We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Casual, High Energy Spot”

The Boiler Room Oyster Bar
Ranked #2 of 77 Restaurants in Kinston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Kinston, North Carolina
Level Contributor
101 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Casual, High Energy Spot”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Three of us met here to enjoy burgers, beer and wine on a Monday evening. Restaurant was a bit vibrant (basketball games on the televisions), but service was not slow. They had a nice selection of burgers, including seafood and vegetarian options, plus beers and wines. Perfect place to hang out casually with friends for a couple of hours.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Monique H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    100
    32
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morehead City, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great surprise.”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Drove to Kinston from Morehead city to check out the mother earth brewery. Ended up at the boiler room for a late lunch. Great burger, atmosphere and service! Downtown Kinston was a pleasant surprise! Also had the poutine appetizer and another table offered a sample of their pimento cheese and sausage dip appetizer which will was also very good. Didn't try any seafood, but the oyster selection looked good.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Keydup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coastal NC
Level Contributor
123 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Mostly Great Food”
Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I are big fans of Chef & Farmer so we decided to try this place. The first thing we noticed when we walked in was music cranked up at full thunder volume and the temperature in the restaurant was unbearably hot. Our server was very welcoming and did a great job.

As for the food, we were largely unimpressed with the Pimento Cheese Dip: greasy, bland and unimaginative. Come on, Vivian! You can think up something more creative and tasty than this pot of floating grease.

On the other hand, who would've known how good fried oysters could be on a hamburger! The "Surf & Turf Burger" was very tasty, I encourage you to try it if you're an adventurous sort. Just be sure to check with your server before ordering, since the restaurant will put breaded shrimp on the burger when oysters are out-of-season.

The Banana Pudding was quite good, they do serve it warm and it is VERY sweet. Splitting one with your table mates should turn out just right for you.

Overall, a nice casual dining experience. We will definitely visit again.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bunky1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Service Slipping”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

I have eaten here several times in the last six months, but have recently noticed service is slipping. The staff seems increasingly disorganized and distracted, I even saw a staff member who was working the bar, turn she back on customers who wanted to order so she could Facebook/Text for several minutes. Wait times have increased, and several items on the menu just aren't up to par- including the Shrimp Burger. I love this restaurant and hope with proper training and supervision they can get back on track.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ThomasMerton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinston, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Burgers & Oysters, Oh My!”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

One of the best burgers I have ever had. I think they must make them like you make them on your BBQ in the backyard on Memorial Day weekend. I don't like oysters...but if you like burgers, don't miss this place!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank secondbsmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boiler Room Oyster Bar also viewed

Kinston, North Carolina Coast
Kinston, North Carolina Coast
 
Kinston, North Carolina Coast
Kinston, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to The Boiler Room Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing