We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is what it is...an older family owned motel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Buccaneer Motel & Beach Suites
Ranked #1 of 2 Kitty Hawk B&B and Inns
North Carolina
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“It is what it is...an older family owned motel.”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Our family had 4 days to vacation in the Outer Banks - this was one of the few places we found that would allow us to reserve three nights - most everywhere else on OBX has a 7 night minimum. This place also said they had a 7 night minimum, but they had a few "in between" dates that were vacant, so we booked a 3 night stay in their "Small 2 bedroom" unit downstairs.

Honestly, my first impression driving up, was "oh my gosh, time has stood still and it's the 1970's!". This is an old motel. Period. It does appear that the owners have tried to keep it up and running - but it is old, and the design and appearance reflects that.

The office was upstairs on the 2nd floor - yes, stairs to climb up to check in, so if you are handicapped be aware. Check in was quick and easy and owners daughter is friendly. Walking into the unit, I think we were all a little surprised at how small the space was, to be a "two bedroom unit" with kitchen and living room and one bath - and for the $167 and $187 nightly rates paid, the space and appearance just did not seem to be a good value to us.

Both bedrooms were small - the front bedroom held a king bed, and the mattress was somewhat floppy on the edges, but we did sleep well on it. The bedroom also held a dresser, small tv, and small closet. It held one of the unit's two window air conditioning units. This turned out to be a problem - in order for the unit to stay reasonably cool and keep the humidity down, this unit as well as the second unit had to run the entire time we were there - on full blast - and we could not close our bedroom door at night for any privacy from the living room, because doing so caused the temperature in the living room to rise quickly. Even cracking this front bedroom door for a couple of hours, caused a noticeable difference when walking into the living room, it was hot in there! Not to mention the second bedroom.

The second bedroom held a double bed, and this bedroom was so tiny, the bed was against one wall, and it was very tight navigating around this room. There was no air conditioning unit in this room and it was very hot and uncomfortable at night, sleeping with the doors cracked to get a little air inside. This was reported to the office and a box fan was handed out. This helped some, but did not fix the problem of no A/C in this room.

The living room area, and entire unit, has ceramic tile flooring. The living room held a sleeper sofa (which both teenagers said was very uncomfortable with metal rods in their backs - they had to turn and sleep sideways), a loveseat, and two small chairs. There was also a medium sized TV.

The kitchen area and living room are one room - the kitchen area held a old fridge with rust ./ dirt on the top (dont set your items up there!) and holds the unit's second air conditioning unit in the wall. There was a window over the kitchen sink covered with a curtain - opened up to get some natural light & reveal a view of the ground at eye level! The kitchen table was directly behind the loveseat in the living room. The kitchen was equipped to cook breakfast and had a coffeemaker and microwave, but no coffee cups were in the cupboards. We drank from Styrofoam cups.

The bathroom - oh my! Tiny was the word - tiny stall shower with exposed plastic pipes attached to the wall, and metal on/off levers like you would expect to see on an outdoor shower - tiny little sink, and tiny short little toilet. Highlight or lowlight, was trying to take a shower and shave my legs - put one hand out to brace myself against the wall so I could lean over, and accidentally touched the plastic pipe that ran up to the showerhead that carried hot water. Yikes!

Also worth mentioning, the parking is tight here. At night, trying to sleep, we heard a lot of stomping around overhead, and running up and down the steps that were right outside the front bedroom window - we heard these loud noises every night. When it continued past 11:30pm, we called the front desk and they did resolve it, both nights we had to call.

The pool area is fenced in, and the pool is somewhat small. There is also a fenced in decking area beside the pool with tables / chairs and umbrellas. Right across the street is beach access but we were not impressed with the beach in this area - the surf was very rough and crashing into the sand, with a 3 foot drop off between the beach and the water. There was a steep set of stairs to climb up and back down to even get onto the beach - and the stairs are literally one step from being in the road - you cannot step down off the stairs until no cars are coming or you will be in the path of oncoming traffic. Very nerve wracking. Right down the road at the Jeannette's pier is a much nicer beach with public access and a nice long walkway out to the sand. Much safer IMO.

Honestly, I'm not sure what else would be available on the OBX for just 3 nights at the rate we paid, but we do not feel that it was a good value for the money paid, and would probably not return here regardless of the rate - unless major renovations were done - that being said, it was clean, it was easy to locate and served as a base for our exploration of the OBX.

Room Tip: We were told that they have a "large 2 bedroom unit" but it was unavailable for our dates...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChippyandTracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    20
    7
    1
    5
See reviews for
27
16
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
222 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

My priority for a motel/hotel is a clean room where I am comfortable walking in bare feet. This is an older hotel but the owners make every effort to make sure the rooms are clean. Over the July 4th week, four of us stayed in Unit 45 which has three individual bedrooms plus full kitchen, eating and sitting areas. The bathroom is small but maintained. Individuals need to research costs of available rooms and rental homes within OBX and determine what they are willing to spend for a vacation. Buccaneer provided clean rooms at a very reasonable price in a great location right across the street from the beach and is centrally located on the island.

Room Tip: Unit 45 is considered a smoking unit but there was not any hint of smoke smell in the unit when we a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wildlime92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

This motel was an unpleasant surprise. In all honesty we probably could have taken the money spent to stay here for a week and rented a nice house to ourselves. Not to say this place is not everyone's cup of tea but we were looking forward to this vacation ( or one and only vacation all year long) and upon pulling up to the hotel we were let down. I booked this hotel because of the excellent reviews it has gotten on this website and can't believe they were so miss leading! I'm going to be honest, the staff is great, the pool is small but refreshing, and the placement is great ( right across from the beach) but the room is not up to par. Not the best place for families. The shower barley fits one person, some of the rooms don't have smoke detectors, and is in need of updates. Holes in the walls and rust in the shower. It does have a laundry facility ( it's coin operated) which is a nice feature. And the tile is probably best considering the sand and other things carried in the room. But I would defiantly rent a house next time, and if not I wouldn't come back here. Also I know what everyone says about beach hotels, that you don't spend that much time in the room anyway but I spent a lot of money on this room and expected just a little bit more.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Beth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We needed a place to stay for 2 days while waiting for our time share to be ready for our annual weeks stay at Kill Devil Hills. We read a few reviews about the Buccaneer Motel and had mixed feelings. Some were favorable and others were horror stories. Because we couldn't find anything else in this price range and because it was a weekend nearing the 4th of July, we booked 2 nights. We have passed buy this place on our many trips to the outer banks. At first it looked old and kind of a rugged aged beach motel. Registration was a breeze and we were off to our room. We got room 23 at the rear of the motel on the ground level and had a parking space in front of our door. The room was great, clean and neat. This is not a Hilton! But it was perfect. Not a huge TV but it was a flat screen and worked fine. The room came with a fridge, microwave, coffee maker and a hairdryer. The bed was extremely comfortable and there were lots of pillows. The pillows were perfect and we didn't even need the ones we brought from home. One thing we really liked was that the air conditioning unit cooled down to 58 degrees! It was really hot out and we were able to freeze in this room. Very important to us how noisy a room is. We never heard a thing only the air conditioner running, (which we like.) A perfect night sleep. No bugs and a ceramic tile floor, so no old carpet to walk on. The beach is a 2 min. walk across the street. We didn't go to the pool so no comment but they do have charcoal grills in a little picnic area and a laundry room. I couldn't find any thing I didn't like. This place is close to the ocean, shopping and lots of restaurants. We like it and would come back.

Room Tip: Our room 23 was perfect. It had 2 queen beds, a great air cond. unit, it was quiet and clean. What e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Virginia, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 27, 2013

On a whim,my sister and I decided it would be fun to take our mom to the OBX for her birthday.I wasn't sure I'd be able to find a place on such short notice at an affordable price.I went online & the second place I looked at was The Buccaneer.I gave them a call & after finding out what was available,I booked the 3 bedroom suite for five days.We were pleasantly surprised!The rooms were nice & clean,the pool was great & it was so close to the beach.Everyone was very helpful & we met some very nice people during our stay.We'd definitely recommend The Buccaneer to our friends and would enjoy staying there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waregem, Belgium
Level Contributor
60 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Buccaneer Motel in Kitty Hawk for one night during March. It was pretty cold outside but the room was nice and warm thanks to central heating. Our room - on the first floor - had a fairly large kitchenette (including cutlery, plates and glasses), in a separate room from our queen bed room. It had an old-fashioned charm to it, but it certainly looked clean. There's also free wifi available.

The whole place just smells of nostalgia. This is a classic motel in a U-shape (consisting of three separate blocks, so it's fairly large). There's a pool and the entrance to the motel is guarded by a sign of a pirate. The owners live on the premises and are very friendly people.

The Buccaneer motel is on NC-12, aka Virginia Dare Trail, which runs north-south thru all the beach towns on the North Carolina Outer Banks. It's near the Wright Brothers National Memorial, probably the town's foremost attraction. You won't have many options staying near Kitty Hawk in winter. There's a Holiday Inn a bit further, but at about 50 $, the Buccaneer is value-for-money and probably twice as economical.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stijn-traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton Township, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Our family has vacationed in the Outer Banks for nearly 20 years and we have always stayed at the Buccaneer! We have always stayed in one of the 2 bedroom suites (both upstairs and downstairs) due to our family's size. While things are somewhat outdated they are still functional and the owners are constantly trying to update and improve the condition of things. The salty air, wind and hurricanes are hard on coastal buildings and the Buccaneer has stood the test of time. Most people do not realize when they visit that she has been thru several hurricanes - once having nearly 2 feet of water on the main level. We will be returning again this summer with more of our family in tow - this time for my brother's wedding and could not be more excited! We look forward to sunrises each morning on the private dune deck, breakfast on the porch, and swimming in the pool that we heard is being redone! We started going there when we were just kids and now we get to bring our own children back to enjoy the Buccaneer and the beach we so love!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank meghan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kitty Hawk
1.7 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
835 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
1.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Kitty Hawk Outer Banks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,118 reviews
1.7 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Kill Devil Hills-Mariner
Days Inn & Suites Kill Devil Hil...
#8 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
849 reviews
4.7 mi away
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn
#12 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buccaneer Motel & Beach Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buccaneer Motel & Beach Suites

Property: Buccaneer Motel & Beach Suites
Address: 3512 Virginia Dare Trl N, Kitty Hawk, NC 27949-4079
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kitty Hawk
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Kitty Hawk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Buccaneer Motel & Beach Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Buccaneer Motel & Beach Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buccaneer Motel & Beach Suites Kitty Hawk, NC - Outer Banks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing