We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad for a Days Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn & Suites Kill Devil Hills-Mariner
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Reviewed April 6, 2013

I've stayed here twice over the past 6 months while planning a wedding, once in Oct 2012, and again over Easter, 2013. Its been a nice, cheap place to stay, that's close to the ocean and in Kill Devil Hills close to a lot of restaurants and sites (Wright Brothers Museum/Memorial, and Jockey's Ridge). The hotel looks pretty crappy from the outside, as its apparently fairly old.However, the website boasts that it was fully renovated in 2011, and I believe it. All the rooms of new appliances, and the beds/linens are extremely comfortable. I was skeptical at first, b/c I have long hated Days Inns, but the price and location was worth it, at least in the off season. I was impressed with this location however, as the rooms were kept up nice, and are extremely clean. The Housekeeping staff does a great job each day, all sand, dirt and trash is cleaned up nicely, and the beds are made perfectly.

I highly recommend the 2 bedroom suites. They are perfect for multiple couples, or even a family and the living space/kitchen area is adequate for a short stay. My only complaint about the place is that the ice machine is located far away from the building that houses the suites, and is a pain in the butt. I will say that it allowed me to walk past some of the small, non-suite rooms, and they don't look all that appealing. Those rooms are very small, and seem a little more grungy. So I advise solely booking suites.

For those people complaining about musty smells, they just need to be smacked. Its a beach hotel. The water is about 50yrds away, if that, so what do you really expect? Even $10,000/week beach houses with the finest of accommodations have musty smells and the occasional ant. So a Days Inn which sees a lot of traffic isn't going to be an exception. Even whatever smells do exist, aren't really overpowering and I was never left with a feeling of it being unclean. Its just a typical smell you get from enclosed places at a beach.

The morning bfast was decent. Its your standard continental affair with waffle maker, pastries, bagels, english muffins, cereal, juice, milk, coffee, hot sausage patties and eggs. Nothing overwhelmingly awesome, but for a free bfast for one or two mornings, it gets the job done.

In the end, if you're looking for a clean and comfortable stay, on a budget, its the place for you. If you come in looking for a 5-star resort, you'll be mistaken. It is, afterall, a beach hotel and all beach hotels in the outer banks are going to have some wear given age and traffic.

Room Tip: Book a suite. I recommend the 2bedroom, 3 Queen suite with oceanview. There's only one ocean vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TaurusSaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIManagement, Director of Sales at Days Inn & Suites Kill Devil Hills-Mariner, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during both your trips to the Outer Banks, we appreciate it very much. I do want to add 1 thing however---the whole hotel was not renovated in 2011. As mentioned in my previous comments on another review--we take a few rooms every year to renovate so we don't do the whole hotel at once. The 2 story building you stayed in is almost 100% renovated--that building does contain the queen suites as well as the 2 bedroom suites you mentioned of varying styles. If you must return to help plan for the wedding we would be happy to host you again and please feel free to contact us and we would be happy to help make reservations for your next stay! Thank you, Tonia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (933)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

775 - 781 of 933 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Travis P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DIManagement, Director of Sales at Days Inn & Suites Kill Devil Hills-Mariner, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I have been coming to the Mariner for years, with family, with friends, even a breather alone. It is the best value with the best staff. I have tried other places, but I always like Mariner best.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIManagement, Director of Sales at Days Inn & Suites Kill Devil Hills-Mariner, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at the Mariner. We appreciate your returning to us for all your Outer Banks getaways and are happy that you enjoy staying with us. The next time you come to visit please feel free to contact us and we would be happy to help make reservations for your next stay! Thank you, Tonia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Eileen G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DIManagement, Director of Sales at Days Inn & Suites Kill Devil Hills-Mariner, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Joanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DIManagement, Director of Sales at Days Inn & Suites Kill Devil Hills-Mariner, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
1  Thank K B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DIManagement, Director of Sales at Days Inn & Suites Kill Devil Hills-Mariner, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DIManagement, Director of Sales at Days Inn & Suites Kill Devil Hills-Mariner, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
1.5 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,288 reviews
0 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
903 reviews
2.7 mi away
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
#12 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,194 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
2,624 reviews
6.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn & Suites Kill Devil Hills-Mariner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn & Suites Kill Devil Hills-Mariner

Address: 1801 N Virginia Dare Trl, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range: $56 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn & Suites Kill Devil Hills-Mariner 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our property features all non-smoking rooms and suites with a complimentary hot breakfast and afternoon refreshments. We are located a 1 1/2 miles north of the Wright Brothers Memorial in Kill Devil Hills. All rooms and suites feature: microwave, refrigerator, coffeemaker and free Wi-Fi. There is an outdoor pool on-site (open seasonally) as well as a guest laundry. We also have 1 or 2 bedroom suites for those wanting to be together but have a little extra room for their stay. Our 2 bedroom suites and some of our 1 bedroom suites also feature full kitchens. We have oceanfront, oceanside and pond side rooms and suites available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn & Suites Kill Devil Hills-Mariner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn And Suites Mariner
Days Inn & Suites Mariner Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Days Inn Mariner
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills
Kill Devil Hills Days Inn
Days Inn & Suites Kill Devil Hills-Mariner Outer Banks, NC

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing