We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This hotel had an upscale feel to it, by Comfort Inn standards. Room was very clean, with either new, or well cared for furnishings. A flat screen, and a comfortable bed with nice linens.Bathroom was very nice and very clean, again with upgrade type fixtures. The front desk was pleasant at checkin, and i noticed that there was even a bar in the lobby. Breakfast was the standard fare, but somehow it seemed prepared better, especially the eggs. The beach was beautiful, with very nice grassy dunes. The hotel has a nice sized pool and patio. I didnt eat there, but there was a nice looking ice cream/ pizza place and a seafood restaurant right across the street. Plenty of other eating and shopping options within a short walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickNC416, General Manager at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We try to make sure that every guest has an A-list experience and we are glad you enjoyed your time with us. When you come back next year, do try the ice cream across the street. It is homemade and wonderful! Thank you again and enjoy the rest of your summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    143
    111
    51
    50
See reviews for
163
206
16
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Southern Pines, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

The location of the hotel is perfect! It only requires a short walk to reach the beach. Although the rooms and balconies show some age and wear, they are very clean and comfortable. The women at the front desk were very friendly and extremely helpful, especially when we decided to add an additional night to our stay. They even had our luggage moved to a new room (our current room was already booked for the additional night) so that we could continue our vacation without interruption.

The breakfast consists of fruit, cereal, pastries, oatmeal, waffles (that you make yourself), eggs, bacon, sausage links, etc. It was very delicious and quite filling. My only suggestion is that the drinks be moved so that they are no longer in between cereal and waffles. Because of this location, many people had to wait in line behind those building their breakfast plates to simply get a refill.

This hotel is pet friendly, so those who are not fond of animals may want to stay elsewhere. Fortunately, we did not have any issues with barking dogs, but we did hear some coming from rooms on different floors as we made our way to breakfast.

Last, I have to mention the ramps that so many have complained about. These ramps seem to be designed to assist in moving luggage carts to the elevator. There is a sign at the front desk that asks for guests allow an employee to handle the luggage racks/ramps. NO ONE HAS TO WALK UP OR DOWN THESE RAMPS! There are wide stairs right beside the ramps that require little effort to walk up or down.

My boyfriend and I are already talking about coming back to the Outer Banks next summer and we hope to stay at the Comfort Inn on that trip as well.

If you are looking for a swanky hotel with diamond chandeliers in every room, a free breakfast that is made to order, and perfectly polished door knobs, the Comfort Inn On the Ocean is not for you. However, if you'd like a nice hotel on the beach with a friendly staff, filling breakfast and clean rooms, you need not look farther.

Room Tip: If you request an ocean front room, avoid the first floor as the view is obstructed by a sand dune.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank turtledovelove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickNC416, General Manager at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your stay. Our Front Desk staff tries especially hard to make sure everyone feels welcome in our hotel each and every time one of our guests pass through the lobby. We are glad they met this goal with you! Thank you for also letting us know about the breakfast line situation. We will be addressing this. As for the ramps, yes we have staff in place to assist with luggage, or anything else, that needs to be moved up and down. We also have plans to eliminate the need to use the ramps to access our rooms in the very near future. Thank you again for your kind remarks. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We were thrilled to stay a fourth time at Comfort Inn on the Ocean. Same great staff and stay experience we consistently encounter each year. Improvements this time - key swipe entries from pool and beach access are functional; chaise lounges by pool; a second set of coin op washer/dryer on the fourth floor. Pool area has been remodeled since last year. No small pool or hot tub but we wouldn't have been using them this year anyway. The super friendly staff make this hotel a standout not just on the Outer Banks but among hotels we've stayed in anywhere. Front desk staff-housekeeping-maintenence-everyone is welcoming and helpful. Room was clean as always. Beds are really comfy. Great breakfast. Definitely recommend the ocean view rooms although they make it even harder to leave! Thanks again!!

Room Tip: Oceanfront all the way!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeartInOBX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickNC416, General Manager at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know that you enjoyed your return visit. All of us here are pleased to know that you consistently have a wonderful experience with the staff and with your room. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The beach is gorgeous, as is the view from the balcony. Do not stay on the first floor, as the ocean view is obscured by the large dune. Check-in is 4 pm, but they happily put us in a room when we arrived early. Staff was friendly and helpful. Also, you can rent chairs and umbrellas on the beach, and charge them to your room.
PROS: Great location. Gorgeous beach. Fridge and microwave in the room. It was clean. Breakfast included in room fee. Free wifi.
CONS: Our room's window was filthy. I tried to clean it, and discovered the scum is sandwiched between two panes of glass, and unreachable. I mentioned this at checkout, and was told it was certainly a problem. (So probably not just in our room, 217.) There's a leak in the seal, and storms drive the salt water into the space between the panes. They should be replaced, because what should be a knock-your-socks-off view is, instead, disappointing. Another problem, which exists at any hotel with balconies, is that people smoking cigarettes on the balconies cause smoke to drift onto your balcony, and into your room. I like to sleep with the window/door open when I'm at the ocean, because the air is of such stellar quality. Well, not when there's smoke wafting in! I'm not sure what you should do when that happens.
Also, there's not much room around the sink for spreading out toiletries, etc. Oh, and there is no safe in the room to store your valuables.

Room Tip: Choose oceanfront, and avoid the first floor, as the view is blocked by the big sand dune.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FreeUnion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickNC416, General Manager at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for letting us know you enjoyed your stay! We all agree that the view from the oceanfront rooms is nothing short of amazing. Being a beachfront hotel, we do get the occasional fogged window from all the humidity. We are in the process of replacing them, so that everyone can enjoy what you called a stellar view. Thank you again for taking the time to respond. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to The Outer Banks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harts, WV
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

This was my family's 1st time in the area. We spent the week of the 4th of July 2013. Great location, as there are very few hotels actually on the beach in this area of Nag's Head. Mostly houses to rent. So glad we were at least on the 2nd floor, because the 1st floor has no ocean view due to the sand dunes. The staff was great, the room was clean. The hotel in general is dated. Please note that there is a very steep inclines everyone must go up to reach the 1st floor and the elevators inside the hotel. It was inpossible for us to push our cart up the ramp. I am very grateful for the hotel staff that is there to help. The breakfast was only so, so....I've had much better quality at say a Hampton Inn or even a Holiday Inn Express. I was disappointed that the pool was beside the hotel with no view of the ocean. The thing that I didn't like, and actually the reason I will never stay again is because of the "double beds." They were not big enough for my husband and I to sleep in together. And we are not big people, we actually had a full size bed ourselves until about 3 years ago. I will pay more attention the next hotel I book to make sure it reads "Queen Beds." Also, the hotel employs the guy on the beach to rent umbrellas and chairs. You have the option of charging it to your room. I loved that you didn't need to bring money to the beach. However, note that the chairs they rent are only the low beach chairs, not the large lounge chairs. You need to bring a towel to actually "lay" out on the beach. Just a note, as this was my 1st trip there, I was very supprised that most things closed by 9pm. Even the week of July 4th. It's a lot different than Myrtle Beach or Virginia Beach.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 2nd floor or higher for an actual "ocean view"
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickNC416, General Manager at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know that, overall, you enjoyed your stay. We also think that being right in the middle of everything makes for a perfect location for easy access to anything you would like to do. I am sorry that you did not enjoy the pool not being oceanfront. With the spectacular view from our balconies, we felt it would only disrupt the scenery having it out back as well as the natural protection of the sand dune. Even though you had a room with two double beds in it, we do have rooms with a single King or Queen size option. We do hope you keep this in mind the next time you travel to The Outer Banks and stay with us again. Thank you again for your response. Enjoy the rest of your summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

The room was very clean- I really enjoyed the down comforters. The room looked newly renovated. Shower always had hot water- which is impressive for the size of the hotel! Beach access was easy and the pool was clean! The staff was very nice and helpful....breakfast was great (real eggs & bacon!).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emysny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickNC416, General Manager at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know you enjoyed your stay. We think our breakfast is the best on the beach and glad you enjoyed it. Thank you also for the compliment about our Housekeeping Department. They take great pride in cleaning the rooms so that our guests are comfortable. We hope to see you again on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billerica, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed one night at the hotel May 3rd for our 25th Anniversary getaway of the South East. The front desk was very friendly at both check in/out. Breakfast in the morning was great with lots of choices & was a bonus since it was included in the price. Enjoyed our visit at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel5bugEuro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickNC416, General Manager at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for letting us know about your stay. We are glad you enjoyed your Anniversary with us. Our staff tries very hard to make sure every guest has an exceptional stay and we are glad that they hit their mark with you. Thank you again for your response. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to The Outer Banks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
0.0 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
2,512 reviews
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,159 reviews
7.1 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
862 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn On The Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn On The Ocean

Property: Comfort Inn On The Ocean
Address: 1601 S Virginia Dare Trl, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7754
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Inn On The Ocean 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn On The Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn On The Ocean Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Clarion On The Ocean
Clarion Kill Devil Hills
Comfort Inn On The Ocean Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing