We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and casual”

I Got Your Crabs Shellfish Market and Oyster Bar
Ranked #4 of 68 Restaurants in Kitty Hawk
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $21
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night
Description: We're a locally owned shellfish market and oyster bar offering the freshest, local seafood in the Outer Banks. Our specialty is blue crabs and steaming is always free. Eat in or Take out. Open year-round 7 days a week from 11:30 am to 9:00 pm. For more information, please visit our website.
Bloomington, Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food and casual”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Very relaxing, FUN, casual place to have a quick dinner. Waiters are easy going and pleasant. Lisa (waitress) is the BEST! Try the crab cakes and she-crab soup....Mmmmm. Sides are reasonably priced and big enough to share. Not fine dining.....perfect casual place to go after spending the day at the beach or shopping.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IGYCOBX, Manager at I Got Your Crabs Shellfish Market and Oyster Bar, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Lisa will be thrilled that you were so fond of her! I'm thrilled that you enjoyed yourself and our food so much. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    529
    126
    38
    11
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“All expectations met”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

The best seafood experience on the beach! Tiny, mostly bars tools, but perfectly prepared seafood and amazingly good prices.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank clb1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IGYCOBX, Manager at I Got Your Crabs Shellfish Market and Oyster Bar, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you for calling us the best seafood on the beach. It was a delight to read your review and we truly appreciate you taking the time to write it. Have a great day and see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
“Fantastic food - relaxed, fun atmosphere”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Loved this restaurant. If you want to experience top notch seafood in a more local way, this is the place. Everything cooked to perfection and very fresh. You do sit along a counter so if you have a large crowd who wants to socialize, order your food take out. Very reasonable prices.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EPB694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IGYCOBX, Manager at I Got Your Crabs Shellfish Market and Oyster Bar, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
I'm so happy that you enjoyed you experience with us. Thank you for sharing it with others. For those who decide to get take out, remember that you can always call ahead and we will have it ready at the time of your choosing! Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fresh Seafood Bar”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This is a great place for fresh local seafood. They have a wide selection and can prepare it in all the best ways - fried, steamed, raw. Vegetarians can make a veggie plate form sides but don't have any protein options.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexandraR65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IGYCOBX, Manager at I Got Your Crabs Shellfish Market and Oyster Bar, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
We'd like to thank you for taking the time to leave a review on TripAdvisor! You're right about our steamed veggies. They make a great option for vegetarians. See you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great service and Great food”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Love the laid back atmosphere and awesome service. They shuck your oysters as they come out of the steamer - yumm. Hush puppies are amazing. The dip for the puppies is a mixture of brown sugar and butter, can't go wrong there. You have to try their own special dipping sauce, warning it's got a kick!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IGYCOBX, Manager at I Got Your Crabs Shellfish Market and Oyster Bar, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
That hush puppy dip really is delicious isn't it? It also comes with our sweet potato fries and makes them just as irresistible. You'll have to try those next time with your steamed oysters. Thank you for reviewing us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed I Got Your Crabs Shellfish Market and Oyster Bar also viewed

 

Been to I Got Your Crabs Shellfish Market and Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing