We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Older hotel, but accommodations were very satisfactory...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Days Inn & Suites Kill Devil Hills-Mariner

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Days Inn & Suites Kill Devil Hills-Mariner
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    265
    204
    98
    55
See reviews for
396
250
28
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Farmville, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Drove to the Outer Banks on Saturday and decided to stay the night. We didn't need anything fancy and checked rates at several hotels. Ended up at the Mariner, which was $55 for the night. The room is small and bathroom even smaller, but the room was clean and beds are comfortable. That also includes a hot breakfast in the morning. I'll stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OBX4CG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIManagement, Director of Sales at Days Inn & Suites Kill Devil Hills-Mariner, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for coming to the Outer Banks for a quick getaway! I'm so happy that you chose our property to visit during your stay and we are very pleased you found everything clean and tidy for your stay with us. We would love to have you come and visit with us again and please feel free to contact me at the property direct and I would be happy to help make reservations for your next stay! Thank you! Tonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas Park, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

We tried this place because the price was cheaper than our normal hotel (Ramada Plaza) but it was not worth it at all. We booked for 2 weeks and after the first night we canceled our stay and payed a little bit more to stay down the road at the Ramada. The rooms are very old and not well maintained, there is no elevator, the stretch of beach its on is pretty pathetic, and it is very loud overall.

At 4:30AM people came back and were blasting music below us. After we tried to knock on their doors to no avail, we called the front desk several times but no one answered. We were so happy to leave.

The one saving grace was that they had breakfast included with the rate, but with all the great breakfast options in the area, it's not really worth it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIManagement, Director of Sales at Days Inn & Suites Kill Devil Hills-Mariner, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
We appreciate all feedback concerning our guest's stay with us while on the Outer Banks. I am sorry that your stay was not as expected. I would like more information if possible concerning your stay and would appreciate your contacting me with additional information if you have the time. Please feel free to contact me at the property....Thank you, Tonia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kill Devil Hills hotels

ROANOKE RAPIDS
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

My two day stay at the Days inn Mariner was great. The location was very helpful by being in the middle. The staff was quite friendly and helpful. I will definitely be planning another weekend gettaway in the future to this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank KELLY K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIManagement, Director of Sales at Days Inn & Suites Kill Devil Hills-Mariner, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us on the Outer Banks. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. You may want to check out some of our great packages open for the Taste of the Beach event in March for your next getaway. Feel free to contact us the next time you wish to return to the Outer Banks and we will be happy to help make reservations for your next stay! Thank you, Tonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
1.5 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,340 reviews
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites
BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites
#2 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
6.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn & Suites Kill Devil Hills-Mariner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn & Suites Kill Devil Hills-Mariner

Property: Days Inn & Suites Kill Devil Hills-Mariner
Address: 1801 N Virginia Dare Trl, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn & Suites Kill Devil Hills-Mariner 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 out of 5 Sunburst Award Winning Days Inn & Suites located 1 mile north of the Wright Brothers Memorial. Guest rooms, 1-bedroom, or 2-bedroom suites available--all are smoke free. An expanded complimentary continental breakfast features: waffles, cereals, fruit, yogurt & more. Afternoon refreshments served from 4-6 pm daily. All rooms/suites feature: microwave/refrig, coffeemaker, & free wireless internet. Most suites also feature a fully equipped kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Days Inn & Suites Kill Devil Hills-Mariner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn & Suites Mariner Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Days Inn And Suites Mariner
Days Inn Mariner
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills
Kill Devil Hills Days Inn
Days Inn & Suites Kill Devil Hills-Mariner Outer Banks, NC

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing