We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crowded but clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Kinston
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Kinston
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, MA
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Crowded but clean”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Hampton Inn was the recommended lodging for a recent class reunion. The hotel and staff were up to Hampton standards, but the crowded common spaces were a bit unusual. Some groups appeared to take over the common spaces, which made them less useful to guests not in the group.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Malchus W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    156
    56
    24
    12
See reviews for
149
106
29
153
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

As other reviewers have noted, this was originally designed to be a different hotel. The lobby is much, much larger than typical. The rooms are big and the beds very comfortable. The breakfast was very good. We also appreciated the great cookies at check-in and the free coconut cake at night (dessert reception). However, we did have two minor annoyances. First, our thermostat went on the fritz. Despite being set at 68, our room warmed up to 76 during the night until we were able to reset it and get it cooling off again. Second, our toilet tended to run constantly.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zautman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014

I stayed here for a business trip and was immediately greeted by a friendly front desk clerk who even though was overwhelmed helped answer my question. My room was on the 4th floor and when entering looked to my left to see a tiny bathroom. I am a very thin build and struggled maneuvering around, in fact it was so narrow the towel/mat i put on the floor wouldn't allow me to shut the door. There wasn't a place to hold my towels so after using it once I unfortunately had to toss it on the floor.
The bath amenities such as shampoo and lotion was surprisingly decent brand I actually used theirs (versus using my own). I felt the bathtub could be maintained better because it was moldy and rusted but the water pressure was fine.
The bed was far too soft, once you sat on it, it sunk down but the sheets were clean. I appreciated the many TV channels the hotel carried and the outlets were easily accessed on the desk for me to plug in my laptop and 2 cell phones.
The next morning I went down to Hardee's for breakfast (which is a few 100 ft away) not realizing there was a breakfast bar. I stopped in afterwards and was impressed with their selection. If you stay here make sure to just grab the complimentary breakfast. Their coffee was amazingly good and had 4 choices of coffee and creamer. When the first time i stepped in to the last person i saw, the hotel staff was super nice and friendly. If you have to stay in Kinston i'd just stay here since I didn't see another hotel around.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank place-name-here
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Check-in person was really welcoming and personable. Excellent breakfast with a wide variety of very good choices. The room was very quiet and the inn is in a great location. We were very pleased; we rate this as one of the better Hamptons we have used.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank 2_for_travel_go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Whether you are military, a tourist or on vacation, the Kinston Hampton Inn is a high quality, high value, customer oriented stopover. We had driven from the DC area and were too tired to finish our trip to the beaches so checked in late at night. The breakfast buffet has lots of variety and the staff are great.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Irene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2014

I found this hotel by mistake and was too tired to look further. I was extremely surprised when I stepped inside. The place was amazing. Clean and fresh. Friendly and helpful staff. Room was perfect. Air conditioner quiet. Laundry room amazing. I was offered an honors membership which I took advantage of. The best part of finding this amazing place is that there are NO PETS and NO SMOKING in any Hilton properties. I will never stay anywhere else but a Hilton property again. I do travel a lot and have stayed in many places. This experience has renewed my faith in the hotel business. Thanks! Keep up the great work!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Joanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinston, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Our stay at the Hampton Inn in Kinston, North Carolina was for the purpose of a Family Reunion. The staff was very courteous and kind and we did not experience any problems. From the Front Desk Clerk to the Janitorial Staff, everyone was very accommodating to ensure we had a good stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Claudine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinston
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kinston
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#3 of 7 in Kinston
58 reviews
22.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Goldsboro
Hampton Inn Goldsboro
#1 of 11 in Goldsboro
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Goldsboro
24.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Goldsboro
22.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Goldsboro - Base Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Kinston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Kinston

Property: Hampton Inn Kinston
Address: 1382 Hwy 258 S, Kinston, NC 28504-5388
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Kinston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Kinston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Kinston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Kinston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Kinston Hotel Kinston
Kinston Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing