We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for a place to stay with no frills”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Kinston
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Kinston
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“OK for a place to stay with no frills”
Reviewed January 4, 2011

this hotel and will do if you are looking a place to stay. It's clean, safe , and in a accessible location. You will not leave thinking how great it was but that may have something to do with the small town not having a beach or driving attraction. If you can catch the local baseball team The Kinston Indians, that is fun. The BEST restaurant BY FAR HANDS DOWN is The Chef and The Farmer.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kjzv237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    156
    56
    22
    12
See reviews for
147
105
29
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2010

Kinston seems to be a little bit of a run-down town, and unfortunately this hotel fits in. While it was relatively clean, there were a lot of small things that needed fixing or updating. The rooms seemed dated, and gave off a depressing vibe. The gym was pitiful. There was one treadmill, which looked to be circa 1985, and it was broken when I was there - it wouldn't go above 2 mph. On the plus side, the breakfast was very good, and all of the staff were very friendly and helpful.
If you have to stay locally, there is nothing horribly wrong with this location. However, the Hampton in Greenville is only 30 minutes away, and is far nicer.

Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank enicideme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 19, 2010

I chose this Hampton Inn because I was going to Jacksonville with a friend and this was the only Hilton property that was close to Jacksonville without having to go out of the way. After we had been in the room for about 5 minutes, I discovered a cockroach. I informed the front desk lady who looked at me as if it was not a big deal. Once we got back to the room, the heat had died. Again, I informed the front desk (same lady) and she looked at me like it wasn't a problem. Not once did she say "I'm sorry" or anything. As a representative of the hotel, she should have at least offered an apology. So we slept in a room with no heat all night. The next morning, we were woken up early by Housekeeping making a ton of noise outside of our room. There were a few other nit picky things, but these were the main ones. I'll go out of my way next time!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justravelin34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JustFred1974, Director of Revenue & QA at Hampton Inn Kinston, responded to this review, November 24, 2010
Thank you for having chosen our Hampton Inn in Kinston NC; we appreciate your business. We apologize for any short fall in service you may have received during your stay. Your comments have been shared with the staff to ensure the level of service we provide remains the best in Kinston and surrounding vicinities. As you can see from previous reviews, we work diligently every day to ensure all of our guests receive the best hotel experience while in Kinston. We hope you give us another opportunity in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, nc
1 review
Reviewed November 4, 2010

After staying at the Extended Stay aka Homeless Shelter in Jacksonville, NC the week before, I was very skeptical of staying at another hotel. I must say that I was very pleasantly surprised with the overall cleanliness of the outside and lobby area of hotel, as well as the rooms. When I opened my room, it was like a breath of fresh air. The room was very, very clean -- no smell. The bed was so comfortable that I did not want to get up the next morning; however, I checked out early due to travel. The reservationist, Heather was very kind and polite and assisted me with directions. The only thing that I can say is "I will be back." Very, very nice. Thank you for the pleasant stay!

Ms. Charlotte, NC

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kinston123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Signal Mountain, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
381 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2010

This is a typical Hampton Inn, which is to say it is a dependable mid-priced night's stay. All facilities are well maintained, price is fair, if not a bargain, staff is very responsive; location out on the by-pass lacks charm but is convenient.

If you like Hampton brand, you'll like the Kinston edition.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waldentenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JustFred1974, Director of Revenue & QA at Hampton Inn Kinston, responded to this review, May 18, 2010
Thank you for having chosen our Hampton Inn during your stay in Kinston NC; we appreciate your business. Furthremore, we thank you for your comments; which we have shared with the staff. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2010

This was a decent place to stay, it was a good value. There was a large variety for the free breakfast (not the usual continental style). My room had a microwave and mini refrigerator; however, the compressor belt was squeaky on the refrigerator so I unplugged it considering I was not using it. The staff was friendly and helpful with directions. I would recommend this hotel for Kinston. IF USING GPS use 200 New Burn Rd for the location, their listed address will take you about 7 miles away.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank dpatterson20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JustFred1974, Director of Revenue & QA at Hampton Inn Kinston, responded to this review, May 7, 2010
Thank you for having chosen our Hampton Inn in Kinston NC; we appreciate your business. Our staff works diligently every day to ensure you enjoy a great hotel experience. We appreciate your comments as they will help us improve on our products and services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2009

We stayed here on a whim, as we were going to a Salem Red Sox game in Kinston vs the Indians. It was one of the nicest days we had on our road trip! The hotel staff were outstanding, always friendly, and making you feel at home. The room was just right, the pool was fine, breakfast great...just a nice stay!
I'd suggest driving down the road a bit to go to King's for some great Carolina bbq-get a pig in a pup-bbq pork/cole slaw in a hush puppy-I could go for one right now!!!
My only concern was a sign at the desk posted by the police requesting guests not leave valuable out in their cars as there had been break-ins in Kinston. I assumed this was downtown, but after seeing that and having out of state plates, I was nervous, but by the time I left I felt completely safe and comfortable and had a great time here!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terrenski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinston
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kinston
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#3 of 7 in Kinston
58 reviews
22.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Goldsboro
Hampton Inn Goldsboro
#1 of 11 in Goldsboro
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Goldsboro
24.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Goldsboro
22.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Goldsboro - Base Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Kinston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Kinston

Property: Hampton Inn Kinston
Address: 1382 Hwy 258 S, Kinston, NC 28504-5388
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Kinston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Kinston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Kinston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Kinston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Kinston Hotel Kinston
Kinston Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing