We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Reviewed May 1, 2010

i've stayed in a few bad motels in my travels; but this one is the worst one ever! from the bad attitude at the front desk to the doors not closing properly. did i mention no one to help with luggage....left after one nite. avoid this one at all costs!!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank doc_roberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (491)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

472 - 478 of 491 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2010

This place is just terrible. It was so bad we had to leave the place after a day and go somewhere else. We were allured by the location, but once inside of this excuse for a hotel we were immediately disappointed (and a tad scared, I might add). It didn't feel clean, the walls were paper thin (our amorous neighbors were a fantastic added touch), the beds were in bad shape and everything was completely worn down (including the locks on the doors). I am not a snooty traveler by any stretch, but this was more than I could take. I wish they'd fix the place up because it really has potential due to the beautiful location. Oh, and lastly, I wrote Comfort Inn a letter and there wasn't even an attempt at an apology or incentive to stay at their other hotels. Since then, Comfort Inn will never be an option no matter how desperate we may be!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jpug2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2010

The room we stayed in needs a lot of updating and repair. There was an outlet hanging out of the wall (it was behind the bed), the bathroom looked terrible with messy caulk all over the place, and there were holes in the drapes.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AlbertBloomsburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2010

Stayed here for a romantic couple of days at the beginning of 2010. Hade an oceanfront room on the 3rd floor. Reception was polite and handled professionally. Elevator is small but quick. Room had a king bed, microwave, coffemaker and TV. Absolutely breathtaking view. We could hear the waves which is really nice. Heater worked great. Door to the balcony was really weather-beaten and was difficult to lock due to corrison and rust. Morning breakfast was typical Comfort Inn fare. Really great location if you want to go the Wright Memorial. Centrally located to most all things. Only 2 blocks to bypass road (MP 9.5). I thought the rate of $79 was very reasonable for oceanfront.
Clearly, the motel needs an infusion of money to update some things but it is what it is - a Comfort Inn on the ocean.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveler38richmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2009

We stayed at this hotel as part of a weekend retreat for crafters. The conference room we were given was very nice. Large enough, brightly lit, etc. The bar area & restaurant were nice. Lots of seating in the lobby to have a cocktail & socialize. David, in the restaurant, seemed to be there through breakfast, lunch & dinner. Lots of hours! But he was always very helpful & pleasant. Front desk staff were helpful & pleasant in most cases.
The rest of the hotel is a complete disaster. Starting with the restrooms near the front desk. An employee of the hotel was constantly smoking in the ladies room despite "no smoking" signs. These were the restrooms closest to the conference room so unless we went upstairsto our rooms we had to tolerate the smoke in such a confined space.
My room appeared to be clean at first glance however upon closer inspection was really quite disgusting. The coffee maker had probably never been cleaned. The reservoiur where you would normally fill with water had approx. 1.5 inches of water still in it, with slimy, swill-looking things floating in it. The mini-fridge was barely cold. We had to put things in the little freezer unit just to keep them cold.
The towels that were hanging in the bathroom were FULL of hair. Not like something that was overlooked in the folding process but as if the towels were growing hair! Completely disgusting! The toilet appeared as if it had not ever been cleaned. I had no choice but to use antibacterial wipes and clean it myself. Gross! Then, the toilet overflowed when flushed (the toilet flushed just fine but during the refill process would not stop filling, causing it to overflow). I had to turn off the water at the base of the toilet and all spare towels had to be put on the floor. This was around midnight on the first night. Elected to wait until morning to discuss with front desk. When I approached the front desk with the hairy towels and explained the toilet situation I basically recieved an unenthusiastic "sorry about that". Found it odd that a housekeeper was standing at the front desk eating breakfast and basically was not shocked at the towles, as if that is standard practice. "Hang dirty towels and hope the guest doesn't realize it".
The bed was rock hard but the pillows were comfortable. A/C was very, very noisy. Overall the bathroom was not clean. Two nights was enough to know I will not stay here next year when the event occurs again. Too difficult to sleep in such a filthy room! If the price it right for you just to be sure to bring your own cleaning supplies.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mom2sonsinVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2009

Price was average for the area, hotel was not. The place is in bad shape, it really needs work. The sheets were stained in our room. There was black mold all around the tub. The lamp shade looked like some one had poored coffee over it a year ago. The door to the room had to be slammed to close and got hung when trying to get back in. The air conditioner was so loud you could not hear the tv and when I shook it to see if it would quite down it almost came out of the wall. The elevator was so slow you could out walk it on the stairs and it made horrible noises that made you fear it would fall. The internet did not work the entire time we were there. The lobby is nice and has a nice long and the beach view is great but that does not make up for the poor condition the hotel is in. The staff was friendly and tried, but they can only work with what they are givin. Stay some where else. Worst hotel I have stayed in.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ATLFalcon36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2009

They are very strict to the 4 p.m. check-in, so don't arrive any earlier. After we did check-in our room was right next to the elevator and believe me that is all you could hear all night long! The elevator going up and down. The sheets were dirty (sand all through them) and the bathroom was disgusting. I would never stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank enchanted234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,192 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
901 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
2,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
7.1 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
7.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn On The Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn On The Ocean

Address: 1601 S Virginia Dare Trl, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7754
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range: $59 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Inn On The Ocean 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn On The Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn On The Ocean Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Clarion On The Ocean
Clarion Kill Devil Hills
Comfort Inn On The Ocean Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing