We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Kings Mountain
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kings Mountain
Murphy, North Carolina
Level Contributor
113 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great place to stay.”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Travelled here to attend a concert in nearby Shelby NC. Room had a king bed that was very comfortable. Check in and check out was fast. Breakfast was awesome. Scrambled eggs, hot cakes, hard boiled eggs. Dining area was serviced by staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SomedayIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    26
    14
    6
    4
See reviews for
23
12
10
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We reserved a non-smoking room. The entire floor REEKED OF CIGARETTE STINK. After running down the hall to try to escape the stench, all I wanted to do was go to sleep since we had been driving all day. I can't believe I am writing this but just as my head was about to hit the pillow, I found a dead bug right next to my pillow in bed. Gross!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chaulk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kings Mountain, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Chaulk,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am glad you liked our convenient location. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. I am sorry our hotel did not live up to your expectations and regret that you were not satisfied with the condition of the room you received. Though I would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, CA
Level Contributor
170 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We received a very friendly and helpful reception at the Holiday Inn Express in Kings Mountain. Our room was clean and comfortable. Our king bed had fresh, clean linens. The bathroom was clean, with modern fixtures that were clean and worked fine. The air conditioner was a bit noisy. We were in a non-smoking room, but the hallway had a stale, smokey smell in it.

Breakfast, included with the room, provided adequate caloric intake, but was not a reason to choose this hotel.

The property is adjacent to Interstate 85 so it is a couple of miles from the town of Kings Mountain proper. For dinner you have to drive there or settle for the fast food restaurant that is just across the freeway. It is a convenient place to stay for a visit to Kings Mountain National Military Park, which is just 8 miles away. That is why we stayed there and it was just find for that purpose.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
122 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

I stayed 2 nights in May, 2012 with my husband and Grandchild. Our spacious room was spotless and the beds very comfortable with luxury duvets, plush towels, coffee maker, microwave, fridge, roomy bathroom, flatscreen TV with current channel guide and lots of channels. The desk and WiFi got lots of use from all 3 of us. We also took advantage of the business center to use the hotel computer and printer. Breakfast was fresh, hot, quality food.
An attendant kept fresh pancakes, eggs, gravy, biscuits coming. Being two coffee connoisseurs we enjoyed the fresh hot Arabica coffee the hotel serves. The front desk staff
were all friendly and helpful. We come to this area often and will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Coin laundry near elevator on second floor. Vending machines near front desk on ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blonomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliso Viejo, Ca.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for one night in early May 2012. The hotel was in a good location right off the highway with easy access. My room was very clean and nicely furnished. The real star here though was the staff. Janice was very welcoming and gave helpful ideas for dinner.

The hotel was close to a couple of state parks that had lake and picnic access as well as hiking.

I would be happy to stay here again the next time I am in the area.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank DUpton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2012

My wife and i stayed here one night on our way home to NJ. Got a King Suite $104 AAA (Fridge, microwave, couch). Hotel was clean, room was fine, and lady who checked us in was very helpful. Only thing, try to get a room that faces the front of the hotel and not the back. Ours faced the back and you can really hear the I-85 traffic all night because you are pretty close. Other than that, a good place to spend a night while traveling.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We stay in HIE regularly and are pleasantly surprised with the consistency. However, this was probably the dirtiest one we've stayed in. After a long trip and a quick decision to stay overnight in the area, we went with HIE in Kings Mountain. There were stains on the bed, nightstand, phonecord, and desk. The carpet was coming up and the bathroom was not clean. There were no rooms available on the side away from the highway and it was noisy. We had to leave the AC on all night to try to drown out the noise. The front desk lady was very nice and pleasant. Since we hadn't planned on staying, but had a weather issue that prolonged our trip, we were not prepared with toiletrie, setc. They didn't have any toothpaste and the closest place to get anything was 13 miles away according to the front desk. Breakfast was standard. We are not picky travelers and typically LOVE HIE, but I would not stay at this HIE again.

Room Tip: Ask to be on the side away from the interstate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarac9978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kings Mountain
9.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Shelby
8.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Shelby
Comfort Inn Shelby
#6 of 8 in Shelby
37 reviews
10.9 mi away
Courtyard Charlotte Gastonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Charlotte-Gastonia
11.0 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#6 of 15 in Gastonia
146 reviews
9.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Shelby NC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Kings Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Kings Mountain

Property: Holiday Inn Express Kings Mountain
Address: 100 Woodlake Pkwy, I-85 Exit #8, Kings Mountain, NC 28086-9225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Kings Mountain
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kings Mountain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Kings Mountain 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Kings Mountain, North Carolina. The hotel provides a modern, fresh, clean and upscale atmosphere,with an excellent location and services that you need, like our new hot breakfast, free local calls and high speed Internet, and we offer it all for a great value.Nestled in the Rolling Piedmont of North Carolina Foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains, Cleveland County is the gateway between Asheville and Charlotte, North Carolina. Also, centered between two of the largest metropolitan areas of the Carolinas -Charlotte, North Carolina and Greenville/Spartanburg, South Carolina. Kings Mountain is a historically significant city, the site of a major Revolutionary War Battle in 1780. We are approximately 5 miles from Crowders Mountain State Park, 6 miles to Kings Mountain State Park, and 7 miles to Kings Mountain National Military Park. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- Kings Mountain is located off-I-85 Exit # 8, just thirty minutes from Charlotte, NC and forty-five minutes from Greenville/Spartanburg, SC. Our Hotel has gone through a complete renovation in 2008, designed to meet the needs of corporate, group and leisure travelersWe offer meeting facilities accommodating up to 75 persons, an executive board room accommodating up to 6 persons and a 24 hour per day business center with computer, printer and Internet access. Fax and copier services are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Kings Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Kings Mountain Hotel Kings Mountain
Holiday Inn Kings Mountain
Kings Mountain Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing