We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (576)
Filter reviews
576 results
Traveler rating
163
170
131
56
56
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
163
170
131
56
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the outer banks room was clean nice deck yogurt lobby area front desk staff hot breakfast free breakfast would stay here again off season an older hotel stayed two nights beach front fridge and microwave beach access nags head ocean
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 576 reviews
Reviewed May 5, 2019

We were exploring the Outer Banks for a few days, and wanted a place near the beach, to come back to. Important point to know - this place caters to, or is used a lot by large school groups. We were never bothered by the kids, and luckily they have a large room just for them to have breakfast. Even with making a reservation, the last room that was available on the ocean side was an "01", meaning right by the stairwell where the beach access was. Amazingly, we were seldom able to hear anything from this. Also, it was interesting, as someone else noted, that the bathroom fan runs constantly. This actually provides a good white noise effect.

Everything was clean; water pressure was good and there was plenty of hot water; AC in the room worked well; breakfast has real eggs and bacon, as they have an actual kitchen. The layout of the property is interesting, in that the front common area appears newer and is very spacious, then connects with the room portion by a low stairway. This might be difficult to access by someone with mobility problems or a lot of luggage.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2019

My husband and I stayed here 4/19 and 4/20. It was a bit pricey, but, we did decide to go there at the last minute. We all know, the earlier you can book, the better. We were greeted by Darlene at the front desk. She was fun, animated, and made us feel right at home. Great first impression. She gave us a decent room with a magnificent view. Zero complaints with her. The entrance to the hotel was clean
Our room was small, but adequate. The view, magnificent. The only complaint I have about the room was apparently the a/c filters hadnt been cleaned, because my dust mite allergy kicked in after the first night. The room was clean. The windows could have been a bit cleaner, but it is the oceanfront.
The bartender at the hotel was great. An older gentleman named Joe. The bar, left a little to be desired. Joe couldn't make a couple of drinks, as he didn't have the ingredients, but he made up for it in personality.
The free breakfast was decent, hot things were hot, cold things were cold, everything clean and neat.
The elevators were a bit strange....Oceanfront access was good. Overall, decent. A couple of standout people, but not a lot standing out as far as the hotel.
Location was good. I would have preferred to be closer to more of the restaurants along the beach road, but again, my fault for not booking somewhere else sooner.
Would I stay there again, probably not. Not in the warmer months anyway. Over priced, for what you get. You're paying for the view.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susanhaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2019 via mobile

This is a perfect spot! Located in the center of everything, the ocean view room was amazing! The room was clean and the staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. I will definitely be back in the future.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Valeriesm207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2019

Great place to stay! Friendly staff too. Has a nice bar to relax in as well as a hot breakfast in the morning. Room was good and clean. A couple steps out the door and you are on the beach! Relaxing out by the beach gazebo is a must.

Date of stay: April 2019
Thank Camper595074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2019 via mobile

The staff was very accommodating. However a bus load of teenagers arrived and they were assigned rooms near mine. They were screaming on their balconies and stomping around above me. If you are looking for a quiet vacation without noise look elsewhere.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenni S, General Manager at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2019

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We apologize your stay was less than superior. This is the time of year on the OBX that students take field trips to our area because of the history we have here. This is not only at our hotel, but most all hotels on the Outer Banks have student groups this time of year. The students do have chaperones as well as security and we are more than happy to address any issues when they are brought to our attention. We hope you do not let this keep you from coming back to stay with us so we can make sure you have a wonderful stay. Thank you again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews