We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Mostly OK. ” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn On The Ocean

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mostly OK. ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

The hotel was in a great location and the front desk were nice. Took a little bit to get checked in but we were offered a better room for the same price so that was good.

The room was ok. For what we paid, it could have been in a little better shape. The bathroom needed some work-toilet seat was damaged, drain in tub/shower was old and the slip proof mat was "very" used. Beds were comfortable and slept well. A/C worked great and our balcony view was nice.

Beach access was close and handy and the hot breakfast was ok. Nothing to write home about.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lance A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickNC416, General Manager at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We strive for every guest to feel comfortable and enjoy their stay. We are glad that, overall, you enjoyed your visit with us. The concerns you had regarding the bathroom have been corrected. Thank you for letting us know. We also agree with you about the view.....it is very nice. Thank you again for your comments. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to The Outer Banks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    127
    97
    45
    44
See reviews for
149
182
12
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
122 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

For the price (about half of the other ocean view king rooms) it was great! The pluses: the price was great, the breakfast was very good and the gentleman taking care of it was all over it, the view was very nice, the section of beach was not too crowded, the staff was very pleasant and the place is exceptionally clean. The minuses; the rooms need renovating (nothing serious just nick in the wall here, broken plug there, rust in the corner of the bathroom, etc) the AC unit had a very strong musty smell as if the water did not drain out of it and sat in the bottom of the unit (fixed with a heavy dose of Febreze). They have already renovated the lobby and entrance way and I would think that it will only be a matter of time before the rooms are also renovated but I am afraid that will cause an increase in price.
I would go back to stay there again with no hesitation realizing there are nicer places to stay in the Outer Banks but they come with a higher premium.

Room Tip: I like the higher floors with balconies facing the ocean for the better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BaldnRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickNC416, General Manager at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for letting us know about your stay. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We agree with you about the great view. You can't get much closer to the sunrise and the photo opportunities are outstanding. We also are glad that you enjoyed our breakfast. We like to think that it is the best complimentary breakfast on the beach! Thank you again for telling us about your stay. We look forward to having you as our guest again only your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

For the amount I paid to stay in this hotel (yes, peak-season- but still) I was extremely disappointed. Nothing 3 stars about this place. Very outdated. My room smelled like body odor. Two of the lamps didn't work. Coffee maker didn't work. Hair all over the bathroom. Found a baby's bottle of milk in my fridge. The whole experience was a let-down. Would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kalebk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickNC416, General Manager at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We apologize that you did not enjoy your time with us and for the difficulties you experienced. The goal of our entire staff is to ensure that our guests are happy, comfortable, and enjoy their time with us. The condition you described is definitely not a normal occurrence and we are sorry that you had to endure it. We do hope that you will reconsider staying with us again and allow us to provide you with a great experience. Thank you again for letting us know about your stay. We hope you enjoy the rest of your summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kill Devil Hills hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Stayed recently with a group - 10 rooms, 19 people and we had excellent service. No problems with room types and everyone was happy! Food in the lobby was excellent, loved the pool and the beach was only steps away.

Room Tip: Get the King bed room on the first floor. Best room in the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank busybea9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickNC416, General Manager at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know you enjoyed your stay with us. It is our goal to make sure that every guest is happy and has a great stay with us. We are happy to hear that we met the goal with you. We hope to see you on your next visit to The Outer Banks! Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Level Contributor
139 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Nice beachfront hotel. Room with oceanfront view and balcony. Only downside was windows were not washed - covered in salt brine from the ocean. Stayed there two nights... second day got a hand towel soaked in water and cleaned windows myself. WOW. Great view! LOL. There is some remodeling going on - getting to room requires stairs to get to elevator or elevator to get to elevator. No biggie. Had a NICE BAR in the lobby. Good drinks and reasonable. Walked the beach. Coffee on the beach in the morning from the coffee pot in the room. Drove to a pier for dinner and watched locals fish. Great time!!

Room Tip: Pay extra for oceanfront. Sunrise over the ocean is why we stayed there. Get up a couple of floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel2Much_2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickNC416, General Manager at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to let us know. Although we are embarrassed that your windows were not clean for you, we are glad that you thought the view spectacular. It will be hard for you to get closer to the sunrise without being in a boat. We hope that you were able to find some decent shells on your morning stroll. Thank you again for your feedback. We look forward to having you as our guest again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Level Contributor
85 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

Honestly, this hotel was not THAT bad. The hotel itself was sort of dated, packed, and busy. It was two separate buildings, which was weird. But I expect that's what most beachfront hotels are like. There were lots of families staying there, but no one was really annoying or rude. Having the beach super accessible (right out the back door) was a definite perk. One day, we did not get our room serviced. Our bed most likely had a broken box spring and my husband and I were sort of sleeping in a taco as we were pulled towards the center of the bed... There was a obvious depression in the center of the bed. The employees were very nice, but they all sort of seemed like they hate their jobs. The pool was very nice, and the place was pretty nice overall. I've honestly stayed in worse places. It seemed a bit over priced, but it was also the July 4th weekend. There's this Mystery Diner event going on each evening. We just didn't get to attend because we were trying to avoid Hurricane Arthur. Overall, I've been in much worse.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank tennissinger12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickNC416, General Manager at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. It is true that our location on the beach is perfect. We are sorry to hear that Arthur put a damper on your plans and hope that you do decide to join us again on your next visit to The Outer Banks. Thank you again for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

We started on the 4th floor in a very dingy and dated room. I could see outside from under the balcony door. When we discovered that our cable didn't work we were offered a different room. The staff at the front desk was absolutely awesome. Every time we went through the lobby, they were always very pleasant and seemed genuinely hap put to have us as guests.

The view was wonderful. But I'm disappointed that we paid as much as we did and the quality of the rooms and cleanliness was pretty poor.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Amber B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickNC416, General Manager at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thanks you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We apologize for the difficulty you had with your original room. We are glad however that it was quickly resolved. Providing great customer service is something all of our staff strives for and I'm glad that their goal was met with you. We do hope that you will decide to stay with us again on your next visit to The Outer Banks and allow us another opportunity to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
0.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
3.5 of 5 stars 2,152 reviews
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#4 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 stars 981 reviews
7.1 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 stars 710 reviews
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#5 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 stars 1,029 reviews
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront
Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront
#18 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
3.5 of 5 stars 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn On The Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn On The Ocean

Property: Comfort Inn On The Ocean
Address: 1601 S Virginia Dare Trl, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7754
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Inn On The Ocean 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, Choice Hotels and Travelocity so you can book your Comfort Inn On The Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn On The Ocean Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Clarion On The Ocean
Clarion Kill Devil Hills
Comfort Inn On The Ocean Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing