We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$213
$195
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 07/25
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Outer Banks Inn(Kill Devil Hills)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shutters On the Banks(Kill Devil Hills)(Great Value!)
$224
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 07/25
Book now, pay at stay
$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 07/26
Book now, pay at stay
$250
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 07/26
$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Driftin' Sands Motel(Kill Devil Hills)
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Sea Ranch Resort(Kill Devil Hills)(Great Value!)
$281
$208
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (525)
Filter reviews
525 results
Traveler rating
139
155
123
55
53
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
139
155
123
55
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe outer banksyogurtroom was cleannice decklobby areaa pet friendly hotelfree breakfastoff seasonwould stay here againan older hotelbeach frontfridge and microwavebeach accessnags headoceanlesliedog
Filter
Updating list...
508 - 513 of 525 reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2009

We stayed at this hotel as part of a weekend retreat for crafters. The conference room we were given was very nice. Large enough, brightly lit, etc. The bar area & restaurant were nice. Lots of seating in the lobby to have a cocktail & socialize. David, in the restaurant, seemed to be there through breakfast, lunch & dinner. Lots of hours! But he was always very helpful & pleasant. Front desk staff were helpful & pleasant in most cases.
The rest of the hotel is a complete disaster. Starting with the restrooms near the front desk. An employee of the hotel was constantly smoking in the ladies room despite "no smoking" signs. These were the restrooms closest to the conference room so unless we went upstairsto our rooms we had to tolerate the smoke in such a confined space.
My room appeared to be clean at first glance however upon closer inspection was really quite disgusting. The coffee maker had probably never been cleaned. The reservoiur where you would normally fill with water had approx. 1.5 inches of water still in it, with slimy, swill-looking things floating in it. The mini-fridge was barely cold. We had to put things in the little freezer unit just to keep them cold.
The towels that were hanging in the bathroom were FULL of hair. Not like something that was overlooked in the folding process but as if the towels were growing hair! Completely disgusting! The toilet appeared as if it had not ever been cleaned. I had no choice but to use antibacterial wipes and clean it myself. Gross! Then, the toilet overflowed when flushed (the toilet flushed just fine but during the refill process would not stop filling, causing it to overflow). I had to turn off the water at the base of the toilet and all spare towels had to be put on the floor. This was around midnight on the first night. Elected to wait until morning to discuss with front desk. When I approached the front desk with the hairy towels and explained the toilet situation I basically recieved an unenthusiastic "sorry about that". Found it odd that a housekeeper was standing at the front desk eating breakfast and basically was not shocked at the towles, as if that is standard practice. "Hang dirty towels and hope the guest doesn't realize it".
The bed was rock hard but the pillows were comfortable. A/C was very, very noisy. Overall the bathroom was not clean. Two nights was enough to know I will not stay here next year when the event occurs again. Too difficult to sleep in such a filthy room! If the price it right for you just to be sure to bring your own cleaning supplies.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mom2sonsinVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2009

Price was average for the area, hotel was not. The place is in bad shape, it really needs work. The sheets were stained in our room. There was black mold all around the tub. The lamp shade looked like some one had poored coffee over it a year ago. The door to the room had to be slammed to close and got hung when trying to get back in. The air conditioner was so loud you could not hear the tv and when I shook it to see if it would quite down it almost came out of the wall. The elevator was so slow you could out walk it on the stairs and it made horrible noises that made you fear it would fall. The internet did not work the entire time we were there. The lobby is nice and has a nice long and the beach view is great but that does not make up for the poor condition the hotel is in. The staff was friendly and tried, but they can only work with what they are givin. Stay some where else. Worst hotel I have stayed in.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ATLFalcon36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2009

They are very strict to the 4 p.m. check-in, so don't arrive any earlier. After we did check-in our room was right next to the elevator and believe me that is all you could hear all night long! The elevator going up and down. The sheets were dirty (sand all through them) and the bathroom was disgusting. I would never stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank enchanted234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2009

Stayed there while trekking with family to Outer Banks. Location is good-on ocean and close to Wright Brothers memorial. Ramp to elevator should be avoided if you have a heavy luggage cart as we did. Rooms are in ok condition but noise does creep in from the hall and outside. Breakfast area was ok with some good selection of cereals and bagels. Overall not bad but wouldn't stay again or reccomend to my friends

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phinskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2009

We stayed for 5 days and 4 nights in a King Size, Dune view, 1st level, pet friendly room. As we arrived at 10am, and check in is not until 4pm, we happily relaxed and waited at the beach until our room was ready. The front desk staff were very nice and asked for my cellular phone number and promptly called us at about 2 pm ,when our room was ready, so we could check in and be more comfortable.

The hotel is pretty average; a standard beach hotel. Don't expect a Park Hyatt or a Ritz-Carlton, I mean it is a - Comfort Inn - after all. But in all fairness the decor is nice, neat and proper. The pool seemed adequate, though we did not spend any time at all there when you have a beautiful beach and ocean in your backyard. Parking is free and plentiful. Complimentary breakfast is nice to have, and the food is fresh and adequate. We recommend Miller's across the street from the hotel, for breakfast, and I am sure for dinner too, though we never had dinner there. But the breakfast, if you want to eat in or take out and eat at the beach, is very good.

The room was spacious and the bed comfortable and adequate. Nice to have a fridge, coffee maker (though the coffee is more like watered down tea), and a small microwave. They did not have towels in the bathroom for us when we checked in, so was the room really ready and made up?? hmm... No worries though, one of the housekeeping ladies kindly got us a full set within a couple of minutes.
The room was also supposed to be "Non-Smoking" but unfortunately it reeked of cigarette smoke smell. It also had an awful mildew smell. The odor in the room was so bad that we had to purchase a pet-safe can of Febreeze air freshener and sprayed the hell out of the room trying to conceal the smell and bad odor.

On our second day we went out back to the beach. It is nice to have a beach access door in the back of the room/patio. This way you are literally steps away from the sea. Before leaving the room, around 10 am, we removed the "Do Not Disturb" sign from the door knob, for obvious reasons (umm... Please make up the room?). And on our way out, we even mentioned to one of the housekeeping ladies, that we were leaving for the day, along with our small dog and that the room was empty and ready for cleaning. She agreed and said it would be taken care of. At the end of a long, sandy, sunny, sea-salty day we returned to our room, only to find it as intact as when we left it. Clearly no housekeeping staff had stepped foot into the room. I immediately went to the front desk to mention this lack of service and they apologized profusely, though made it clear that at this time (7pm) there were no housekeeping staff available to make and clean the room. At the very least we were given a full set of clean towels and further apologies and promises that the room would be taken care of the following day. Anyhow, things happen, and people make mistakes, but this is the hospitality industry after all, so there should be more quality control - but then again, as I mentioned earlier - this is a Comfort Inn.

The rest of our stay was uneventful.

Overall, this hotel was ok and acceptable, the staff were nice and always willing to help and satisfy their guests. Would have no problem staying there again, hopefully at a less smelly room next time, though we would love to try a condo/house rental one day.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Surmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews