We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and renovated, but...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Kinston
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kinston
Oriental, North Carolina
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Clean and renovated, but...”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

I am sure this Hampton has has a recent makeover making it very nice and clean. Although the tub/shower was new inside Rom 233 the bathroom door was peeling its veneer. The box springs of the bed were so soft that my wife and I almost hit the floor and we aren't that big. Not sure if they ever have changed out the mattresses either in their renovation. So, to be truthful, it is a clean hotel but with dilapidated beds. Perhaps it needs a little more attention to detail in the renovation. The included breakfast was delicious and the staff very helpful. It's location is fine for easy access to US 70 and Queen St (US 258) into Kinston.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Kinston, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Charles, I am pleased that your experience with the staff and breakfast was great. I am disappointed that your experience with maintenance condition of the bathroom door and box spring has fallen below our standards here at the Hampton Inn Kinston. My management staff and I would like to apologies and that we have addressed this issue within the room and conducting more maintenance inspections for all our guest rooms. Thank you again and hope you will consider the Hampton Inn Kinston on your next trip into the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    153
    53
    21
    9
See reviews for
142
99
29
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 4, 2013

This hotel was nice for the amount of money you are going to pay. The lobby was nice and clean. It had a great continental breakfast. The only problems were the bathroom was a little small. The tub had stains in it, and the shower head was about to fall out. Also, the closet was an old wooden sliding door. These are pretty much cosmetic issues, and I would recommend staying at this hotel if you were in the Kinston area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Kinston, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Jessica, I would like to offer my apologies that the condition of the bathroom tub had stains and the overall size of the bathroom is smaller. I have consulted with my Housekeeping Manager based on the cleanliness conditions and we have implemented a new inspection program to ensure that all future cleanliness condition will not be overlooked. Thank you for taking the time to let me know of your stay as this will allow me to conduct better inspections throughout the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
148 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

I stayed here for one night while traveling through eastern North Carolina on a trip to the beautiful outer banks. This is absolutely the best place to stay in this area. The other facilities, although a bit cheaper, are definitely not up to the standards of the Hampton Inn. If you are seeking a very nice, clean, comfortable friendly hotel....this is the place. No doubt about it.

The room was very clean, with all the great amenities you would expect at a Hampton. The facility itself was spacious, and contained nice extras including (but certainly not limited to) a fitness center and 24 hour coffee and tea. The lobby is very roomy for meetings or get-togethers. There is a nice breakfast area as well, with a wide array of complimentary offerings in the morning. If you are in a hurry, they offer a brown bag meal you can eat on the run (or while driving if you don't want to eat while running).

Every single staff member I came in contact with at this facility was extremely friendly. Great customer service skills! Keep up the good work. David at the front desk was especially helpful during check-in and check-out. Good job dude! I would definitely stay here again, and would recommend this very nice hotel to anyone seeking clean, friendly, comfortable accommodations.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheCosmicTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Kinston, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
My staff has expressed their appreciation to you for a great review and comments. We are always pleased to know that we have earned another loyal customer to the Hampton Inn Kinston. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Hotel was very clean, very nice staff, just has very lousy neighbors in regards to a club across the street that thinks the louder the bass is, the better. At 1:00 a.m. had a difficult time falling asleep from the loud music from the club across the street.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Bkgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Kinston, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
I would like to thank you for your review and comments concerning the club across the street. The loud music has been addressed with the local public safety and the club management. The club has taken additional measurements to ensure that our guests will not be disturbed in the future with the loud music. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Kinston as I know you will have a better nights sleep.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Awesome stay at this Hampton location and very professional staff on site. Me and my family will return to this hotel in the future; we also recommended several family and friends to stay there. They experience was the stay as ours; nothing but the best stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank SHELDON C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Kinston, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Awesome Review! Thanks for such a great survey and scores. The staff is always pleased to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay and with plans to return. Our guest’s comments regardless positive or negative keeps us motivate to work harder. We look forward to your next safe return to Kinston, NC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longwood
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Very friendly staff, from the reception desk people to the breakfast staff. We needed a cot for a 4th person in room, and it was delivered to our room immediately upon our arrival. Clean, comfortable, good temperature in room, excellent breakfast. Very nice stay, will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Kinston, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
I want to personally thank you for your kind words about our staff, and for the high ratings that you gave our property! I monitor every survey that is submitted about our hotel and it is always nice to see that our guests are enjoying their experience with us. Once again, thank you for taking the time to submit a review and we look forward to serving you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I had no idea this hotel was so nice. I usually stay at the Holiday Inn, but I have been dissatisfied with the condition of the rooms and hotel my past few visits, so I decided to stay at the Hampton Inn, and I'll be staying here from now on when I visit family in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Plamina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Kinston, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
I thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at our hotel. Your comment means a lot to us. We strive for this every day and it is nice to know we are succeeding. Again thank you for your feedback and for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinston
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 6 in Kinston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kinston
24.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Goldsboro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Goldsboro - Base Area
22.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Goldsboro
Hampton Inn Goldsboro
#1 of 11 in Goldsboro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
22.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Goldsboro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Kinston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Kinston

Property: Hampton Inn Kinston
Address: 1382 Hwy 258 S, Kinston, NC 28504-5388
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Kinston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kinston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Kinston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn Kinston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Kinston Hotel Kinston
Kinston Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing