We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Respite for the Environmental Athlete”
Review of Cypress Moon Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cypress Moon Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Kitty Hawk B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 15, 2012

I liked Cypress Moon Inn because it offers the best of several worlds. Situated next to a coastal reserve, it offers an avid distance runner like me a gentle, quiet, natural place to explore during a 2-hour run, complete with educational signs about the reserve, its flora and fauna. The breakfast tray is a great idea because it's awkward for me to schedule my early morning run around someone else's breakfast schedule, and I enjoyed eating on our room's deck/porch with its great view of the Sound. The attentive innkeepers made sure the fare was tasty and bountiful for this hungry runner who loves fruit and fresh-baked goodies. We used the Inn's kayaks (no extra charge) to scout the Sound side of the reserve. We also borrowed the Inn's bicycles (again, no extra charge) and biked through the reserve to find the Covered Bridge. And we floated on the Inn's tubes (no charge for this either) for hours on a late afternoon. Beaches are a short drive or within easy reach by bicycle on the seemingly endless running/bike path that wanders North to Corolla and South to Nags Head and beyond. I like sun on a beach vacation, and I also like to find relief in the shade of trees. This Inn offers both. The Inn is a relaxing spot, with friendly, considerate hosts and snazzy rooms. Thank you. We plan to come back.

Room Tip: If you're very picky, ask for a room in the newer home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pannabecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSHSURF, Owner at Cypress Moon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Thank you for staying with us and your kind words. Linda and I are glad we could provide you with an enjoyable stay on The Outer Banks.
Thanks again, Greg and Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 97 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2012

My husband and I just returned from our 4 night stay at Cypress Moon. Next time we return to the Outer Banks this is where we'll stay. We were impressed with the room, breakfast and the owners. The bed and linens were top of the line and the view from our room couldn't be beat. We spent lots of time sitting on our porch enjoying the view and the peace and quiet. We also made use of the kayaks and bikes available for our use. We loved the casualness of it all and we felt very comfortable wandering about the property. I loved the special touches, like the vintage accessories and antiques. It was the perfect get-away.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSHSURF, Owner at Cypress Moon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Linda and I thank you for staying with us and your kind words. We are gratified that we were able to provide you with a pleasant stay.
Thanks again, Greg and Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

This B&B is off of a gravel road on a marshy section of the sound. The Wright Memorial Bridge is within sight and hearing which is disappointing. It is not the refuge from the hustle and bustle of the bypass that was anticipated.

The room was nice enough, but we found it odd that breakfast was brought up to the room the night before; breakfast is a half of the bed and breakfast equation, and having stayed in B&Bs before, we expected a hot and hearty breakfast; not yogurt, granola bar, and muffin! Incidentally, we opted for McDonald’s the second morning.

The innkeepers were nice enough, but a bit intrusive entering our personal space when it should have been obvious we were doing just what we wanted to do. Our friends were asked if they wanted to blow bubbles—really?

The wine glasses and cork screw that were on the dresser were a nice touch, but the sticky notes and list of reminders telling us what “not to do” were very impersonal and quite the overkill. (Be prepared, you cannot eat in bed!) To top it off, there was an envelope on the dresser requesting tips—unbelievable! Sorry, folks, this place is not worth the money, and we cannot recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miriki23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSHSURF, Owner at Cypress Moon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Thank you all for staying with us. As for our location, it is well described on our website in words and pictures. Most of the Soundside does have a border of marsh. We provide a walkway and deck to get to the water. We are 1/2 mile from the main road which is just about as far as you can get anywhere on The Outer Banks. We have no immediate neighbors and are not located in a commercial zone. Many guests comment on how quiet it is here.
As for the comment on being intrusive we were trying to be friendly. The notes are for your information about operating items in the home. The tips are for housekeeping who each day return your room to the condition it was in when you checked in. We do ask that you do not have food or drink on the bed so as to not stain the bedding.
Our rates are very competitive and are even less than some places that are not waterfront.
Sincerely, Greg Hamby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

After reading quite a few of these reviews, I have to agree with some of them. My new husband and I were on our mini-honeymoon and needed rest and quiet and that is certainly what we got. The property is beautiful, not like typical houses you see in the Outer Banks. The room was nicely furnished, the semi-private deck was just what we wanted, and the views were breathtaking. We were able to put champagne in their provided mini-fridge, and use provided wine glasses, but beyond that it was about it. There were pretty water goblets in the bathroom that were dirty, toothpaste left in the sink, and no bar soap was left in the shower, just a pump on the wall which had shower gel and shampoo. That was especially weird to me. I like to know what I am using.

There was too much going on in the living room for us to enjoy, i.e., stacks and stacks of books and that sort of thing drives me crazy, so we hung out in our room and outside when we were actually at the property. We took the double kayak out which was a blast, and the owners were very informative about how to use it and the water conditions etc...

I do not see an occasion where we would stay there again as we usually rent homes with our families when we stay in the Outer Banks. But I will say that this was a very different Bed and Breakfast experience with the breakfast tray being offered the night before (no hot breakfast being cooked and offered in the morning) and a tip envelope sitting on the dresser. We would potentially stay again- we liked the views and the room- and the quiet! No small children at this place.

Room Tip: Our upstairs room was very nice but quite warm. Keep blinds closed during the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stormwatcherVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSHSURF, Owner at Cypress Moon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Thank you for staying with us. We are glad you enjoyed yourselves. We are always available to correct anything that may have slipped by during cleaning. I would encourage any gueset to call or see me about any concern you may have. I will be glad to correct it if at all possible. One does not have to live with it and then have me find about it once you have checked out when you review your stay.
Regards, Greg Hamby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

We stayed at the Cypress Moon the week of June 22-26th and enjoyed every minute. It was convenient to the beach, restaurants, and all the tourist attractions. Greg & Linda were very helpful in suggesting places to eat, places to visit, and we enjoyed the personal attention. We kayaked, biked, and sat at the dock enjoying the beautiful views. The breakfast tray offered healthy choices with delicious variations each morning of croissants, quiche, fruit, pastries, peanuts & granola bars. And most importantly our quota of Starbuck coffee. Beautiful house - quaint, quiet, and clean. We would especially like to thank our wonderful hosts Greg & Linda for making it an enjoyable stay and great tips to visit in Orancoke (sp?), Corolla, the pier on 12th St., and the Wright Bros. Memorial. Thank you for the great Southern Hospitality. From the two Pittsburgh, PA guests. Ray & Linda.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linda_cecchetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

For our anniversary I booked this very nice Bed and Breakfast in Kitty Hawk, although last minute. The folks owning it really helped with my inability to plan and were great hosts. The location was really neat and to my liking, back in the woods and on the inlet side. A very quiet location as well as away from everything, which we were looking for with privacy. Nice furnishings in a beautiful home and very nice owners. The view through the trees was beautiful on our porch. The price was average for what we received. Parking, limited, and the breakfast brought a day ahead of time, which was not the best situation since some of it had to be refrigerated and we got in late one night. The worst part - you couldn't control the air/heat in your room and the first night we baked! Plus their were little "sticky notes" with reminders throughout our room - odd for a Bed and Breakfast I thought. A nice, quiet, unique setting that was OK, but not what I would expect from a $200 a night B & B.

Room Tip: All looked to be OK and private enough - but if you can't control your heat and air, it may not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Virginiagent_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 23, 2012

Thank you for staying with us. We are always available to address your concerns. We could have adjusted the central HVAC had we known that you were not comfortable. There is a ceiling fan in the room as well.
As for out rates, we charge far less than some in the area who are not waterfront. Many folks do not realize the cost of building and furnishing a home for this purpose. We have very competitive rates, especially for the location, quality of the home, the furnishings and appointments.
We do provide ample parking for even large vehicles and trailers if necessary.
Thank You, Greg and Linda Hamby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

What a lovely home and private rooms right on the water! A true bed and breakfast.... your breakfast tray is delivered with freshly baked goodies, yogurt, fruit and assorted treats! Starbucks coffee too! The rooms are individually decorated and lovely! The home is adorned with a beautiful collection of art pieces. The innkeepers are very welcoming and informative.

We truly enjoyed our stay and thank the owners for their dedication to their guests!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RDN142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kitty Hawk
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
6.8 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,268 reviews
12.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
#12 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
488 reviews
6.7 mi away
Cambridge Cove At Bermuda Bay
Cambridge Cove At Bermuda Bay
#16 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
56 reviews
8.0 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
2,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cypress Moon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cypress Moon Inn

Address: 1206 Harbor Ct, Kitty Hawk, NC 27949-4046
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kitty Hawk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Kitty Hawk
Price Range: $151 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cypress Moon Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cypress Moon Inn rests on the shore of The Albemarle Sound In Kitty Hawk on the Outer Banks of NC. The Inn has no immediate neighbors and is a quiet place. All of the guest rooms overlook the sound. You can access the soundfront porch directly from your room where you have a table and chairs,loveseat and chair and a hammock swing chair. The porch is a great place to view wildlife,the sunset ,relax and read as well as have your breakfast. The maritime forest that surrounds The Inn is home to a wide variety of wildlife. The birdwatching is great. We provide bicycles and kayaks for your use and a pier and deck to access the sound here at The Inn.The bottom of the sound here is a sandy one. The waters of the sound are clean,generally calm and great for watersports. Golf courses are nearby the Inn. The Atlantic Ocean Beach is 1.5 miles away with free and ample parking. There are over 100 miles of beach here with half of that being undeveloped within The Cape Hatteras National Seashore. The Outer Banks are home to The Wright Brothers National Memorial, 19th century lighthouses and lifesaving stations,the first attempt at an English colony,the wild horses of Corolla and vast wildlife refuges. The fishing is world famous. You may also go surfing,kiteboarding,windsurfing and hangliding. Lessons are available for all of these activities. All in all there are many unique sights to see and activities to participate in or you can just relax at the Inn and enjoy the best view of any B&B on the Northern Outer Banks.The Cypress Moon Inn is entirely non smoking.Thank you for inquiring about us, Greg and Linda Hamby ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Cypress Moon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cypress Moon Inn Kitty Hawk, NC - Outer Banks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing