cotton Barbeque has been well-known on the Outer Banks for over 10 years for their Eastern North Carolina Style Barbeque, Famous Fried or Slow Smoked Juicy Chicken, Melt in Your Mouth Ribs and Texas-style Beef Brisket. As Tarheel natives we want to share the flavors and aromas unique to Eastern North Carolina Barbeque. Consistent temperatures and long hours of smoking with hickory coals produce the characteristic pink coloring and sweet outside brown meat of our famous pork barbeque. Combined with our traditional side dishes and a glass of sweet tea and you're in High Cotton, Outer Banks Barbeque at its very best.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Barbecue at the beach”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Barbecue at it's finest!. Very good service. Clean and attractive dining area.This was my first visit, and ended up going there two days straight!!Highly recommend.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank judithpate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    916
    248
    92
    22
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Really Good.”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

The place looks like a typical tourist family restaurant, but the bbq was excellent and the service was fast and friendly. Very good and reasonable prices!!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Wade W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Reasonable price, good food, great service”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Ate here twice on our recent trip to OBX. Found this place several years ago & it's a favorite. Never been disappointed with anything about it. Love the vinegar based NC BBQ. My husband had the ribs on our 2nd visit this year & I was wishing I'd ordered them too. They were so tender & tasty! Don't particularly care for the Brunswick stew-but that's a matter of taste. Special one night was potato salad-it was different than we make in PA but very good. The owner is there alot of the time running the register or walking around to make sure everything is good. If you've never been.........give it a try. You won't be sorry!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BeachLovers9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very Good and Very Cheap”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

A wonderful, inexpensive stop for NC barbecue. Simple, clean, and efficient with lots of choices and a very manageable bill at the end. Quick, friendly service.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alan Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, VA
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Excellent Food at a bargain price”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

My wife and I ordered takeout. We ordered the biggest meal on the menu (Ribs with 2 other meats) and shared it in out hotel room. It was about $15 and filled both of us up. The ribs were tasty, the brisket was very very good, and the chopped pork was awesome! I loved the vinegar-based sauce. This was a good choice!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed High Cotton NC BBQ also viewed

 

Been to High Cotton NC BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing