We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stuffed!”

Chef and The Farmer
Ranked #1 of 77 Restaurants in Kinston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Herritage & Gordon
Morehead City, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stuffed!”
Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

Decided to go to the chef for dessert after spending the day downtown at mother earth and late lunch at the boiler room. We were seated at the bar and the staff knew we were only ordering dessert. The service was excellent. Couldn't decide which to order and noticed the "flight of three or flight of four" on the dessert menu. We decided to go with the flight of four thinking it would be a sample of the desserts ordered. NO, they were FULL SIZE desserts! On top of that, our server brought us over the one dessert on the menu we didn't order! All were excellent and half of everything came home. Finished off the chocolate mousse cake tonight, the honeybun cake yesterday. Still have some apple crisp left! Can't wait to get back for a full dinner!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Keydup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    609
    114
    52
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salter Path, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Well worth the trip to Kinston”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

I have eaten at Chef and the Farmer several times over the last few years, and each experience was wonderful and different. The menu changes with the seasons as Chef Vivian uses fresh local ingredients so it never gets boring. The service has always been wonderful as well. Our family likes to start with one of the drink specials while we share an appetizer or two and we always save room for one of the fabulous desserts! Great place to take grown-up children when they are in town.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 289Pam289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthington, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Eclectic! Amazing! What a special treat!”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

What a terrific surprise! Our friends made a reservation for dinner on our way back from the coast. When we walked into the restaurant I was surprised at how interesting the restaurant was. Great bar area, great bar to view the open kitchen and eat and a beautiful and comfortable restaurant. The service was attentive and immpecable. The wine list was great with some super reasonable wines. Our party of four shared many small plates. We sampled the flash-fried greens, (never thought that something so healthy could taste so good), a couple of the pizzas, shrimp & grits and the pork belly bites with the Blueberry Barbeque sauce. Dessert was extraordinary! The apple crisp with rosemary ice cream was one of the most delicious desserts I have ever experienced. Truly a great dining experience!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DLSproul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Awesome food”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Great food and service. The chef is very creative. We drove over 300 miles to experience this restaurant. We hope to return a different season of the year to taste Vivian's creations from other fresh seasonal ingredients. Well worth the trip.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Elegant & Delicious”
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful and delicious experience at the restaurant. We ordered the popular pork belly appetizer, the bone in pork chop, and shrimp and grits. Oh, and we also had dessert as well. I watch the show on PBS. Traveling to the restaurant was so worth it! Chef Vivian fan forever!

Helpful?
Thank Nique F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chef and The Farmer also viewed

Kinston, North Carolina Coast
Kinston, North Carolina Coast
 
Kinston, North Carolina Coast
Kinston, North Carolina Coast
 
Kinston, North Carolina Coast
Kinston, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Chef and The Farmer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing