We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Adventure Bound Campground
Nearby Hotels
$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$168
$119
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Driftin' Sands Motel(Kill Devil Hills)
$99
$77
Hotels.com
View Deal
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Ranch Resort(Kill Devil Hills)(Great Value!)
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills(Kill Devil Hills)(Great Value!)
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$128
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur(Kill Devil Hills)(Great Value!)
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (51)
Filter reviews
51 results
Traveler rating
5
15
5
9
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
5
15
5
9
17
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 51 reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Very small campground. Looks like somebody's backyard. But it is the only one in Kitty Hawk. Beach was somewhat close.
If you are looking for a bigger campsite closer to the beach, drive further south to Cape Hatters....
We didn't stay at Adventure bound because we didn't like the location and the fact that each tent would be too close to each other.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
2  Thank FlyKat_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

It is the only campground in the area, but it was fine. The sites were clean with plenty of picnic tables. There was a nice fire ring for evening fires. The bathroom and showers were a clean and yes there were peacocks, but I enjoyed them. I wish it had electricity, but it was fine without it.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank alifewithoutborders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

Best campground in Kitty Hawk but only because it's the only campground in Kitty Hawk.

Likes:
Camping on the North end of the OBX.
A few minutes drive to the beach (but name a place on the OBX that isn't)

Dislikes:
Peacocks at 6:30am
Cleanliness of the toilets, showers and sinks
Felt like a somewhat shifty neighborhood

We visited in the off-season and were able to choose to camp in an area that was a little far from the other campers, I wold expect that in the summer time this area can get really crowded with little privacy/security.

I would not recomend this site for kids.

Unless you have to be in the Kitty Hawk area I suggest driving south to the Rodanthe where there are much better camping options; Camp Hatteras, Hatteras KOA, NPS Campgrounds...

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tattoo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

We wanted to take a nice trip to the Outer Banks, but didn't want to spend the big bucks to rent a place, so we decided to camp. We ended up at Adventure Bound Campground in Kitty Hawk. I loved it. When we first pulled in I was weary. But we found a nice, fairly private spot to pitch our tent. They had the cleanest bath house I have ever seen in a campground, plus two outdoor showers (which will make showering indoors again hard)! People seemed friendly. It wasn't too crowded, and it was just a short drive to the beach (with nearby public beach access). There are two resident peacocks as mentioned above. And a few mornings they were vocal around 6am, but that's about time we wanted to be up and about anyway. I thought they were beautiful and added charm to the place. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank fitlife60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2011

We came with a high adventure crew full of high school students. Most of these kids are very used to roughing it, but this wasnt what we expected. We camped in the tree area with the peacocks. The peacocks are LOUD AND NEVER SHUT UP !! All night, every 30 min or so they will scream at the top of their lungs. They sleep in the trees and will poop on your tent. The bath house was gross! This place also has a CHEAP hostile on site. The folks staying there looked a little shady. They avoided us for the most part, but one man aka "Pirate" as the kids started to call him was really strange. It wasnt a total loss. The ground are beautiful and the owner was really nice. They offer plenty of space, central fire pit, on site grills, volleyball, horseshoes, and plenty of nature. It has so much potential..... if they get rid of those dang peacocks.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank crewdaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews