We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful NY style bagels. Get there early as they sellout”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Max's Bagels - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Max's Bagels
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Takeout
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful NY style bagels. Get there early as they sellout”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

They make nice sandwiches. Been going to this order/pick-up shop for many years. Never a disappointment

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CWB39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    7
    3
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nags Head, North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Out of bagels.... again .... and not very nice about it either.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Let me start by saying the bagels are fresh and the toppings are numerous. However - this is a bagel place - that is all they do - Bagels - they have a prime by-pass frontage location - great visibility - they do bagels - that being said - they should not run out of bagels by 10:00am on a Sunday. I am a local - and each time I come in they are down to their last few bagels and completely out of the most popular. Today, Sunday at 10:10am - they turned away a customer that wanted a dozen bagels; told him that if they fulfilled his order they would be cleaned out and unable to serve the remaining customers in line. This is a bagel place - specializing in bagels - and the weekends are probably the busiest time - and not having enough bagels to make it through the morning is pretty poor business - and judging from other reviews this issue is not a new one. Poor planning - rude "service" - despite the tastiness of the bagel - leaves a bad taste in my mouth and is a disappointing way to the start of the day. Ownership - please take these reviews to heart and improve the operation of your business - or you will be out of business.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Redwings91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty Hawk, North Carolina
Level Contributor
158 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Best Made to Order Bagels & Sandwiches”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Family owned and operated. Owner makes fresh bagels every morning. Local neighborhood type of place. Outstanding value. Everything is truly fresh and homemade.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank biztraveler05340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
“Beach Bagels!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

Okay, people... seriously. These bagels are the bomb.

Max's is my favorite place to eat for bagels anywhere: and that's saying a lot. I mean, the bagels are actually round and don't taste like they're a day old. I've never had any bad experiences here; the people that have waited on me have always been very polite and everything's clean. The food is SO good and the prices are decent... What more could you ask for?

As long as I continue to visit the Outer Banks, I will be stopping in at Max's Real Bagels, that's for sure!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank obxbeachtime7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good bagels, horrid service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

They do have good bagels, but this is my 10th and final time here. I kept coming back because it is convenient to stop there. But the owner is rude and they just frown their way through the day. I guess I should have known since the owner parks their car in the closest parking space every day, while customers park further away. I cant imagine doing that if I owned a place.

3 stars based on quality.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Beach G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Max's Bagels also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing