We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WORST CAMP SITE EVER!!!!!! DON'T EVEN THINK ABOUT IT!!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kitty Hawk
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Adventure Bound Campground
Batesville, Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“WORST CAMP SITE EVER!!!!!! DON'T EVEN THINK ABOUT IT!!!!”
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Just pitch your tent anywhere you can find a spot, as there are no formal sites, and be prepared for the longest night and most miserable and unsafe experience ever: loud, crude, rude, racist Frat parties; druggies/homeless people shuffling around 24/7; peacocks screeching all day & all night; filthy showers, albeit with hot H2O; and streetlights. STAY AWAY!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nanniebella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    15
    5
    9
    17
See reviews for
9
15
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We chose this campground because it was very close to the Kitty Hawk beaches, which allow dogs all year. The campground itself is strangely arranged with most of the campsites out in an open field quite close to the road. We were lucky, though, and got one of the few shaded sites, which was flat and spacious.

As campground bathrooms go, I actually found this one to be pretty good. The owners seem to keep it clean and the stalls actually have doors/curtains. The bathroom also has a main door which can be closed to keep out bugs - a major benefit in my book.

The critters around the rest of the campground were what caused us problems. First, the mosquito situation is out of control. I got dozens of bites while wearing long pants and a long sleeved shirt, socks and the deep woods repellent that my doctor suggested when I was going to a part of China with malaria issues. It worked in China, but it did not work here.

Because of the bugs, we went to bed super early so we could at least hide out in the tent, but that didn't work either. The campground has two peacocks that roam around, which is very cool in the daytime but those things squawk ALL NIGHT and LOUDLY. One of them was right outside our tent squawking for most of our first night, which kept us up and made our two dogs very nervous, further keeping everyone up.

I didn't encounter any issues with shady people, cursing or loud music as others have mentioned, but the mosquitoes and peacocks will be enough to prevent me from going back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emc8309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kitty Hawk hotels

Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This was the worst place I've ever camped. The noise at night was overwhelming! A lot of drinking, drug use, profound language! Horrible customer service when I walked in..the young woman running the front desk was hugged up all on her boyfriend/husband when we walked in!! The owners were rude and horrible with directions, referred an awful dump to eat dinner! Bathrooms were nasty, loud peacocks make noise all night! By far a horrible experience!!! NEVER GO HERE!!! Plus some of our belongings got stolen out of our tent and car! We were charged a different amount as what we were quoted over the phone!! Complete rip off...

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank obxboundwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldie, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I wish I had known TripAdvisor had reviews for campsites! We had to make a last minute change of plans and booked here for the 4th of July weekend. I was surprised to hear that they still had sites available...until we arrived. As the other reviews have said, the "camp ground" is basically a wide open field, with a FEW camp sites with shade. We stayed three nights, but had to move our tent after the first night because the sun in the field was so brutally hot. Luckily, we found a better spot behind the bathhouse with plenty of shade for the next two nights, or we would not have been able to stay.

Pros:
Very friendly and helpful staff
Other campers were friendly and helpful
Bathrooms were cleaned once a day (around noon) and everything worked
Outdoor showers were nice
Plenty of picnic tables
7-11 at the end of the road, 3 minutes away

Cons:
No assigned spots
You can not park next to your tent
Brutally hot sun from 7:30 AM till 6:30 PM in the field
Worst and most mosquito bites I've ever gotten in my life, even with a Citronella candle and bug spray.
There is a faucet to fill water containers or do dishes, but no table - kind of a mess
Peacocks do make loud noise all night
SMALL camp fire
Kind of far from....well, everything

If you camp in the open field in the summer, bring an extra tent for shade!! Our tent was so hot by 7:30 AM, we were forced to get up.

Room Tip: Try to pick a spot behind the bathhouse!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We arrived this past Tuesday afternoon with a school group of 9 kids (ages 10-12) and 3 chaperones, for what we thought would be a great camping experience (the first for some of the kids). From the website, it looked like a good option for inexpensive camping at the Outer Banks, plus it has the hostel. It's really not as much a "campground" as an open field. As soon as we pulled up, the kids were saying that we must have the wrong place, since it seemed to be someone's yard. We did try to have an open mind, so we walked around the grounds, and checked out the bathhouse. Unfortunately, this place just has a creepy feel, and the adults AND the kids all felt really uneasy about staying. The peacocks were interesting to look at, but now that I see the other reviews I'm glad we didn't have to listen to them. The bathrooms were filthy, there were very few "campsite" options, and it looked as if there were some permanent camping residents. The other campers were adult men - no families or other children. We decided not to stay and found an inexpensive hotel near the beach, obviously not as cheap as the campground, but safe and clean.

We let the owner know that we wouldn't be staying and tried to make our excuses without criticizing his facility, but since we had also booked a hostel room for one of the teachers with medical issues, he demanded payment for the room for 3 nights. We reluctantly gave him one night's payment since we were canceling with such short notice and he was angry and rude. Although the website makes this place look quaint and lovely, it is not, and it is definitely not a place that you would want to stay with children. (However, the Travelodge in Kill Devil Hills is a wonderful hotel with great staff!!)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyLuckyTurtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

For the money ($28 as of July 2012), it's a decent value. Just know that it really has a communal feel to it, and there's not a ton of privacy nor frills. The wooded area behind the bathrooms is not a good option if there has been a lot of rain; that pretty much leaves the open, grassy area. The bathrooms were, contrary to some of the other reviews, pretty clean and fairly nice in our view. Some of the other guests weren't, not abiding by the quiet hour policy. The staff person was friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable. We actually liked the peacocks...they weren't too annoying. Make sure you bring insect repellent.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabrown19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boxborough, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed at Adventure Bound Campground for 2 nights and we had a blast there.
When we arrived Wednesday afternoon, there were only 2 other tents on the site. Could not hope for better when picking my spot (by the wooden fence on the other side of the private road).
The bath house was clean, the fan was working in each men and women bathrooms, so it wasn't too stuffy and hot when taking a shower.
The peacocks did make some noise but it wasn't that bad as described by other users in the comments.

The guy at the office was very friendly, gave us all the directions to the nearest beach, best restaurants and showed the bike paths.

I would recommend this place to my friends. We loved OBX!

Room Tip: Before we set up the tent we used the Outdoor Mosquito spray and sprayed it all over the place and w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank digitalkaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kitty Hawk
2.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
1.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Kitty Hawk Outer Banks
4.8 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
862 reviews
13.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla
13.3 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adventure Bound Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adventure Bound Campground

Property: Adventure Bound Campground
Address: 1004 W Kitty Hawk Rd, Kitty Hawk, NC 27949-4307
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kitty Hawk
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Kitty Hawk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Tent Only Campground located on the edge of the maritime forest coastal reserve area of Kitty Hawk. We offer wooded, shaded, & open grassy sites, nice bathhouse with hot showers, shuffleboard court, horseshoes, volleyball, free use of beach stuff & crab fishing gear. Open all year. No pets. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Adventure Bound Campground Hotel Kitty Hawk
Adventure Bound Campground Kitty Hawk, NC - Outer Banks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing