We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing Stands Out” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Longboards Island Grill

Longboards Island Grill
Ranked #49 of 68 Restaurants in Kitty Hawk
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Orange Park, Florida
Level Contributor
83 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nothing Stands Out”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

We went on a Sunday night, and the football crowd was there. Very noisy, more due to lousy acoustics than the crowd. Slow service and a mediocre piece of cod.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DocMark68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    23
    19
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fun atmosphere/ Bad Food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I have been to Longboards twice. Both times my food was inedible. It is a great place to unwind and hang out, but not a great place to eat.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
179 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Summer vacation in the OBX”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stopped for lunch at Longbaords on our way to the rental house we had for the last week in June this summer. The server was outstanding, friendly and professional...the food however was not that great. The french fries were not fresh and the seasoning was off, my lobster bisque was more like tomato paste with a swishing of the lobster tail through it...clearly the lobster kept on going. The Caesars salad was good but not outstanding. We had expected more ambiance and better food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Teacher20052013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Really nice find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

We ate outside with our four kids inside was not as nice . I thought NY food was really tasty , blackened tuna wrap. Everyone ate all their food and ordered desert. The wait staff very attentive ,yet not annoying. Perfect night for family of 6 after doing the whole mini golf experience. Eat outside .

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank marynicnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfectly fine beach restaurant and bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

This is a low key restaurant bar. The staff was extremely nice, the atmospher is low key, beach bar. We had their calamari, it was cooked perfectly, and had a nice garlic side sauce. My husband said it was the best cheese burger he has had in years. The kids had pizza - white, and Hawaiian style, both were good, and there was enough for left overs. My shrimp salad was fine, I would have used vadalia onions, for a sweeter flavor, but it was nice, fresh, and an ample serving.

The manager touched base with us several times, and the waitress was on time, serving quickly and efficiently. Kids enjoyed watching Xgames on the TV. It seems you can't really get away from the TV's anymore unless you are in a more upscale restaurant.

The manager said a disgruntled terminated employee was posting negative reviews on line, so we are posting a true customer experience.

They also have 4-5 pool tables, which were in a separate room.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BethesdaMom1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Longboards Island Grill also viewed

 
Kitty Hawk, Outer Banks
 
Kitty Hawk, Outer Banks
 

Been to Longboards Island Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing