We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Awful. Never again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Pasadena, Maryland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Absolutely Awful. Never again”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

The hotel room was dirty and disgusting. There was the smell of throw up in the room and the carpet and furniture had stains. There was food nuzzled into the seems of the chair. On the patio there were very random stains from what looked like to be spilled soda. The bathroom was not fully cleaned. On the second day the maid did not change our sheets, she made the bed with the dirty stained sheets that were on the bed when we arrived. This was the worst experience I have ever been through at a hotel and I am usually very easy going because I work at a Hotel. But this was unacceptable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickNC416, General Manager at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We strive to make sure all of our guests have a great experience staying at our hotel. We are sorry that this was not the case with you. The condition of your room is not normal for us and has been discussed thoroughly with our Executive Housekeeper. Every effort will be made to make sure that this does not happen again. We do hope that you will decide to give us another chance to provide you with the exceptional service you deserve. Please call me directly at (252) 441-6333 when you are ready to reserve your room. Again, we apologize for your unacceptable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    139
    103
    50
    49
See reviews for
157
197
15
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
67 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We had an excellent time here. Like all hotels on the beach front, it is confronted with harsh climate conditions and heavy use during the summer time. At 35 years old this hotel is in great shape. The owners continue improving/investing in the hotel through planned renovations. The lobby area has a great piano bar and good drink prices. One of the added benefits of this hotel is a working kitchen; restaurant service was available and prices were very reasonable. We did not use the restaurant on this trip, but plan to on future stays. The working kitchen also allows them to make fresh breakfast items. It was a real treat to have freshly cooked bacon, sausage, and eggs ... not something out of a microwaved bag. The room was clean and up to date. We had a balcony and an excellent view of the sunrise.

The GM is hands on and knows her business. Choice Hotels Corporate HQ could take a lesson out of this GM's handbook on how to welcome Choice Privileges members. The staff made us feel very special and this type of welcome should be a Choice Hotels standard instead of a hit and miss.

We look forward to our next area visit and this Comfort Inn.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wildflower56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickNC416, General Manager at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Thank you for letting us know that you enjoyed your stay! We all try to make sure every guest has an awesome experience. We are glad this was met with you. Our breakfast is one of the best on the beach! You can't beat the freshness or the homemade grits! Again, thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
87 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

What is not to love about this hotel? The staff is very friendly and kind. The food is good, both breakfast and dinner. The rooms are clean and quite large. Plenty of room. The best part is the ocean side rooms. Such a beautiful view. The sunrises are spectacular, and we see pelican among other sea birds and dolphins. You can let the sound of the waves lull you to sleep and wake up to the sound of them. Each balcony is private which is always nice. This is our second stay with this hotel. We love it here. Should we get the chance to visit the Outer Banks again this is our choice for hotels. If you love the ocean stay here. You have everything you need in one place without having to leave if you wish, as there is a dinner menu (which we understand also does room delivery) and lounge, a laundry for guest. We took a day of rest and stayed in the entire day one and did not have to leave once. This is a great hotel.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickNC416, General Manager at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful compliments regarding our hotel. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our amenities. The sound of the waves meeting the shore can definitely be a lullaby and helps for a peaceful sleep. We are happy you were able to enjoy it. We hope that you are able to come visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Prospect, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Got a good deal here using the Choice Hotels fall discount. The hotel is right on the beach, we didn't have a ocean facing room, I would imagine those would be really nice. The breakfast was surprisingly good(warm eggs/bacon). The common area next to the front desk is nice to hang out and the bar has good specials on beer. All the attractions in Kitty Hawk/Kill Devils are a short drive away. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prn27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickNC416, General Manager at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for taking the time to let us know. We are also glad that you were able to take advantage of our lobby/bar area. It is lovely just to sit and relax. You should look into an ocean front room on your next trip. Nothing beats the sunrise over the water! Thank you again. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering Ont.
Level Contributor
230 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 442 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

After staying at this hotel a couple of times before, we were excited to go back. When we were there the last time , the manager told us to call her the next time we were coming back and she would help us out with our reservation. Unfortunately the staff had changed some when I did call, and weren't as pleasing as the last few times we had stayed, because of the rate I had. It's a nice hotel, and most of the staff there are friendly. It was a pleasure to see Sheena at the front desk as she always had a smile on her face, and nice conversation. She also gave us a great room last time. Terry was another friendly one from Housekeeping. These two always looked like they loved their job. They still have a great breakfast, and it's in a location where you can just go out and walk, with a lot of restaurants around.
On the down side, I had to let the water run for 10 mins, before it got warm and it didn't last for two showers without getting cold again., then it wouldn't drain . Even though it's a non smoking hotel, the smell of smoke coming from the front of the hotel was horrible at times, with people on the balconies and people smoking in front of the hotel. We were so disappointed in our stay that we left 4 days early and went to Virginia beach, where we had no problem getting a ocean front room.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Beachglassgirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

It has been a while since I have visited this hotel. I was initially attracted by the favorable "off-season" rate, but shocked at the wonderful renovations. It is an older hotel, but not "period," as are some, with tiny rooms and bathrooms, on this beach. Room sizes and bathroom sizes are quite adequate, and up-dated to please. .The outdoor pool, closed for the season during this visit, and surrounding area is large, inviting, and well maintained. The beach-side entry must navigate a sizable sand dune, but opens up to a wide expanse that attracts fishermen and swimmers alike. Breakfast is included, and it is well served, and tasty, if predictable. One issue persists for this hotel. The elevator does not begin at lobby level. Guests must climb stairs/negotiate a ramp to get to the elevator. The hotel recognizes this issue, and supplies a cordial young man to assist with luggage, both evenings at check-in and mornings, at check-out. There is a small exercise room. It is equipped with a treadmill, stair stepper, and weight machine in like new condition.
.

Room Tip: The property has a "floor" of below dune (dune view) rooms. I have stayed in one of them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick163250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickNC416, General Manager at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for letting us know that you enjoyed our hotel and your stay! Our entire staff works very hard to make sure our facility is welcoming and comfortable for our guests. We are very glad to hear that this mark was met with you. As for the elevator, this winter we will be eliminating the need to use the ramps to access the rooms. We hope you will be pleasantly delighted the next time you stay with us. Thank you again for your comments. We look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Hotel was fairly priced for off season rates. It is right on the beach which made the location great. The beach was beautiful and a nice boardwalk made it easy to get to. Everyone has to climb a steep ramp or climb a flight of stairs to reach the first floor. The staff was great and will help you get your luggage up to the elevator or first floor rooms if needed. The rooms were large and updated nicely. The beds were comfortable and the room was clean enough for the time you actually spend in them. The bathroom was small but, stocked well. We had a oceanfront , first floor room with a patio. The sounds of the waves and the smell of the salt air was wonderful. The first floor rooms view of the ocean is blocked by the dunes but, is landscaped nicely and is worth it not to have to come and go through the hotel. You have your own private door to the outside. The breakfast was average for these hotels. There was a small bar on the main floor that also served a small menu for room service. The pool was very nice,but we spent more time on the beach.Close to shopping and plenty of activities. Only one hour or less south to remote areas of the Outer Banks. Great laundry facilities.

Room Tip: If you want a view get upper floors. Elevator is slow though. If you want to come and go to the beac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FunfromMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickNC416, General Manager at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know you enjoyed your stay. We also think the beach and the view from our oceanfront rooms is beautiful. We are glad that you found your room accommodating and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to The Outer Banks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
2.6 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
837 reviews
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,187 reviews
7.1 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
2,433 reviews
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,119 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn On The Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn On The Ocean

Property: Comfort Inn On The Ocean
Address: 1601 S Virginia Dare Trl, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7754
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Inn On The Ocean 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn On The Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn On The Ocean Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Clarion On The Ocean
Clarion Kill Devil Hills
Comfort Inn On The Ocean Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing