We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but noisy from I-85”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Kings Mountain
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kings Mountain
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This is a very clean, updated Holiday Inn Express located right off the interstate. The rooms are large and have comfortable bedding, a refrigerator and microwave. The free breakfast is great with omelettes, cereal, sausage, bagels, etc. An excellent start to the day. The staff is very friendly and helpful. But ask for a room on the front side of the hotel, or you will be listening to trucks flying by all night. Very noisy and difficult to sleep. Otherwise, I was very pleased with this hotel.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms are on the front of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GynoDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 91 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2013

This was a clean and spacious room. Enjoyed the quiet after a long day on the road. King bed was very comfortable. Staff was very friendly and breakfast was good. Typical HIE breakfast but was stocked well. Easy access off the highway.

Room Tip: We were on second floor facing away from highway and never heard anything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Couldn't have been easier to get back on the highway in the morning. Because it does back up to the interstate, it's very noisy in the pool area, but the noise is masked by the A/C in a back side room, so it's OK.

The granite updates are actually almost too much, e.g., in the shower, but things were in good shape. For some reason, though, the HIE desk chairs always seem to suffer a bit and the one in our room could stand to be straightened and cleaned, or replace. But the lighting was good and the lounge chair in the room comfortable, as was the bed.

The morning buffet was fine, and the night clerk very accommodating when the coffee ran out. So the motel is fine for an overnight stop in the area, and the personnel are friendly. Not our favorite HIE, but that has more to do with property limitations than any shortcoming on the part of management.

Room Tip: Side away from I-85.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank willtravel12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Nice stay, good comfortable Hotel, wonderful friendly staff especially Jannice and Dana.
Both were very helpful suggesting great local places for dinner.
Breakfast in the hotel is very nice.
Thanks, Monica and Joe

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Pleasantly surprised with this hotel as we randomly chose it to stop over for the night. Staff was knowledgable of the area and recommended local eats. Room was perfect for our family of 4, sparkling clean. Great breakfast as well! Thank you.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amy Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Kings Mountain, NC on April 19, 2013. We have stayed here before and will continue in the future. The staff was very friendly upon check in and after we reached the room, a man who we had met in the hall and introduced himself as Luther, called on the phone and asked if everything was satisfactory. Turns out he was the general manager. He was not in an office but patrolling the corridors of his hotel to make sure everything was up to snuff. The room was very clean. The bathroom could have used a little more lighting (a peeve we have experienced at most other Holiday Inns). The standard breakfast had a good assortment of hot and colsd foods. The best quality of this hotel, for us, was that it had SMOKING ROOMS!. It was refreshing to sit in the room with a smoke rather than have to go in the hall, down three floors by elevator, and outside to a small smoking area that most other hotels offer. Smokers have rights, also. A certain number of rooms should be provided for smokers and the non smokers can stay in the non smoking rooms. This is truly ONE OF THE LAST FEW hotels with smoking rooms.

Room Tip: The hotel is not quite on an interstate so any room should offer sufficient rest and noise abatement...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank safetymaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel was very clean and the beds were comfortable! The woman at the front desk, Dana, was awesome. She was super friendly and helpful. The room was a little loud on the road side of the hotel but we used the fan and it was perfect.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
Thank cjnrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kings Mountain
9.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Shelby
11 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 15 in Gastonia
171 reviews
11 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Charlotte-Gastonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Best Western Gastonia
Best Western Gastonia
#5 of 15 in Gastonia
257 reviews
9.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Shelby, NC
10.9 mi away
Courtyard Charlotte Gastonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Kings Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Kings Mountain

Address: 100 Woodlake Pkwy, I-85 Exit #8, Kings Mountain, NC 28086-9225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Kings Mountain
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kings Mountain
Price Range: $107 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Kings Mountain 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Kings Mountain, North Carolina. The hotel provides a modern, fresh, clean and upscale atmosphere,with an excellent location and services that you need, like our new hot breakfast, free local calls and high speed Internet, and we offer it all for a great value.Nestled in the Rolling Piedmont of North Carolina Foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains, Cleveland County is the gateway between Asheville and Charlotte, North Carolina. Also, centered between two of the largest metropolitan areas of the Carolinas -Charlotte, North Carolina and Greenville/Spartanburg, South Carolina. Kings Mountain is a historically significant city, the site of a major Revolutionary War Battle in 1780. We are approximately 5 miles from Crowders Mountain State Park, 6 miles to Kings Mountain State Park, and 7 miles to Kings Mountain National Military Park. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- Kings Mountain is located off-I-85 Exit # 8, just thirty minutes from Charlotte, NC and forty-five minutes from Greenville/Spartanburg, SC. Our Hotel has gone through a complete renovation in 2008, designed to meet the needs of corporate, group and leisure travelersWe offer meeting facilities accommodating up to 75 persons, an executive board room accommodating up to 6 persons and a 24 hour per day business center with computer, printer and Internet access. Fax and copier services are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Kings Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Kings Mountain Hotel Kings Mountain
Holiday Inn Kings Mountain
Kings Mountain Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing