We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Wine Tasting and Dinner”

Trio Wine, Beer and Cheese
Ranked #8 of 67 Restaurants in Kitty Hawk
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $24
Cuisines: Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night
Description: TRiO is an exciting retail and tasting destination with both a gourmet retail wine, beer and cheese shop as well as a bistro with a wine bar and tap house.
Nashville, TN
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Wine Tasting and Dinner”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We traveled to Trio for a wine tasting that they have on at least a weekly basis. Trio is in a strip mall, but don't let that fool you, the atmosphere inside is wonderful and is very unique and very relaxing. The tasting consisted of seven wines, along with three cheeses, and a cured meat in Trio's loft area. The tasting was very informative and the wine and accompaniments were excellent. The value of the wines tasted ranged from the mid-teens to the mid-forties. It was a very enjoyable hour or so. We then adjourned to a nearby table for dinner.

The menu at Trio is limited to tasty appetizers, a few salads, an assortment of panini, and desserts. We ordered their antipasta platter to begin with. A few of us ordered appetizers to share for dinner, while others ordered a panini each. The antipasta platter was plated with small samplings of each item. The portions are small on this platter, but very tasty. The panini (Gouda and Roast Beef, Brie and Prosciutto, and House Grilled Cheese) were served with a basket of chips. They were all extremely flavorful. The appetizers, while excellent, are small on the portion size, so if you are planning on sharing or extremely hungry, you may want to consider several for the table.

We ordered a bottle of wine with dinner that was sampled during the tasting. I mention this because it was charged out at $10 more than the pricing on the tasting sheet, so I am not sure if there was a corkage fee from their own house or if this was an oversight in the bill. Regardless, a minor discrepancy in what was a wonderful evening.

I recommend the wine tasting and the restaurant for lunch or dinner.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FollowingHistory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    76
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, NY
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Trio: A great brunch stop on a 95 degree day”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

On our weeklong stay at OBX we were heading back from the National Seashore and Wildlife conservation area on Pea Island when we decide to have some Tuesday Brunch at 2pm. We pulled into Trio and entered . Quickly seated we enjoyed a few 5oz samplings of Merlot, Cab Sauv and Reisling. We ordered a few appetizers which arrived very quickly to enjoy with our wines. The toasted brioche with fruits and bagette was enthusiastically enjoyed by my wife, and I snacked on a few other delightful things recommended by our server. Very economical wine offerings and reasonable appetizer pricing. There are other wine stations through the place that are auto-serve with tasting prices from $3.50 to $42.00 a glass ($180/bottle wine) . The accompanying retail store within the establishment has a commendable selection of everything under the sun. We picked up an $11 bottle of Dr Lucent (sp?) reisling which was mouthwatering. We would highly recommend this stop for anyone visiting in the Kitty Hawk area of the Outerbanks.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UpstateJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Trio has good wine and beer selections. Great atmosphere.”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Great place to have a glass of wine or have a custom basket made with a great selection of wine, chesse and snacks. Our server stated he didn't know alot about wine only the beer. I don't drink beer so I would of liked our server to be informative about the wine. Would of liked a wider wine selection. Overall it was very good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sactrav66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The trio was a delightful surprise!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I had dinner there during a May vacation. Although we did not take part in the wine tasting stations, how nice the restaurant offers this service. Our food was fresh, tasty, and definitely not "same old, same old."
We ate at the bar and our waiter was very friendly and helpful. According to him, this restaurant is visited frequently by locals as well as by tourists. They offer an expanded list of beers and wines, and the waiter was able to make good suggestions to help us select some North Carolina varieties. The place has an upbeat, modern, vibe. We will definitely return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnfromLynchburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun Time!”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Visited Trio twice during our stay in OBX and loved the place! Food was fresh and delicious (we all had different sandwiches - all excellent, as well as a fine cheese tray). Wine dispensers were unique and a great way to sample different kinds of wine, and the beer selection was awesome for our beer drinking friends. The band - Frozen Head and the Squirrels - was awesome on 7/6/13, and we just had a fun night, with old friends and meeting new friends. Service was super too! Great time!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Beverly151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trio Wine, Beer and Cheese also viewed

Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
Kitty Hawk, Outer Banks
 
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 

Been to Trio Wine, Beer and Cheese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing