We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big City Quality in Eastern North Carolina”

Chef and The Farmer
Ranked #1 of 77 Restaurants in Kinston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Herritage & Gordon
Rocky Mount, NC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Big City Quality in Eastern North Carolina”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We had been talking about trying this restaurant for awhile but it is an hour drive from our home. We finally did and I am glad to have had the experience. The food is of the highest quality and the staff have obviously been trained in "fine dining etiquette". Our particular waitress was very knowledgable about the wine list and wine pairings with the food we ordered. The atmosphere was cozy and warm. If this restaurant was in my town we would eat here all the time.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RMNCTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    620
    117
    54
    16
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Bern, North Carolina, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“New York City in Kinston”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We (six couples) recently had dinner at The Chef and Farmer in Kinston. What a wonderful experience!! From the first cocktail to the dessert the service,food,and atmosphere was superb.
The localized and seasonal specials are an excellent choice.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Chef and the Farmer isn't just about the food, although the food is the best conceived and prepared in this part of NC. It's also about the beautifully restored restaurant, the friendly, professional servers and the welcoming ambience of the space. It's sophisticated Southern that takes pride in its roots...the vegetables, especially, are a highlight of any meal...their kale salad is one of the best things I've ever eaten. A meal at Chef and the Farmer is an occasion.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 394JaneD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, North Carolina, United States
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Meal!”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

My husband and I had recently heard of Chef and The Farmer from UNC-TV and from our Fav Restaurant in Raleigh, 18 Seaboard. We decided we had to try it. Known for their twist on Southern Fare and the use of local, seasonal foods, the Chef and The Farmer is an Eastern NC gem. We booked a 5:45 reservation on Open Table for the Saturday after Valentines Day. Beautiful drive in the Snow - ending up arriving early so we took advantage of the Wine Bar. We both chose a brew from the local brewery - Mother Earth. Nice selection of Wines - one might not expect to find in a small town. Now let's talk food - App - Murrel's Inlet Oysters - so fresh we thought we had harvested them ourselves=Delicious. Dinner - I stuck with seafood and choose the BBQ Shrimp - very pleased! My husband went a little more southern with Homemade Sausages over a bed of huge White Limas. The flavors were amazing! One house speciality is Grits, which we love so we decided to share. We chose Bleu Cheese and Fig - they were served in a cast iron skillet and even though it may sound a little strange - they were Amazing. If you are a Grit Lover you must try one of their Grit Creations! They are worth the trip to Kinston alone! But everything in this place is super special. I would recommend going in a group - tables of two are sometimes not placed in the most desirable spots. We can't wait for our next trip.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinston, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Perfect Dining Experience”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Took a couple to dinner as a wedding gift and the experience and the food could not have been better. I made my reservations late Saturday afternoon, but they were able to get us seated earlier than anticipated. The couple had dined at the restaurant previously and had already decided what they would have, yet they were pleasantly surprise to find that the menu had changed so they would have to try something new. We shared two appetizers, candied yams and hamachi tartare. We ordered three different main dishes (wood fired clams & oyster, Texas Wagyu flank steak and BBQ rock shrimp and triggerfish) which we shared with one another, and in the end, all three of our plates were clean. Service was very timely and staff was on point with assuring we had refills and with the removal of dishes for the next course. I can't say enough good things about the food itself. Everything, including dessert was absolutely delicious. Love the dark chocolate ice cream served with the pecan pie. I'm already looking forward to my next dining experience here.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Monique H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chef and The Farmer also viewed

Kinston, North Carolina Coast
Kinston, North Carolina Coast
 
Kinston, North Carolina Coast
Kinston, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Chef and The Farmer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing