We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy with this pet friendly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Reviewed March 23, 2013

As we are new to pet ownership, this was only our 3rd time staying at a pet friendly hotel. We worried about pet odors & stains, but found the pet friendly room to be clean & fresh. It was oceanfront, but because it was on the 1st floor, which was quite convenient to get outside with our small dog, the dunes blocked the view. HOWEVER, a few steps to the right, and we could see the ocean just fine, so it was a non-issue! Our family of 4 fit fine into the room with 2 double beds for a long weekend, but the beds became uncomfortable by the last day. The complimentary breakfast was appreciated, with scrambled & hard-boiled eggs, bananas, yogurt, etc. The only negatives to this room would be the shower faucet was a bit awkward--the hot water seemed to turn on by turning it to the right AND to the left--we should have told the manager before leaving, but it did "work", so we forgot (room 119). Also, the housekeepers cleaned the room every-other-day--I don't know what that was about. We kept our Do Not Disturb sign on the door (as the dog was in the room) while we were at breakfast for 30 minutes (usually 9-9:30), but then we took the sign off the door, took the dog (a tiny shih-tzu) & went out for the day & evening shortly thereafter. It didn't really matter, as all we really would have needed would have been fresh towels, which we were able to ask for in the hallway in the morning. But the staff in general, Sheena at the front desk, & the man who insisted on taking our luggage to the room upon our arrival, were very nice & helpful. We would stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelerCentralMass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickNC416, General Manager at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear Traveler Central Mass,
Thank you for choosing us year over year. We are glad that your four legged family member can travel with you. I will have our maintenance team take a look into the shower in the room you stayed in to adjust water faucets. I will pass on your kind words about our staff to them.
We look forward to seeing you again.
Safe travels,
Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (496)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

316 - 322 of 496 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2013

Visited the OBX for their annual Shamrock Car Show and for the third year in a row stayed at the Comfort Inn on the Ocean. The staff provide exceptional service and take care of any concerns or request immediately. The breakfast buffet is unique because it actually contains some protein: scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, hard boiled eggs in addition to the usual waffles, doughnuts, bagels and yogurt. That being said, the meal we were served during a dinner event was a bit off. The flounder was rather fishy and the french fries were underdone. The chocolate lava cake was still cold in the middle.
Hotel - great! Food - breafast buffet - great; dinner meal - not so great.

Room Tip: We always request an oceanview room. The balcony is a good size and there are outdoor chairs where...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 757JLVan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickNC416, General Manager at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear 757JLVan,

Thank you for staying with us over the last three years. We appreciate your kind words about our staff and service. I’m glad you enjoyed your breakfast with us, I really like it too. My apologizes for your dinner and dessert not being up to par. I will defiantly speak to the chef about that. We look forward to seeing you again next year for the Shamrock car show.
Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

The staff at this Hotel is the most friendly and helpful I have seen. Their events staff is well organized and on top of any situation. They were courteous and very thoughtful throughout our entire three day event. I can't say enough good things about this Hotel and their staff.I high recommend them for staying the night, a week and especially an event of any kind.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kimberly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickNC416, General Manager at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear Kimberly C,
We thank you for taking the time to write a review about us. We believe we have the best and friendliest staff on the beach. It was our pleasures to host your event that was well choreographed, fun, and helped Comfort Inn celebrate St.Patricks Day weekend. We are looking forward to the possibility to hosting your event again next year. Thank you again for choosing to stay at the Comfort In on the Ocean.

All my best,
Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed here for one night during March of 2013. Wife, child, and I had a great time. Staff was incredibly friendly, room was recently renovated, and the breakfast was on point. This is a true oceanfront hotel as it literally sits on the beach, unlike a few others that are separated by dunes or parking lots. It's within walking distance of several great restaurants like Kill Devil Grill among others. We will certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Always ask for Highest Room up for prime Ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luke W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickNC416, General Manager at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Dear Luck W,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback. I am pleased to hear we have been upholding the Comfort Inn standards and was able to meet your expectations. I will be sure to pass on the kind words regarding the comfort of the hotel and the friendliness of our staff to our entire team. Your feedback serves as great encouragement to our team. We are looking forward to providing you the same pleasant accommodations and service the next time you are in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed two nights and the price was very reasonable - it was off-season. Its obviously an older hotel and they have been doing some updates and keeping it freshly painted. It is right on the beach.
Breakfast was good (eggs, bacon, sausage, grits, waffles, fruit, donuts, breads, etc). The employees were friendly.
The biggest complaint was with the room itself. It was rather small (1 double bed) and the bath fixtures were outdated. It took at least 10 minutes before the water got anywhere near warm, let alone hot. The staff said this was a problem when the hotel was mostly empty (which it was) but isn't a problem when they're busy.
For the money, not a bad place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Erin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickNC416, General Manager at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Dear Erin C,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I would like to apologize for any inconveniences about the room being too small, older bathroom fixtures, the water taking time to travel to your room, and not being as warm as you like. I am pleased to hear you liked the breakfast. I’m also glad you were able to experience our wonderful team and found them friendly. If you are ever in the area again we hope to have another opportunity to accommodate you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

My husband & stay at this hotel every year for our anniversary. This year, we wanted to take our 2 dogs. When I called and spoke to Leslie, the room-type we wanted was not available.
Leslie took the time and made the effort to find out why all the pet rooms were booked, and then was able to make some magic happen--we got our room! As a business-owner, I really appreciate it when a team member goes the extra mile to help a customer--thank you, Leslie!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ToledoBend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickNC416, General Manager at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Dear Toledo Bend,

Happy Anniversary!
I am pleased to hear how Leslie made the magic happen for you in finding an available pet friendly room for your past stay. We love accommodating our furry guest too. It’s a pleasure you were able to experience our wonderful team and found them friendly and eager to assist. If you are ever in the area again we hope to have another opportunity to provide you with superior customer service.

All my best,
Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed here March 8th - 10th. Check in and check out was easy. Our room was oceanfront and was more than ample for a quick weekend get-away. The fridge worked fine for keeping drinks cold, there was a microwave and the bed was comfy. Our room looked out straight across the dune (Rm. 227) and was a perfect way to start and end our day. Breakfast was adequate (eggs, sausage, bacon, toast, and other cereal and yogurts.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda23238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickNC416, General Manager at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Dear Linda 23238,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback. I will be sure to pass on the kind words regarding the comfort of the hotel and the perfect way to start and end your day looking straight across the dune. Your feedback serves as great encouragement to our team. We are looking forward to providing you the same pleasant accommodations and service the next time you are in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
2.6 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
909 reviews
7.1 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
2,653 reviews
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,302 reviews
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn On The Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn On The Ocean

Address: 1601 S Virginia Dare Trl, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7754
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range: $53 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Inn On The Ocean 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn On The Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn On The Ocean Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Clarion On The Ocean
Clarion Kill Devil Hills
Comfort Inn On The Ocean Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing