We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome place!!”

I Got Your Crabs Shellfish Market and Oyster Bar
Ranked #4 of 68 Restaurants in Kitty Hawk
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $21
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We're a locally owned shellfish market and oyster bar offering the freshest, local seafood in the Outer Banks. Our specialty is blue crabs and steaming is always free. Eat in or Take out. Open year-round 7 days a week from 11:30 am to 9:00 pm. For more information, please visit our website.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome place!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

My girlfriend and I wanted some seafood one night, but not some fancy shmancy place where you end up spending a hundred dollars, and this place was perfect for us. Delicious seafood, good prices, and very friendly staff. The first thing you see when you walk in is baskets of live crabs of different sizes, and as you sit and wait for your food you can see the people behind the bar steaming your crabs or shrimp or whatever for you.. So you know what you're getting is fresh! Cant wait to go back!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dwoozy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IGYCOBX, Manager at I Got Your Crabs Shellfish Market and Oyster Bar, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Your pictures are making me hungry! We're thrilled to have fulfilled your seafood needs. Thanks for stopping by.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    504
    121
    35
    11
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
157 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“good food and service !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Our family of 5 shared 15 crabs and 3 sides of fries for dinner and it was more than enough ! It was the start of slow season and the food came out fast and hot. I love the small wooden baton that you use to smash the crabs, it works so much better than those metal clal ones.

Service was excellent. My 2yo spilled her drink on an already messy table full of crab bones (?) and as I was getting ready to scold my child, our server was right behind me, told me not to worry about it as it was his just to clean up the mess.

Food was good, the sweet potato fries came with a caramel dipping sauce (a first for me) and it worked really well with the fries. The crabs were mostly good, a few were on the thin side, which is not really surprising since we got the male ones. We also found a coupon for 3 additional crabs so overall, dinner was priced just right.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rdlc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IGYCOBX, Manager at I Got Your Crabs Shellfish Market and Oyster Bar, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
We're in the business of messes! That's why crabs and children go so well together. Your family is welcome any time. It's a pleasure to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“So good, I almost don't want to tell anyone about it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Great staff, great food and exceptional prices. Oh yea and great music in the restaurant! We ate there twice in three days. We found the she crab bisque to be the best we had ever had. The staff were attentive and so persable. We had leisurly meaks, enjoying the food, staff and music. One thing of for certain we will be back often. My onIy only delima is, this place is so good, I wonder if I should be telling people about it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IGYCOBX, Manager at I Got Your Crabs Shellfish Market and Oyster Bar, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Love the picture - crabs and beer are the perfect combo! We can't wait to have you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmond
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Fresh and Local”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Had a wonderful and reasonable lunch. Tried the local oysters and were a steal at $6.99 a dozen. You can get them steamed, raw or fried. Clean friendly and nice casual atmosphere. Love eating at a place that appreciates your business and goes out of their way to make you feel welcome. We will be back! Looking forward to trying the flounder.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pghpeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IGYCOBX, Manager at I Got Your Crabs Shellfish Market and Oyster Bar, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
We're so happy that you enjoyed yourself and shared your experience! You will love the flounder next time you stop by.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
62 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

Small family run restaurant. And they have take out also. Great she crab soup. The best I've had anywhere. We had oysters and dungeness crab as well. All was fantastic and fair priced!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rakdoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IGYCOBX, Manager at I Got Your Crabs Shellfish Market and Oyster Bar, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you so much for the compliments on our food and service! We'd love to have you back any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed I Got Your Crabs Shellfish Market and Oyster Bar also viewed

 
Kitty Hawk, Outer Banks
 
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 

Been to I Got Your Crabs Shellfish Market and Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing