We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed the Colony IV by the Sea!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shutters On the Banks
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2007

We arrived on Monday, August 6 at 3:00 p.m. Our room (exact one I had requested after reading other reviews) was ready. CLEAN! The room was small for a family of four (husband, two daughters, me) but we were only there to change, shower and sleep. Bathroom was spotless. Towels were quite thick for a "motel." Good supply of soaps and shampoo. Also in the room:
coffee maker with regular and decaf; clock radio; micro/fridge combination; small bar to hang clothes; tv; desk; dresser; two beds; end table; desk chair. We could see the ocean from our room (faced the Gazebo in the two story building) and it was convenient to both pools and the office. The breakfast was much too crowded, IMO, and unless you were overly aggressive people would push my children out of the way. Only ate there the first morning because unfortunately "free food" brings out the worst in some people. The beach was glorious. Restaurants and specialty shops were everywhere. Motel staff were pleasant and accommodating. We will probably go back to the Colony IV should we decide to return to OBX next summer. Forgot to mention: AC worked well in the room. The temps were close to 100 and very humid.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank mcsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,005)
There are newer reviews for Shutters On the Banks
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

934 - 940 of 1,005 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2007

We adored this motel!!! It's VERY clean, very quiet and the staff couldn't be more pleasant! Continental breakfast was plentiful and looked great. The pools were fabulous too, and very clean. We stayed in the main building, 2nd floor and had a fabulous view of the Wright Brothers Memorial. It's a very short walk to the beach. We will stay here again and again. We couldn't have been happier!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank MishaaE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2007

This hotel was great-we stayed for almost 1 week with a 6 yr old and a 9 month old. The room was not big enough really, but we made due. Next time we will get the room w. the kitchen, but we still had a great time and all of the staff were great. It was convenient to everything. There is a huge hill you have to climb to get back and forth to the beach, but it wasn't terrible. It was very clean which was super important since I have kids and 1 crawling everywhere! The pools were nice also. Everyone that stayed that week ended up hanging out at the pools and the kids played together. It was really great and we will return!!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cssjas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2007

Wonderful. Everyone's reviews were accurate and so helpful. We made sure to ask for a quiet room and had to change our plans by one day to get one(as soon as I asked for that, the front desk knew I knew and suggested specific rooms). Breakfast was fine; what you would expect. The location was excellent. Can't think of a bad thing to say.

Stayed: July 2007
Thank louise048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2007

Our 1st trip to OBX was fantastic! This property was wonderful to stay at. Very clean, nice rooms, friendly staff, comfy beds and beautiful view! We stayed on the 2nd floor (not the tower) and had a lovely view of the ocean, dunes, and gazebo. Very easy to get to the beach. The gazebo was especially nice in the evenings for reading and enjoying ice cream. A few suggestions for the hotel would be to monitor the pools. We witnessed a lot of kids jumping from the outside of the pools onto boogie boards and floats. We thought for sure we'd see someone crack their skull open! It didn't make for much relaxation in the pool w/ kids doing acrobats either. And there needs to be better control of underage people in the hot tub (no one under 14 is clearly posted, but parents didn't seem to care). Also, the continental breakfast was tasty (bagels, waffles, muffins, danish), but I think you should be allowed to take the food back to your room. This would be good for the families w/ kids, so they don't interrupt those who are trying to enjoy their meal. We had an slightly upsetting incident on the 2nd night of our stay. Someone tried to enter our room around 12:30 am. Luckily, we used the security bar. The person had a room key (card) and was able to open the door, but the bar stopped them from gaining full access. We contacted the front desk and they checked video. It was a staff member. They told us that they thought the room wasn't occupied, that somehow we weren't in their computer so our room came up as being empty. The hotel reimbursed us one night stay as compensation. We had some wonderful meals during our trip. The best breakfast was at Stack Em High (sausage gravy, french toast). We had an incredible dinner at JK's Steaks and Seafood! The Seafood Bisque was out of this world, as were the Ribs and Quarter Grilled Chicken. We also ate at Miller's (right up the street from the hotel) and had some fantastic sweet hush puppies, Prime Rib, and the Trawl Boat Platter (broiled seafood) was wonderful! Dare Devil Pizza was also excellent and inexpensive. I would NOT recommend Sooey's BBQ! That was terrible and left us in the bathroom the 1st day of vacation. It should be called SHooey's!!! The ribs were awful, like they'd been cooked earlier in the day and then recooked (dried out) w/ some sauce slopped on them to cover it up. We took a jeep out on the beach (Beach Jeeps of Corolla) and had a fabulous time. I'd definitely recommend that, well worth the price! Overall our vacation was fantastic and memorable. We'll definitely be back next year and stay at Colony IV again!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Adamsocm25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2007

My wife & I stayed here last August and really loved it. The beach wasn't too crowded and the Gazebo was a nice touch. We paid less to stay on the bottom floor and although you can't see the ocean, you can hear it and why not walk out over the hill and sepnd some time down there? For the price, I couldn't imagine paying so much more to see the ocean unless you spend most of your time on the balcony. The breakfast was convenient if not very fancy but it saves you a lot of money by not having to go out in the mornings. The only negative I can think of is the loud toilets. When someone flushes them they sounded like airplane toilets. Minor issue though, when I return to the Nags Head area I'll certainly return to Colony By The Sea IV.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank RedbirdVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2007

What a great find thanks to the reviews here on TripAdvisor! My family had a two night stay here, and it was great. The room was very clean and smelled SO good. The shower products were from Bath and Body Works. The pools, while small as most motels, were nice. Right at the sand dunes and the beach...nice walkway to get over the dune to the beach.

We stayed on the second floor of the building next to the pool. The room was good sized, and I liked that the bathroom sink was outside the part with the toilet and shower. It made it easier for my family to quickly get ready with privacy.

The breakfast is minimal but adequate.

I would recommend this for anyone who wants to be near the water and have a very pleasant place to stay. We would return!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank aforsy3691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
1.7 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
877 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
2,548 reviews
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
0.1 mi away
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
#3 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shutters On the Banks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shutters On the Banks

Address: 405 S Virginia Dare Trl, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948 (Formerly Colony IV by the Sea)
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range: $99 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shutters On the Banks 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront location, each room is equipped with two queen beds or one king and a sleep sofa and include a refrigerator,in-room phone, TV with HBO, AM-FM radio and highspeed internet. All efficiencies are equipped with full kitchens. We also have a limited number of King Studio Suites available. Complimentary continental breakfast. complimentary passes to the YMCA. Newly renovated rooms and efficiencies for 2016. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Shutters On the Banks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shutters On The Banks Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Colony Iv
Shutters On The Banks Outer Banks, NC - Kill Devil Hills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing