We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BUGS, BUGS, BUGS! No refund for day I did not stay!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Super 8 Kings Mountain

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Super 8 Kings Mountain
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Kings Mountain
Beaver Falls
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“BUGS, BUGS, BUGS! No refund for day I did not stay!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Would not recommend this place to any one! Bugs in room and went to front desk and asked them to come to my room so I could show them! paid for 5 days and left in four would not refund me my money for fifth day! Nasty place! Any one going to Kings Mountain for training, STAY AWAY!,,,

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
3 Thank Seana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tushar6391, General Manager at Super 8 Kings Mountain, responded to this review, October 8, 2014
Dear Seana

I am sorry that we did not meet your standards on your most recent stay with us. It is our job to provide a clean and comfortable room and we did not fulfill our end of the deal. I personally would like to apologize on behalf of Super 8 Kings Mountain, and assure you that the issues you have mentioned in your review have been addressed so that our future guests do not encounter the same issues. Thank you for letting us know where we need improvement. We hope that you give us a chance to earn your business in the future.

TM,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    23
    26
    27
    43
See reviews for
30
21
14
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

The photos on the website are professional images that make the motel look like new. They are NOT recent photos, and they DO NOT accurately represent what you will see IF you book a room.

In general, this is much older and very tired and worn motel…. the carpeting was shabby in both the hallways and the rooms, the paint was peeling and flaking. The swimming pool is collapsed and filled with dirty water, collapsed walls, buckets and construction debris.

In all of the room photos posted on their website, you will note flat screen TVs. In reality if you book a room you will find bulky old TVs. The flat panel brackets that held the new TVs are still attached to the wall, but the flat panels are long gone and the big old clunky TV sits on the counter.

This was a four night stay on a business trip. We specifically booked a first floor, king bed non-smoking room. When we arrived the room was not available, so we were checked into a double on the second floor. The elevator did not work so we humped up the stairs. The first room on the second floor was pretty poor, not very clean, broken non-working lights, dated and worn at best rating a D-.

We were informed a first floor king bed non-smoking would be available the next day, so we moved out of the first room (down the stairs again)…note the elevator out of service sign was well worn and had obviously been there a long time, so the elevator had been out of service for quite awhile.

All soda and snack machines were empty and labeled with ‘tattered very old’ “out of service signs”. When we attempted to check into the room the next night, we were told that it was unavailable. When asked for an explanation we were told “the room transfer simply did not happen”. So a new room on the 1st floor….definitely cleaner, and a little better than the 1st….up to a rating of C-. Cleaner but with broken stuff and definite wear (neither room had a functional clock). So after checking into the second room I went to take a shower and…. ‘no hot water’. Yep read that again…. NO HOT WATER. Simply unacceptable to have a hotel room with no hot water, so no shower or cold shower after working out in the NC heat on their hottest day of the year.

The next night at least we are in the same room but…….that was also the night the motorcycle gang checked in. Not just Honda, Harley or BMW riders. Real to life crusty rough looking gang members wearing black leather with gang name and colors. Gang members riding around wearing handkerchiefs across their faces like old time western bank robbers. Gang members toting in cases of beer, revving loud motorcycle engines and doing burnouts late into the night in the parking lot. Gang members in groups with their hard looking women toting in cases of beer, banging on doors, and raising a ruckus all hours of the night.

The breakfast was very limited and not many options. The breakfast we encountered did NOT look anything like the pictures on the Super 8 King’s Mountain website. NOT EVEN CLOSE! Out of all the hotels and motels we have stayed in this Super 8 Kings Mountain NC 28086 was NOT SUPER at all. The lobby picture is definitely the nicest….would that we could have slept there, cuz the room don’t look half as nice in person.

Called twice to speak with ‘Mike’ the manager and neither time was he available, nor did he return my calls.

The one bright spot of our 4 day stay at the King’s Mountain Super 8 was Susanna. She was polite, courteous and attentive trying very hard to do her best under what were very challenging conditions. In my honest opinion it is a sad situation of good people laboring under poor management in a run down Super 8 that I would NOT recommend to my worst enemy to stay in. Definitely not SUPER!

Room Tip: To get a good room DO NOT stay at the Super 8 King's Mountain....Stay at the Super 8 in nearby S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ConstantTraveler032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarB5, General Manager at Super 8 Kings Mountain, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
I sincerely apologize for your inconveniences. I am thankful for your review and we have taken strides to improve the property. We would love to welcome you back and show you the changes we are making.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kings Mountain hotels

Burlington, North Carolina, Usa
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Older motel, carpeting needs replacing. It was quiet and very convenient to my destination. For the price it was a good four night stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Walter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarB5, General Manager at Super 8 Kings Mountain, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate our guest feedback. I look forward to hosting you again!

Marwyn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kings Mountain
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Kings Mountain
11.0 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Charlotte Shelby
11.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Gastonia
BEST WESTERN Gastonia
#5 of 15 in Gastonia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#6 of 15 in Gastonia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
16.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Charlotte - Belmont at Montcross
23.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Gaffney
Red Roof Inn Gaffney
#3 of 8 in Gaffney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Kings Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Kings Mountain

Property: Super 8 Kings Mountain
Address: 106 Holiday Inn Dr, Kings Mountain, NC 28086-3688
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Kings Mountain
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Kings Mountain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Kings Mountain 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the feeling of family at the Super 8 Kings Mountain. Located within the Charlotte, NC, metropolitan area, our hotel staff strives to create a unique guest experience that meets your individual needs. Our convenient location on I-85 just 30 minutes from Charlotte Douglas International Airport makes getting to Kings Mountain a breeze. Once you arrive, enjoy free continental breakfast or catch up on email using free Wi-Fi throughout our hotel. If you happen to be in Kings Mountain for business, we feature a business center with copy and fax service as well as a meeting room to allow you to keep up with your tasks. Our hotel allows pets for a small fee, while conveniences such as a microwave and mini-refrigerator in every room make being on the road feel more like home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Super 8 Kings Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Mountain Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing