We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Seems a bit overpriced but overall a great first stay in the obx” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn On The Ocean

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Seems a bit overpriced but overall a great first stay in the obx”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2014

We stayed for 6 nights and 1800 seems a bit pricey but comparable for the area I guess. The first night we arrived around 11:30 and the older lady at the front desk was down right ignorant. We came down and asked for some coffee and she said isn't there any in your room we replied we drank it and she threw two packs of coffee at me (not exaggerating ) we were also told we had queen size beds and they are very all doubles. Aside from that the continental breakfast is the best I've ever had. And absolutely love the deck and gazebo overlooking the beach. The housekeeping staff is top notch ( our reg was Tammy and I wish I could take her home with me. What a sweetheart) not uncommon to see these ladies working well into late afternoon.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taranbobbyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    131
    100
    48
    46
See reviews for
151
187
13
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Bellwood, PA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014

My husband and I stayed here several years ago and we decided to stay here again. It was one of the best prices then, and still one of the best prices now. We paid under $200/night for a newly renovated oceanfront room with hot breakfast, microwave, mini-fridge, great location, and free wi-fi. Of course there were some things that were a bit annoying like a balcony door that was difficult to open, a loud A/C unit, and lack of cellphone reception inside the building, but nothing out of the ordinary for the price. All staff were friendly and accommodating; not a single one was rude to us. Apparently the hotel is still undergoing renovations, but we didn't notice any construction while there. Overall, if you are looking for a decent mid-priced oceanfront hotel, this might be the place for you.

Room Tip: Second floor or higher if you want an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnebelleS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Va
Level Contributor
265 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014

Ok, I get it. I'm ocean front at OBX. But I paid over $300 for one night. I knew that since I booked online, but we wanted a one night getaway. Check in was a semi-friendly individual, I had to ask about internet and breakfast, that info wasn't provided. The room was ok, but very old and much in need of an update. Baseboards had chipping paint, a/c filters haven't been cleaned in quite some time, no vent in the bathroom. The balcony had chipped concrete right by the mounting post, and we were on the fourth floor. The bed was comfy though! Breakfast was ok in the morning. I doubt that I'd stay here again unless the price was reduced about 50%.

Room Tip: 2nd floor or higher, ocean side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 11Limited
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickNC416, General Manager at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We are sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your time with us. We are sorry that you had to ask about the complimentary breakfast and the WiFi. We have since spoken to all of our Front Desk staff to make sure that this information is passed to each guest. We hope that you decide to give us another opportunity to serve you on your next visit to The Outer Banks. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kill Devil Hills hotels

Staunton, Virginia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

We decided to spend almost a week at this hotel. Booked direct online. Arrived to semi-friendly staff, hotel lobby clean and inviting. Checked in and proceeded to our room. First thing wife wanted to do was to open up balcony door and look at the ocean views . She couldn't get door opened. After assisting her with the door we opened it up to an awesome ocean view. Looked at the balcony and it was not clean. An old cigar and 3 Mountain Dew cans. House keeping missed. Beds seemed ok and room clean. After a day we still had problems with balcony door and now had a problem with front door to room. Something electrical and a very loose handle. It wouldn't let us get access every time we swiped card. We made the front desk aware of issues with both doors on tues am. Didn't hear anything else, so we finally went down on wed to a different girl and explained issue. She Didn't apologize but said she would get maintenance dept on it ASAP . I Left and came back a while later, asked front desk on way in if room was fixed ? They said it was. Went up to room, now could not get access at all. Went back down and she said yes. I need a new card because they reset door . Great. Why didn't they tell me this when I passed the desk the first time. Finally got into our room, and the balcony door was not fixed at all. Never was for the 5 nights we stayed. During the stay we noticed mold on the bathroom ceiling, probably due to no ventilation units in bath, so it made the bathroom very hot and humid most of the time. During the stay house keepers never cleaned off balcony or old soda cans from last visitor. Beds were ok and room was generally clean. Front door was also very rusty and hard to close, we had to slam it every time we came into the room . The breakfast Buffett was very good and we were happy about that, they had eggs, bacon and sausage plus waffles and a lot of other items.Overall not the best experience for the price you pay.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Vafam4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickNC416, General Manager at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We apologize for the issues that you encountered with the doors to your room. Our Chief Engineer has since looked into the problem with the handles and has fixed them. We also apologize for the issues you had with housekeeping. It is certainly not normal for these things to happen. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast. We all hope that you will decide to stay with us again on your next trip to The Outer Banks and provide us with another opportunity to serve you. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

This comfort Inn is located on the beach, with beach facing rooms.
I was treat like a guest by the staff. Jennifer on the front desk is professional, friendly and caring. This applies to the staff as well.
The breakfast is very good. Good hot food selection of bacon, sausage, eggs, grits and waffles. Lots of fresh fruit and other choies.
The wi -fi works very well if you need this.
The rooms are newly updated, except the beds. Clean and comfortable but slightly small as this is an older updated hotel.
Choose a 2nd floor or higher for the best beach view and these rooms are best rooms Less wear and tear from sand and traffic.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank dillard t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickNC416, General Manager at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We are glad that you enjoyed your time with us. Our staff strives to provide excellent customer service and were all thrilled to hear that you found their service above par. We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed the selections at breakfast. We like to think that our variety is one of the best and freshest on the beach, especially for a complimentary one. We hope to see you again on your next visit to The Outer Banks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ninety Six, South Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

This hotel is on the ocean. A little pricy at $200 plus. We were willing to pay since only one nite. Adequate at best. We have 1st floor. No view since sand dunes are right there. Room was hard lived in by those before us. Has door to ocean in your room but can't access with key to re-enter. Wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: Avoid 1st level room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickNC416, General Manager at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your stay. Guest comfort and satisfaction are our number one goals and we are sorry that we did not meet this with you. We also apologize that you did not enjoy your time with us. While our rooms on the first floor do not have a view due to the protective sand dune, we do have non-pet friendly rooms available on upper floors that do have one. We hope that you will change your mind about staying with us again and decide to try one of the upper floor rooms. Again, we apologize your stay was not what you expected.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

This is our first time here, and we loved it. Cyera took great care of us when we checked in. She was friendly, attentive, and very helpful. Our room was a terrific, ocean view room. The room was clean and well appointed. The bathroom was one of the cleanest I've ever seen. The beach access was convenient, and best of all, the beach was jot crowded. As others gave reported, the breakfast is plentiful, and the man in charge kept everything well stocked. We will definitely recommend this property to our family and friends!

Room Tip: Ask for oceanfront up high. Get a corner room for extra space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickNC416, General Manager at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thank you for sharing with us about your experience at our hotel. We are happy to know that you not only enjoyed your first visit to The Outer Banks, but also your stay with us. I would have to agree that Cyerra is a pure joy to work with and are glad she was able to get you settled and comfortable. Thank you again for letting us know about your stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,262 reviews
7.1 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn On The Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn On The Ocean

Property: Comfort Inn On The Ocean
Address: 1601 S Virginia Dare Trl, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7754
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Inn On The Ocean 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Choice Hotels and Priceline so you can book your Comfort Inn On The Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn On The Ocean Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Clarion On The Ocean
Clarion Kill Devil Hills
Comfort Inn On The Ocean Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing