We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another excellent couple meals at IGYC!!”

I Got Your Crabs Shellfish Market and Oyster Bar
Ranked #4 of 68 Restaurants in Kitty Hawk
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $21
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night
Description: We're a locally owned shellfish market and oyster bar offering the freshest, local seafood in the Outer Banks. Our specialty is blue crabs and steaming is always free. Eat in or Take out. Open year-round 7 days a week from 11:30 am to 9:00 pm. For more information, please visit our website.
SoCal
Level Contributor
123 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Another excellent couple meals at IGYC!!”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

$5.00 for a dozen delicious oysters, shucked fresh right in front of you by the friendliest staff ever? GOTTA DO IT!

Beers are ice cold. Hush puppies are the BEST we've ever had. And did we mention the friendly staff?

Place is spotless, full view of extremely clean kitchen/prep area, and extremely clean rest rooms. And by the way, very friendly staff!

We'll see you again late September!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank danthatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IGYCOBX, Manager at I Got Your Crabs Shellfish Market and Oyster Bar, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
We loved your enthusiastic review. We have to agree with you about the hushpuppies and think you'll really love the sweet potato fries as well. See you in September!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    531
    126
    38
    11
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Farmington, Maine
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Would go back in a heartbeat! Food atmosphere little story about the place....”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We never would have found this place EVER if not for tripadvisor....so worth going. The place was like a newfangled diner/fish shack in a strip mall - yet it ahd cool tables and counter service. Food was fresh, cooked to order and cheap cheap cheap - and what you would expect to find on the North Carolina coast. Service was excellent too! Super casual though as in styrofoam plates and beer in a can - but one taste of the food and we were hooked!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RootsFarm H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IGYCOBX, Manager at I Got Your Crabs Shellfish Market and Oyster Bar, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
We're so glad that you found us and left such kind words! If you love our prices, try us on Sundays or Tuesdays for $1.50 beer. You'd also love our sandwiches for $6.99 until 3 PM each day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talihina, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Down home and wonderful”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Without a doubt one of the best Outer Banks experiences to be had. Steamed oysters shucked for you as you sit at the stainless steel bar being entertained by the steamer chef! We will go back soon.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fkeithg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IGYCOBX, Manager at I Got Your Crabs Shellfish Market and Oyster Bar, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
We loved shucking oysters for you. In just a few weeks, we'll have blue crabs again and we'd love to shuck those for you too. We can't wait to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty Hawk, North Carolina
2 reviews
“Wonderful, Unique local flair...”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

They are not over priced and offer something hard to find--simply good food.. The place is simple but very clean. I had the She Crab soup, it was excellent.. You must then follow it up with anything steamed.. Plus you will enjoy the conversation behind the counter :) I plan to go back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CHBVeteran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IGYCOBX, Manager at I Got Your Crabs Shellfish Market and Oyster Bar, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
We can't wait to have you back! You'll have to try the oyster stew next time you're in. It's just as yummy and filling on a chilly day. Thank you for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good food!”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Good food at reasonable prices. Pure seafood and they shuck the oysters for you. If you want local caught steamed seafood, this is the place to go. I want to go back when crabs are in season.
Small but they do offer take-out. Our server had lots of personality and was very good. Enjoyed it!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank kittylatte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IGYCOBX, Manager at I Got Your Crabs Shellfish Market and Oyster Bar, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Blue crabs are just a few short weeks away! Stay tuned to our Facebook page for updates. We're so glad you enjoyed the oysters and the service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed I Got Your Crabs Shellfish Market and Oyster Bar also viewed

 

Been to I Got Your Crabs Shellfish Market and Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing