We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I was leery, but....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Days Inn & Suites Kill Devil Hills-Mariner
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Newport News
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“I was leery, but....”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I was leery to stay in this Days Inn given the reviews on TripAdvisor, but it wasn't that bad. The people working there are very nice. I had forgot to put in my AAA card for the discount when I reserved the room online and the lady at check-in had no problem giving me the discount. Check-in was at 4:00, but we got there at 12:30 and went right up to the room.It was hard to find a decent priced hotel on short notice for six people. Luckily, Days Inn Mariner had a room available.
The room had a separate bedroom with a queen sized bed. There was also a kitchenette and two double beds as well. The bathroom was small as noted by other reviewers. I think the real problem is that the vanity is entirely too big for the size of the bathroom. Both the room, beds, bathroom and kitchenette were all nice and clean. The décor was lacking due to the color and texture of the carpet, couch and chair. They were a teal blue color and maybe should be changed to a lighter, neutral color.
The breakfast was good with the usual danishes, bagels, apples and bananas, two types of cereal, waffles, egg patties and sausage. There was also coffee, tea, milk and juice.
We all went down to the pool and it looked clean as well. Though the water was cold.
Our stay was very nice. We stayed in room 204 right next to the boardwalk and had less than 2 minute walk down to the beach which was wonderful. I must say, the bed was very comfortable. Out of the three different hotels that we stayed in in the last three months, this was the most comfortable and I got the best sleep here. Please note that there were two floors in the building we stayed in and I did not see a elevator. Also, I know that someone mentioned the water pressure or temperature. I have four teen age girls. my husband and myself. We all took showers one after another and had no problems with water pressure or temperature. The exterior could use some paint but don't let the bad reviews fool you. If I had, we wouldn't have been able to go to the beach. There aren't many hotels that will let six people stay in one room. Usually, we'd have to get two. So, thanks Days Inn Mariner for a enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank 6wvrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIManagement, Director of Sales at Days Inn & Suites Kill Devil Hills-Mariner, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely comments about your stay at our property on the Outer Banks. I thank you for letting us know that you did not experience any water issues during your stay with your larger sized family. We're very pleased that you all had a restful and pleasant stay with us. We do hope that you will be able to come back and visit another time and please feel free to contact me and I will be happy to help make reservations for your stay. Thank you, Tonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    274
    209
    99
    59
See reviews for
408
258
29
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Waterville
1 review
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Location was excellent, but room was tiny and dingy. Television and coffee makers did not work. While showering water temperature would go from hot to cold several times throughout the the shower.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIManagement, Director of Sales at Days Inn & Suites Kill Devil Hills-Mariner, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
We appreciate your taking the time to write a review of your stay with us on the beach. Power to many of our TVs is controlled by the lightswitch by the door, and when guests call the front desk to ask about their TV this is the information given to them. I do hope that if you had an issue with the TV and coffeemaker that you did notify the front desk which would have replaced these items immediately. I have not heard of an issue with fluctuating hot and cold water and we will have someone check into this. Please note that if you ever have an issue at any property you stay, to notify someone immediately as they (and we) want to make sure that your stay is as comfortable as it can be. Thank you, Tonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kill Devil Hills hotels

Asheville, Nc
2 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Staff was very wonderful, from lobby to housekeeping, clean and great location. Really needs some updating, wasn't anything in the interior newer than th 80's. Exterior even looks older, but maybe, that keeps the price in check.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Julia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIManagement, Director of Sales at Days Inn & Suites Kill Devil Hills-Mariner, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for your kind words on our staff and I'm happy you found everything clean and tidy for your stay. We do do renovations every year when we take several rooms offline to be redone. We have redone a few this spring and did several the year before that, etc. For example, most of the rooms in the 2 story building have been redone and we are working on the 3 story building this winter--we did finish several rooms as mentioned this past spring. We do hope that you will come back and see us another time, please feel free to contact me and I would be happy to help make reservations for your next stay. Thank you, Tonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
0.0 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
1.5 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,164 reviews
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,406 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
#2 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
6.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn & Suites Kill Devil Hills-Mariner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn & Suites Kill Devil Hills-Mariner

Property: Days Inn & Suites Kill Devil Hills-Mariner
Address: 1801 N Virginia Dare Trl, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn & Suites Kill Devil Hills-Mariner 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 out of 5 Sunburst Award Winning Days Inn & Suites located 1 mile north of the Wright Brothers Memorial. Guest rooms, 1-bedroom, or 2-bedroom suites available--all are smoke free. An expanded complimentary continental breakfast features: waffles, cereals, fruit, yogurt & more. Afternoon refreshments served from 4-6 pm daily. All rooms/suites feature: microwave/refrig, coffeemaker, & free wireless internet. Most suites also feature a fully equipped kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Days Inn & Suites Kill Devil Hills-Mariner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn & Suites Mariner Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Days Inn And Suites Mariner
Days Inn Mariner
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills
Kill Devil Hills Days Inn
Days Inn & Suites Kill Devil Hills-Mariner Outer Banks, NC

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing