We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wine, Cheese, Beer & Live Music”

Trio Wine, Beer and Cheese
Ranked #7 of 71 Restaurants in Kitty Hawk
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $24
Cuisines: Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night
Description: TRiO is an exciting retail and tasting destination with both a gourmet retail wine, beer and cheese shop as well as a bistro with a wine bar and tap house.
Reviewed June 19, 2018

For the last 23 years I've tried to get folks interested in opening a wine & cheese bistro that featured live acoustic music in my hometown of Roanoke, VA to no avail. When we stumbled upon Trio in the OBX it was exactly what I've had in mind. We sat near the guitar player at a table not far from the bar and enjoyed a sampling of a couple of things on the menu. A cheese platter, charcuterie platter, baked brie, and French onion soup (cup was a little too small, more like a ramekin cup) were just perfect choices after a day at the beach. We are not beer drinkers but there seemed to be a large selection of craft beers as well as a nice selection of wines and specialty drinks. There are tables upstairs and a neat store in the front selling, beer, wine & cheese to go. I would love to have this in my home town...anyone interested in opening one?

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Light540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (357)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 357 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2018 via mobile

Trio is an interesting venue for food, wine, & beer. We were unsure of how it “worked” but the staff took the time to explain how it worked, so that was helpful. To me, it is kind of like a World Market, but with a trendy restaurant in place of the furniture, clothes & lamps. Friendly staff, fun atmosphere, decent selection. The store part had an excellent selection of beer, wine, cheese, t-shirts, jellies, honey, etc, gift type items. At the restaurant, you can order shareable plates off the menu, or you choose your own thing if you don’t like to share...
You can buy a “wine card” to test any of the 24 tapped wines, or just order full glasses of wine or beer from the bartender off the menu. We had a great time sampling all kinds of wine and food, glad we went. Good times.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Peacekat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2018 via mobile

If you love wine and cheese or beer and cheese, this is the place for you! There’s a huge selection to buy and take with you, but there’s also quite a selection for tastings. We stopped for a snack on our way back from the beach, and a cheese sampler was the perfect amount to keep us going until dinner. It is a little pricey, so be prepared. I found $14 for 3 2-ounce wine samples to be more expensive than most tastings.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank sedge88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2018 via mobile

The atmosphere at Trio is one not to be over-looked. It does not matter if you like wine, cheese or beer. Any of the multitude of guilty-indulgences can be found here. Our waiter, Alex, was extremely attentive and always flashed a smile. He was willing to help with any questions we had. As out-of-towners who have fallen in love with the area, Trio and their staff only help to hasten that fall.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank chrisadailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2018 via mobile

Exzellent food and great service. Glutenfree is not a problem and I had many delicious options. The beet salad and the quinoa bowl I can highly recommend. A perfect bar, restaurant, shop- all in one for wine, beer and cheese. Perfect place to be!

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trio Wine, Beer and Cheese also viewed

Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
Kitty Hawk, Outer Banks
 
Kitty Hawk, Outer Banks
 

Been to Trio Wine, Beer and Cheese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing